S-23 - Act respecting farmers’ and dairymen’s associations

Table of contents
Full text
chapter S-23
Act respecting farmers’ and dairymen’s associations
FARMERS’ AND DAIRYMEN’S ASSOCIATIONSDecember 31 1977
1. The Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food shall have charge of the carrying out of this Act.
R. S. 1964, c. 116, s. 1; 1973, c. 22, s. 22; 1979, c. 77, s. 21.
2. The Government may authorize the constitution of one or more associations, having for their objects the promotion of agriculture, fruit-growing, improvement in the manufacture of butter and cheese, the inspection of butter and cheese factories, and all other things in connection therewith, the improvement of live stock, raising of fowl, drainage and irrigation of farming lands, under the name chosen by any such society.
R. S. 1964, c. 116, s. 2; 1993, c. 48, s. 437; 1999, c. 40, s. 301.
3. The association shall consist of at least 10 persons, who shall sign a memorandum according to form 1.
Every member of the association shall subscribe and pay, annually, at least $1 to the funds of the association.
R. S. 1964, c. 116, s. 3.
3.1. The name of an association must be in conformity with the provisions of section 16 of the Business Corporations Act (chapter S-31.1).
1993, c. 48, s. 438; 1997, c. 70, s. 11; 2009, c. 52, s. 651.
3.2. The Government shall refuse to authorize the constitution of an association where the memorandum of the association contains a name not in conformity with one of paragraphs 1 to 6 or paragraph 8 of section 16 of the Business Corporations Act (chapter S-31.1).
1993, c. 48, s. 438; 1997, c. 70, s. 12; 1999, c. 40, s. 301; 2009, c. 52, s. 652.
4. Such memorandum shall be made in duplicate, one to be written and signed on the first pages of a book, to be kept by the association for entering the minutes of their proceedings, and the other to be immediately sent to the Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food, who shall transmit a notice of the constitution of such association indicating the name of the association and the address of its head office to the enterprise registrar. The enterprise registrar shall deposit the notice in the register referred to in Chapter II of the Act respecting the legal publicity of enterprises (chapter P-44.1).
R. S. 1964, c. 116, s. 4; 1973, c. 22, s. 22; 1979, c. 77, s. 21; 1993, c. 48, s. 439; 1999, c. 40, s. 301; 2002, c. 45, s. 561; 2010, c. 7, s. 282.
5. From the date of the deposit in the register of the notice of constitution of the association, the association shall become a legal person for the purposes of this Act, and may possess immovable property of not more than $25,000 in value.
R. S. 1964, c. 116, s. 5; 1993, c. 48, s. 440; 1999, c. 40, s. 301.
5.1. An interested person may apply to the Minister for an order directing an association to change its name if the association’s name is not in conformity with section 3.1.
1993, c. 48, s. 441; 1997, c. 70, s. 13.
5.2. The Minister shall, before rendering a decision, notify the interested persons in writing as prescribed by section 5 of the Act respecting administrative justice (chapter J-3) and allow them at least 10 days to present observations.
1997, c. 70, s. 13.
5.3. The decision of the Minister must be in writing, contain reasons and be signed. It must be sent forthwith to the persons concerned and to the enterprise registrar, who shall deposit it in the register.
The decision becomes executory upon the expiry of the time for bringing a proceeding under section 5.7.
1997, c. 70, s. 13; 2002, c. 45, s. 561.
5.4. Upon the expiry of the time for bringing a proceeding, the Minister may, upon application by an interested person, change the name of an association that is not in compliance with the order.
The Minister may also, on the Minister’s own initiative, change the name of an association that is not in compliance with the order issued by the Minister on the ground that the association’s name is not in conformity with one of paragraphs 1 to 6 or paragraph 8 of section 16 of the Business Corporations Act (chapter S-31.1).
1997, c. 70, s. 13; 2009, c. 52, s. 653.
5.5. Where the Minister assigns a name to the association, the Minister shall issue, in duplicate, a certificate setting out the change and send one duplicate to the enterprise registrar, who shall deposit it in the register.
The Minister shall send the other duplicate to the association or its representative.
