C-6.2 - Act to affirm the collective nature of water resources and to promote better governance of water and associated environments

Full text
14. The Minister of Sustainable Development, Environment and Parks may
(1)  establish major directions for concerted, integrated water resource management;
(2)  (subparagraph repealed);
(3)  for each of the hydrologic units referred to in section 13.2 that the Minister specifies, provide, on the conditions determined by the Minister and subject to subparagraph 4, either
(a)  for the creation of a watershed body whose mission is to develop and update a water master plan for its integrated management zone and facilitate and monitor its implementation, ensuring balanced representation, within that body, of users and of stakeholders from such sectors as the government, Native, municipal, economic, environmental, agricultural and community sectors, or
(b)  in exceptional circumstances, for the designation of a body to pursue that mission in conjunction with users and stakeholders;
(4)  for the St. Lawrence hydrologic unit, provide on the conditions determined by the Minister or agreed between the Minister and any government authority concerned,
(a)  for the establishment of governance mechanisms to ensure, for all or part of the St. Lawrence, co-operation between users and stakeholders in various sectors, and the planning and harmonization of measures for the protection and efficient use of water resources and water-dependent natural resources; and
(b)  for the creation or designation, as the main component of these governance mechanisms, of regional advisory panels to develop and update an integrated management plan for the St. Lawrence and to promote and monitor its implementation, ensuring balanced representation, within the panels, of users and stakeholders in various sectors;
(5)  prescribe rules governing the operation and financing of a body or panel created or designated under subparagraph 3 or 4 and of governance mechanisms established under subparagraph 4;
(6)  (subparagraph repealed);
(7)  determine conditions for developing, updating and monitoring the implementation of a water master plan or an integrated management plan for all or part of the St. Lawrence, including conditions regarding obtaining the Minister’s approval of the plan and submitting status reports to the Minister on the plan’s implementation;
(8)  prescribe requirements for watershed bodies and regional advisory panels with regard to public information and participation measures in connection with their activities, as well as their obligations in monitoring the development of a water master plan or an integrated management plan for the St. Lawrence and in monitoring progress in the plan’s implementation; and
(9)  entrust any mandate to a watershed body or a regional advisory panel to, among other reasons, advise the Minister on water governance matters.
When creating or designating a body under this section, the Minister must publish, particularly in the region concerned and in any appropriate manner, a notice identifying the body and containing a brief description of its mission.
2009, c. 21, s. 14; 2017, c. 142017, c. 14, s. 8.
14. For the purposes of section 13, the Minister of Sustainable Development, Environment and Parks may
(1)  establish major directions for concerted, integrated water resource management;
(2)  identify and describe hydrologic units, including watersheds, sub-watersheds and groups of watersheds, for all or part of the territory of Québec on the basis of such criteria as
(a)  the area of the hydrologic units;
(b)  the territorial limits of Québec, the administrative regions or the regional county municipalities, as the case may be;
(c)  the population density;
(d)  the past co-operation, cohesion and harmony between the various users and stakeholders; and
(e)  the environmental, social and economic homogeneity of development activities;
(3)  for each of the hydrologic units referred to in subparagraph 2 that the Minister specifies, provide, on the conditions determined by the Minister and subject to subparagraph 4, either
(a)  for the creation of a body whose mission is to develop and update a water master plan and facilitate and monitor its implementation, ensuring balanced representation, within that body, of users and of stakeholders from such sectors as the government, Native, municipal, economic, environmental, agricultural and community sectors, or
(b)  in exceptional circumstances, for the designation of a body to pursue that mission in conjunction with users and stakeholders;
(4)  for the St. Lawrence hydrologic unit, provide on the conditions determined by the Minister or agreed between the Minister and any government authority concerned,
(a)  for the establishment of governance mechanisms to ensure, for all or part of the St. Lawrence, co-operation between users and stakeholders in various sectors, and the planning and harmonization of measures for the protection and efficient use of water resources and water-dependent natural resources; and
(b)  for the creation or designation, as the main component of these governance mechanisms, of a body to develop and update an integrated management plan for the St. Lawrence and to promote and monitor its implementation, ensuring balanced representation, within the body, of users and stakeholders in various sectors;
(5)  prescribe rules governing the operation and financing of a body created or designated under subparagraph 3 or 4 and of governance mechanisms established under subparagraph 4;
(6)  specify the elements that must be dealt with in a water master plan or an integrated management plan for all or part of the St. Lawrence, including the state of waters and water-dependent natural resources, the identification of water uses and an assessment of their effects, an inventory of zones of ecological interest and of ecologically fragile or degraded zones, measures to protect and restore the qualitative or quantitative status of waters, and an evaluation of the economic and financial means required to implement the plan; and
(7)  determine conditions for developing, updating and monitoring the implementation of a water master plan or an integrated management plan for all or part of the St. Lawrence, such as informing the public and enlisting its participation, obtaining the Minister’s approval of the plan, and submitting status reports to the Minister on the plan’s implementation.
