A-32.1 - Insurers Act

Full text
265. Except for shares redeemed on their holder’s death or when the holder otherwise ceases to be a member of a mutual company, the company may not redeem shares if there are reasonable grounds for believing that the company is, or would after the payment be, unable to maintain, in accordance with section 74, adequate assets to meet its liabilities, as and when they become due, and adequate capital to ensure its sustainability.
A mutual company that redeems shares on their holder’s death or when the holder otherwise ceases to be a member of the mutual company may not pay the redemption price of the shares if the company would, after the payment, be unable to maintain such assets and such capital.
The former holder of those shares becomes a creditor of the company and is entitled to be paid as soon as the company may legally do so or, in the event of liquidation, is entitled to be collocated after the other creditors but ahead of the shareholders.
The company must provide an evidence of indebtedness to the former shareholder.
2018, c. 23, s. 32018, c. 23, s. 3.
In force: 2019-06-13
265. Except for shares redeemed on their holder’s death or when the holder otherwise ceases to be a member of a mutual company, the company may not redeem shares if there are reasonable grounds for believing that the company is, or would after the payment be, unable to maintain, in accordance with section 74, adequate assets to meet its liabilities, as and when they become due, and adequate capital to ensure its sustainability.
A mutual company that redeems shares on their holder’s death or when the holder otherwise ceases to be a member of the mutual company may not pay the redemption price of the shares if the company would, after the payment, be unable to maintain such assets and such capital.
The former holder of those shares becomes a creditor of the company and is entitled to be paid as soon as the company may legally do so or, in the event of liquidation, is entitled to be collocated after the other creditors but ahead of the shareholders.
The company must provide an evidence of indebtedness to the former shareholder.
2018, c. 23, s. 32018, c. 23, s. 3.

A-32.1 - Loi sur les assureurs

Texte complet
265. Sauf si une part est rachetée au décès de son détenteur ou lorsqu’il cesse autrement d’être membre d’une société mutuelle, la société ne peut racheter une part s’il y a des motifs raisonnables de croire qu’elle ne peut ou ne pourrait de ce fait maintenir, conformément à l’article 74, des actifs permettant l’exécution de ses engagements, au fur et à mesure de leur exigibilité, et des capitaux permettant d’assurer sa pérennité.
La société mutuelle qui rachète une part au décès de son détenteur ou lorsqu’il cesse autrement d’être membre ne peut payer le prix de rachat de cette part si de ce fait, elle ne pourrait maintenir de tels actifs et de tels capitaux.
La personne qui détenait cette part devient alors créancière de la société et a le droit d’être payée aussitôt que celle-ci pourra légalement le faire ou, dans le cas d’une liquidation, le droit d’être colloquée après les autres créanciers mais par préférence aux détenteurs de parts.
La société doit remettre à la personne qui détenait ces parts une preuve de sa créance.
2018, c. 23, a. 32018, c. 23, a. 3.
En vig.: 2019-06-13
265. Sauf si une part est rachetée au décès de son détenteur ou lorsqu’il cesse autrement d’être membre d’une société mutuelle, la société ne peut racheter une part s’il y a des motifs raisonnables de croire qu’elle ne peut ou ne pourrait de ce fait maintenir, conformément à l’article 74, des actifs permettant l’exécution de ses engagements, au fur et à mesure de leur exigibilité, et des capitaux permettant d’assurer sa pérennité.
La société mutuelle qui rachète une part au décès de son détenteur ou lorsqu’il cesse autrement d’être membre ne peut payer le prix de rachat de cette part si de ce fait, elle ne pourrait maintenir de tels actifs et de tels capitaux.
La personne qui détenait cette part devient alors créancière de la société et a le droit d’être payée aussitôt que celle-ci pourra légalement le faire ou, dans le cas d’une liquidation, le droit d’être colloquée après les autres créanciers mais par préférence aux détenteurs de parts.
La société doit remettre à la personne qui détenait ces parts une preuve de sa créance.
2018, c. 23, a. 32018, c. 23, a. 3.