1997, c. 70, s. 13; 2002, c. 45, s. 561.
5.6. The Minister may delegate the powers conferred upon him by sections 5.2 to 5.5 to a member of the Minister’s personnel.
1997, c. 70, s. 13.
5.7. Persons who believe themselves to have been wronged by a decision of the Minister referred to in section 5.3 may, within 30 days of notification of the decision, contest it before the Administrative Tribunal of Québec.
1997, c. 70, s. 13.
5.8. The Minister shall transmit to the enterprise registrar notice of the contestation, and the enterprise registrar shall deposit the notice in the register.
1997, c. 70, s. 13; 2002, c. 45, s. 561.
5.9. Notwithstanding the second paragraph of section 15 of the Act respecting administrative justice (chapter J-3), the Tribunal may only confirm or quash the contested decision.
1997, c. 70, s. 13.
5.10. A copy of the decision of the Tribunal shall be transmitted to each party and to the enterprise registrar. The enterprise registrar shall, where applicable, make the necessary changes to the register and shall indicate in the register that the decision of the Tribunal has been rendered.
1997, c. 70, s. 13; 2002, c. 45, s. 561.
6. The association may make by-laws to prescribe the mode or manner of admission of new members, to regulate the election and appointment of its officers and employees, and, generally, the management of its affairs and property for the purpose of carrying out the objects of the association.
R. S. 1964, c. 116, s. 6.
7. The first meeting of the association shall be held at its head office, on the second Wednesday of the month following the date of deposit of the notice in the register.
R. S. 1964, c. 116, s. 7; 1993, c. 48, s. 442.
8. The association shall hold an annual meeting at such time as shall be chosen by the board of directors.
R. S. 1964, c. 116, s. 8.
9. At such annual meeting, the members of the association present shall elect a board of directors consisting of at least five directors.
R. S. 1964, c. 116, s. 9.
10. The board of directors shall elect from among their members a president and a vice-president, and shall appoint a secretary-treasurer and such other officers and employees as they may deem necessary for carrying out the objects of the association.
R. S. 1964, c. 116, s. 10.
11. At the annual meeting of the association, the directors shall submit a detailed report of their operations during the past year. A copy of such report shall be sent to the Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.
In the case of a dairymen’s association, such report shall state the names of all the members of the association, the amount subscribed and paid into the hands of the secretary-treasurer, the names and number of factories under the association’s authority, and shall furnish all other information deemed useful and in the interest of the dairy industry. A copy of such report shall, moreover, be given to the Régie des marchés agricoles et alimentaires du Québec.
R. S. 1964, c. 116, s. 11; 1973, c. 22, s. 22; 1977, c. 5, s. 14; 1979, c. 77, s. 21; 1990, c. 13, s. 217.
12. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
FORM 1
(Section 3)
Memorandum of Association
We, the undersigned, agree to form an association under the provisions of the Act respecting farmers’ and dairymen’s associations (chapter S-23), under the name of .............., the address of our head office to be as follows: .............., and we hereby severally agree to pay to the secretary-treasurer, annually, while we continue members of the association, the sums opposite our respective names, and we further agree to conform to the rules and by-laws of the said association.
===============================================================
|
Names | $ cts.
|
_______________________________________________|_______________
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
_______________________________________________|_______________
R. S. 1964, c. 116, form 1; 1993, c. 48, s. 443.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 116 of the Revised Statutes, 1964, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed effective from the coming into force of chapter S-23 of the Revised Statutes.

S-23 - Loi sur les sociétés agricoles et laitières

Texte complet
chapitre S-23
Loi sur les sociétés agricoles et laitières
SOCIÉTÉS AGRICOLES ET LAITIÈRES31 décembre 1977
1. Le ministre de l’Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l’Alimentation est chargé de l’exécution de la présente loi.
S. R. 1964, c. 116, a. 1; 1973, c. 22, a. 22; 1979, c. 77, a. 21.
2. Le gouvernement peut autoriser la constitution d’une ou de plusieurs sociétés ayant pour objet le développement de l’agriculture, la culture des fruits, l’amélioration de la fabrication du beurre et du fromage, l’inspection des fromageries et beurreries et de tout ce qui s’y rapporte, l’amélioration des animaux, l’élevage des volailles, le drainage et l’irrigation des terres, sous le nom choisi par la société.