When creating or designating a body under this section, the Minister must publish, particularly in the region concerned and in any appropriate manner, a notice identifying the body and containing a brief description of its mission.
2009, c. 21, s. 14.

C-6.2 - Loi affirmant le caractère collectif des ressources en eau et favorisant une meilleure gouvernance de l'eau et des milieux associés

Texte complet
14. Le ministre du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et des Parcs peut:
1°  établir les orientations fondamentales d’une gestion intégrée et concertée des ressources en eau;
2°  (paragraphe abrogé);
3°  pour chacune des unités hydrographiques visées à l’article 13.2 qu’il indique, pourvoir, aux conditions qu’il fixe et réserve faite des dispositions du paragraphe 4°:
a)  soit à la constitution d’un organisme de bassin versant ayant pour mission d’élaborer et de mettre à jour un plan directeur de l’eau pour sa zone de gestion intégrée et d’en promouvoir et suivre la mise en oeuvre, en s’assurant d’une représentation équilibrée des utilisateurs et des divers milieux intéressés, dont le milieu gouvernemental, autochtone, municipal, économique, environnemental, agricole et communautaire, dans la composition de cet organisme de bassin versant;
b)  soit, exceptionnellement, à la désignation d’un organisme chargé de remplir cette mission en concertation avec les utilisateurs et les milieux intéressés;
4°  pour l’unité hydrographique que forme le Saint-Laurent, pourvoir, aux conditions qu’il fixe ou qu’il convient avec toute autorité gouvernementale concernée:
a)  à la mise en place de mécanismes de gouvernance propres à assurer, pour tout ou partie du Saint-Laurent, la concertation des utilisateurs et des divers milieux intéressés ainsi que la planification et l’harmonisation des mesures de protection et d’utilisation des ressources en eau et des autres ressources naturelles qui en dépendent;
b)  à la constitution ou à la désignation, à titre de composante principale de ces mécanismes de gouvernance, de tables de concertation régionale chargées de l’élaboration et de la mise à jour d’un plan de gestion intégrée du Saint-Laurent, et d’en promouvoir et suivre la mise en oeuvre, en veillant à ce que la composition de ces tables satisfasse au principe d’une représentation équilibrée des usagers et des divers milieux intéressés;
5°  fixer des règles applicables au fonctionnement et au financement de tout organisme ou table constitué ou désigné en vertu des paragraphes 3° et 4° ainsi que des mécanismes de gouvernance mis en place en application du paragraphe 4°;
6°  (paragraphe abrogé);
7°  déterminer les conditions applicables à l’élaboration, à la mise à jour et au suivi de la mise en oeuvre d’un plan directeur de l’eau ou d’un plan de gestion intégrée de tout ou partie du Saint-Laurent, entre autres celles relatives à l’approbation du plan par le ministre ainsi qu’aux comptes rendus à soumettre au ministre sur l’état d’avancement de la mise en oeuvre du plan;
8°  prévoir des exigences pour les organismes de bassin versant et les tables de concertation régionale relativement à des mesures d’information et de participation du public dans le cadre de leurs activités, ainsi que leurs obligations dans le suivi de l’élaboration d’un plan directeur de l’eau ou d’un plan de gestion intégrée du Saint-Laurent et de l’état d’avancement de leur mise en oeuvre;
9°  confier tout mandat à un organisme de bassin versant ou à une table de concertation régionale afin notamment de le conseiller en matière de gouvernance de l’eau.
