B-9 - Act respecting registry offices

Full text
16. (Replaced).
R. S. 1964, c. 319, s. 17; 1992, c. 57, s. 447.
16. The books, records, indexes, documents and papers appertaining to the county registry offices under the several acts of the late Province of Lower Canada, in the then counties of Drummond, Sherbrooke, Stanstead, Shefford, Missisquoi, Deux-Montagnes, Beauharnois, Ottawa, Mégantic and Acadie, which were, by the ordinance 4 Victoria, Chapter 30, required to be transmitted to the registry offices in the several registration districts in which the registry offices for the said counties respectively were situate, should have been, and, if they were not, shall be returned into, or if returned into, shall remain in, the registry offices of the respective counties where the immoveable property to which they relate lies.
The registrars in whose custody such documents and registers are, shall have the same powers and duties with regard to them, and may grant certificates respecting them, as if originally registered in such offices.
The memorials, books, records, indexes, documents and papers, made under the provisions of the ordinance 4 Victoria, Chapter 30, shall remain in and form part of the archives and papers of the registry offices in which they are, subject in all cases to the provisions of section 17.
R. S. 1964, c. 319, s. 17.