S. R. 1964, c. 116, a. 2; 1993, c. 48, a. 437; 1999, c. 40, a. 301.
3. La société doit se composer d’au moins 10 personnes, qui signent une déclaration conforme à la formule 1.
Chaque membre de la société doit souscrire et payer annuellement une somme de 1 $ au moins au fonds de la société.
S. R. 1964, c. 116, a. 3.
3.1. Le nom d’une société doit être conforme aux dispositions de l’article 16 de la Loi sur les sociétés par actions (chapitre S-31.1).
1993, c. 48, a. 438; 1997, c. 70, a. 11; 2009, c. 52, a. 651.
3.2. Le gouvernement refuse d’autoriser la constitution d’une société dont la déclaration contient un nom non conforme à l’un des paragraphes 1° à 6° ou 8° de l’article 16 de la Loi sur les sociétés par actions (chapitre S-31.1).
1993, c. 48, a. 438; 1997, c. 70, a. 12; 1999, c. 40, a. 301; 2009, c. 52, a. 652.
4. Cette déclaration doit être faite en double, l’un écrit et signé sur les premières pages d’un livre tenu par la société afin d’y consigner les procès-verbaux de ses délibérations, et l’autre immédiatement transmis au ministre de l’Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l’Alimentation, qui transmet un avis de la constitution de telle société au registraire des entreprises. Cet avis indique le nom et l’adresse du siège de la société. Le registraire des entreprises dépose cet avis au registre visé au chapitre II de la Loi sur la publicité légale des entreprises (chapitre P-44.1).
S. R. 1964, c. 116, a. 4; 1968, c. 23, a. 8; 1973, c. 22, a. 22; 1979, c. 77, a. 21; 1993, c. 48, a. 439; 1999, c. 40, a. 301; 2002, c. 45, a. 561; 2010, c. 7, a. 282.
5. À compter de la date du dépôt de l’avis de constitution de la société au registre, elle devient une personne morale pour les fins de la présente loi, pouvant posséder des immeubles jusqu’à concurrence d’une valeur n’excédant pas 25 000 $.
S. R. 1964, c. 116, a. 5; 1968, c. 23, a. 8; 1993, c. 48, a. 440; 1999, c. 40, a. 301.
5.1. Une personne intéressée peut demander au ministre d’ordonner à une société de changer son nom s’il n’est pas conforme à l’article 3.1.
1993, c. 48, a. 441; 1997, c. 70, a. 13.
5.2. Le ministre doit, avant de rendre une décision, notifier par écrit aux personnes concernées le préavis prescrit par l’article 5 de la Loi sur la justice administrative (chapitre J‐3) et leur accorder un délai d’au moins 10 jours pour présenter leurs observations.
1997, c. 70, a. 13.
5.3. La décision du ministre doit être écrite, motivée et signée. Elle est transmise sans délai aux personnes concernées ainsi qu’au registraire des entreprises, qui la dépose au registre.
Elle est exécutoire à l’expiration du délai pour former le recours prévu à l’article 5.7.
1997, c. 70, a. 13; 2002, c. 45, a. 561.
5.4. À l’expiration du délai pour former le recours, le ministre peut, à la demande d’une personne intéressée, changer le nom de la société qui ne respecte pas l’ordonnance.
Il peut également d’office changer le nom de la société qui ne respecte pas l’ordonnance qu’il a rendue, au motif que le nom de celle-ci n’est pas conforme à l’un des paragraphes 1° à 6° ou 8° de l’article 16 de la Loi sur les sociétés par actions (chapitre S-31.1).
1997, c. 70, a. 13; 2009, c. 52, a. 653.
5.5. Lorsque le ministre attribue un nom à la société, il produit en deux exemplaires un certificat attestant la modification et transmet un exemplaire au registraire des entreprises qui le dépose au registre.
Il transmet l’autre exemplaire du certificat à la société ou à son représentant.
1997, c. 70, a. 13; 2002, c. 45, a. 561.