Lorsqu’il pourvoit à la constitution ou à la désignation d’un organisme en vertu du présent article, le ministre publie, notamment dans la région concernée et selon les modalités qu’il estime indiquées, un avis contenant, outre l’identification de l’organisme, une brève description de sa mission.
2009, c. 21, a. 14; 2017, c. 142017, c. 14, a. 8.
14. Pour l’application de l’article 13, le ministre du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et des Parcs peut:
1°  établir les orientations fondamentales d’une gestion intégrée et concertée des ressources en eau;
2°  recenser et décrire, pour l’ensemble ou une partie du territoire du Québec, les unités hydrographiques, notamment les bassins, sous-bassins ou groupements de bassins hydrographiques, sur la base entre autres des critères suivants:
a)  la superficie des unités hydrographiques;
b)  les limites territoriales du Québec, des régions administratives ou des municipalités régionales de comté, selon le cas;
c)  la densité d’occupation du territoire;
d)  l’historique de la concertation, la cohésion et l’harmonie entre les divers utilisateurs ou milieux intéressés;
e)  l’homogénéité des activités de développement dans leurs dimensions environnementale, sociale et économique;
3°  pour chacune des unités hydrographiques visées au paragraphe 2° qu’il indique, pourvoir, aux conditions qu’il fixe et réserve faite des dispositions du paragraphe 4°:
a)  soit à la constitution d’un organisme ayant pour mission d’élaborer et de mettre à jour un plan directeur de l’eau et d’en promouvoir et suivre la mise en oeuvre, en s’assurant d’une représentation équilibrée des utilisateurs et des divers milieux intéressés, dont le milieu gouvernemental, autochtone, municipal, économique, environnemental, agricole et communautaire, dans la composition de cet organisme;
b)  soit, exceptionnellement, à la désignation d’un organisme chargé de remplir cette mission en concertation avec les utilisateurs et les milieux intéressés;
4°  pour l’unité hydrographique que forme le Saint-Laurent, pourvoir, aux conditions qu’il fixe ou qu’il convient avec toute autorité gouvernementale concernée:
a)  à la mise en place de mécanismes de gouvernance propres à assurer, pour tout ou partie du Saint-Laurent, la concertation des utilisateurs et des divers milieux intéressés ainsi que la planification et l’harmonisation des mesures de protection et d’utilisation des ressources en eau et des autres ressources naturelles qui en dépendent;
b)  à la constitution ou à la désignation, à titre de composante principale de ces mécanismes de gouvernance, d’un organisme chargé de l’élaboration et de la mise à jour d’un plan de gestion intégrée du Saint-Laurent, et d’en promouvoir et suivre la mise en oeuvre, en veillant à ce que la composition de cet organisme satisfasse au principe d’une représentation équilibrée des usagers et des divers milieux intéressés;
5°  fixer des règles applicables au fonctionnement et au financement de tout organisme constitué ou désigné en vertu des paragraphes 3° et 4° ainsi que des mécanismes de gouvernance mis en place en application du paragraphe 4°;
6°  déterminer les éléments qui doivent être traités dans un plan directeur de l’eau ou dans un plan de gestion intégrée de tout ou partie du Saint-Laurent, notamment en ce qui a trait à l’état des eaux et des autres ressources naturelles qui en dépendent, au recensement des usages et à l’évaluation de leurs incidences, à l’inventaire des zones d’intérêt, fragiles ou dégradées sur le plan écologique, aux mesures de protection ou de restauration de l’état qualitatif ou quantitatif des eaux ainsi qu’à l’évaluation des moyens économiques et financiers nécessaires à sa mise en oeuvre;
7°  déterminer les conditions applicables à l’élaboration, à la mise à jour et au suivi de la mise en oeuvre d’un plan directeur de l’eau ou d’un plan de gestion intégrée de tout ou partie du Saint-Laurent, entre autres celles relatives à l’information et à la participation de la population, à l’approbation du plan par le ministre ainsi qu’aux comptes rendus à soumettre au ministre sur l’état d’avancement de la mise en oeuvre du plan.
Lorsqu’il pourvoit à la constitution ou à la désignation d’un organisme en vertu du présent article, le ministre publie, notamment dans la région concernée et selon les modalités qu’il estime indiquées, un avis contenant, outre l’identification de l’organisme, une brève description de sa mission.
2009, c. 21, a. 14.