S-2.3 - Civil Protection Act

Full text
16. The regional authorities, namely the regional county municipalities and the Kativik Regional Government must, in conjunction with the local municipalities that are part thereof and in compliance with the policies determined by the Minister, establish a civil protection plan determining reduced major disaster vulnerability objectives for their entire territory and the actions required to achieve those objectives.
The cities of Gatineau, Laval, Lévis, Longueuil, Mirabel, Montréal and Québec and any other municipality that may be designated by the Minister, the Government or by law are considered to be regional authorities.
Any other local municipality that is not part of a regional authority must
— make an agreement with a regional authority or a local authority that is part of a regional authority, whereby the territory of the local municipality will be considered for the purposes of this division to be part of the territory of that regional or local authority, or
— make an agreement with other municipalities that are also not part of a regional authority for the purpose of establishing a common civil protection plan. In the latter case, the agreement must designate one of the municipalities to act as a regional authority for the purposes of this division.
2001, c. 76, s. 16.