5.6. Le ministre peut déléguer à un membre de son personnel les pouvoirs qui lui sont conférés par les articles 5.2 à 5.5.
1997, c. 70, a. 13.
5.7. Toute personne qui s’estime lésée par une décision du ministre visée à l’article 5.3 peut, dans les 30 jours de sa notification, la contester devant le Tribunal administratif du Québec.
1997, c. 70, a. 13.
5.8. Le ministre transmet au registraire des entreprises un avis de la contestation, que celui-ci dépose au registre.
1997, c. 70, a. 13; 2002, c. 45, a. 561.
5.9. Malgré le deuxième alinéa de l’article 15 de la Loi sur la justice administrative (chapitre J‐3), le Tribunal ne peut que confirmer ou infirmer la décision contestée.
1997, c. 70, a. 13.
5.10. Une copie de la décision du Tribunal doit être transmise à chacune des parties ainsi qu’au registraire des entreprises. Celui-ci apporte, s’il y a lieu, les modifications nécessaires au registre et y inscrit une mention selon laquelle la décision du Tribunal a été rendue.
1997, c. 70, a. 13; 2002, c. 45, a. 561.
6. La société a le pouvoir de faire des règlements sur le mode d’admission des nouveaux membres, l’élection et la nomination de ses dirigeants et employés ainsi que sur l’administration générale de ses affaires et la gestion de ses biens en vue d’arriver à ses fins.
S. R. 1964, c. 116, a. 6; 1999, c. 40, a. 301.
7. La première réunion de la société doit se tenir à son siège, le deuxième mercredi du mois suivant la date du dépôt de l’avis au registre.
S. R. 1964, c. 116, a. 7; 1968, c. 23, a. 8; 1993, c. 48, a. 442.
8. La société est tenue d’avoir une assemblée annuelle aux temps et lieu fixés par le conseil d’administration.
S. R. 1964, c. 116, a. 8.
9. À cette assemblée annuelle, les membres de la société qui sont présents doivent élire un conseil d’administration composé d’au moins cinq administrateurs.
S. R. 1964, c. 116, a. 9.
10. Le conseil d’administration est tenu d’élire, parmi ses membres, un président et un vice-président, et de nommer un secrétaire-trésorier ainsi que tels autres dirigeants et employés qu’il juge nécessaires pour parvenir aux fins de la société.
S. R. 1964, c. 116, a. 10; 1999, c. 40, a. 301.
11. Les administrateurs sont tenus de préparer et présenter, à l’assemblée annuelle de la société, un rapport détaillé de leurs opérations pour l’année écoulée. Une copie de ce rapport doit être transmise au ministre de l’Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l’Alimentation.
S’il s’agit d’une société d’industrie laitière, ce rapport doit indiquer les noms de tous les membres de la société, le montant souscrit et acquitté entre les mains du secrétaire-trésorier, le nom et le nombre des fabriques sous la compétence de cette société, et fournir tels autres renseignements jugés utiles et favorables aux intérêts de l’industrie laitière. Une copie de ce rapport doit de plus être fournie à la Régie des marchés agricoles et alimentaires du Québec.
S. R. 1964, c. 116, a. 11; 1973, c. 22, a. 22; 1979, c. 77, a. 21; 1990, c. 13, a. 217; 1999, c. 40, a. 301.
12. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
FORMULE 1
(Article 3)
Déclaration de société
Nous, soussignés, convenons de nous constituer en société sous l’opération des dispositions de la Loi sur les sociétés agricoles et laitières (chapitre S-23), sous le nom de .............., l’adresse de notre siège devant être à .............., et nous nous engageons par les présentes à payer respectivement et annuellement au secrétaire-trésorier, tant que nous serons membres de la société, les sommes inscrites vis-à-vis de nos noms, et nous nous engageons de plus à nous conformer aux règles et règlements de cette société.
===============================================================
|
Noms | $ cts
|
_______________________________________________|_______________
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
_______________________________________________|_______________
S. R. 1964, c. 116, formule 1; 1993, c. 48, a. 443.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 116 des Statuts refondus, 1964, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre S-23 des Lois refondues.