A-7.003 - Act respecting the Agence du revenu du Québec

Full text
chapter A-7.003
Act respecting the Agence du revenu du Québec
AGENCE DU REVENU DU QUÉBECDecember 8 2010December 8 2010
CHAPTER III
ORGANIZATION AND OPERATION
DIVISION II
BOARD OF DIRECTORS
10. A person may not be appointed as a member of the board of directors or remain a member of the board if
(1)  the person was convicted of an offence under any of the laws listed in section 47 during the five years prior to appointment or at any time while in the office of director, to the extent that the offence is incompatible with the office of director, unless the person has been pardoned;
(2)  the person did not file, for a given period, a return or report that ought to have been filed under a fiscal law within the meaning assigned by section 1 of the Tax Administration Act (chapter M-31) on the date set by that fiscal law, though the person was required to do so under section 39 of the Tax Administration Act; or
(3)  the person owes an amount exigible under a fiscal law within the meaning assigned by section 1 of the Tax Administration Act, unless the person has entered into an agreement for the payment of the amount and complies with it, or the recovery of the amount has been suspended legally.
2010, c. 31, s. 10.
Section 10 comes into force on 8 December 2010 where it applies to the chair of the board of directors; otherwise, it comes into force on 1 April 2011; see 2010, c. 31, s. 202.
13. At least eight members of the board of directors, including the chair, must qualify as independent directors in the opinion of the Government.
Board members qualify as independent directors if they have no direct or indirect relationships or interests, for example of a financial, commercial, professional or philanthropic nature, which are likely to interfere with the quality of their decisions as regards the interests of the Agency.
A board member
(1)  who is in the employ of the Agency or has been in such employ in the three years preceding appointment to office,
(2)  who is in the employ of the Government or a government agency or enterprise within the meaning of sections 4 and 5 of the Auditor General Act (chapter V-5.01), or
(3)  whose immediate family member is a senior officer of the Agency
is deemed not to be an independent director.
The Government may adopt a policy concerning situations it intends to examine to determine if a board member qualifies as an independent director. The Government may specify the meaning it intends to assign to the expression “immediate family member”.
A board member appointed as an independent director must disclose in writing to the board and to the Minister any situation likely to affect the member’s status.
2010, c. 31, s. 13.
Section 13 comes into force on 8 December 2010 where it applies to the chair of the board of directors; otherwise, it comes into force on 1 April 2011; see 2010, c. 31, s. 202.
14. At least eight members of the board of directors, including the chair and the president and chief executive officer, must have sufficient experience, in the opinion of the Government, acquired as a high-ranking public servant or a senior officer of a department, agency or enterprise of a government.
At least four of the members mentioned in the first paragraph, other than the president and chief executive officer, must be in the employ either of a government department, agency or enterprise, within the meaning of sections 4 and 5 of the Auditor General Act (chapter V-5.01), to which the Agency provides collection services, or of the Ministère des Finances, as deputy minister, assistant deputy minister, associate deputy minister, president, vice-president or chair or vice-chair. Any additional member who is so employed must also be from a government department, agency or enterprise to which the Agency provides collection services and hold such a position.
The board of directors must include a member who is a member of one of the professional orders of accountants listed in the Professional Code (chapter C-26) and another who is a member of the Barreau du Québec or the Chambre des notaires du Québec, appointed after consultation with those professional orders.
2010, c. 31, s. 14.
Section 14 comes into force on 8 December 2010 where it applies to the chair of the board of directors; otherwise, it comes into force on 1 April 2011; see 2010, c. 31, s. 202.
15. The Government appoints the chair of the board of directors for a term of up to five years. The chair may be reappointed twice to serve in that capacity.
2010, c. 31, s. 15.
CHAPTER IV
FINANCIAL PROVISIONS
56. The Tax Administration Fund is established at the Ministère des Finances in order to pay for the services referred to in section 4 that are rendered to the Minister by the Agency, except in cases where payment is otherwise provided.
2010, c. 31, s. 56.
57. The Agency pays into the Fund, from the sums collected for the Minister under the Taxation Act (chapter I-3), the sums fixed by the Government on the joint recommendation of the Minister of Finance and the Minister, on the dates and in the manner determined by the Government.
2010, c. 31, s. 57.
Section 57 comes into force on 8 December 2010 where it concerns the making of an order by the Government; otherwise, it comes into force on 1 April 2011; see 2010, c. 31, s. 202.
58. The Government determines, on the joint recommendation of the Minister of Finance and the Minister, how and on what terms payments from the Fund are to be made to the Agency.
2010, c. 31, s. 58.
Section 58 comes into force on 8 December 2010 where it concerns the making of an order by the Government; otherwise, it comes into force on 1 April 2011; see 2010, c. 31, s. 202.
60. The Minister of Finance may, as manager of the Fund, borrow out of the financing fund established under the Act respecting the Ministère des Finances (chapter M-24.01).
2010, c. 31, s. 60.
61. The Minister of Finance may, with the authorization of the Government and on the conditions it determines, make advances to the Fund out of the consolidated revenue fund.
The Minister may, conversely, make advances to the consolidated revenue fund, on a short-term basis and subject to the conditions the Minister determines, out of the sums making up the Fund that are not required for its operation.
Any advance made to a fund is repayable out of that fund.
2010, c. 31, s. 61.
65. The Minister and the Minister of Finance enter into an agreement concerning the management of the income of the Agency.
2010, c. 31, s. 65.
67. The Government may, subject to the conditions it determines,
(1)  guarantee the payment of the principal of and interest on any loan contracted by the Agency and the performance of its obligations; and
(2)  authorize the Minister of Finance to advance to the Agency any amount considered necessary for the fulfilment of the Agency’s obligations or the pursuit of its mission.
The sums required for the purposes of this section are taken out of the Consolidated Revenue Fund.
2010, c. 31, s. 67.
CHAPTER IX
MISCELLANEOUS, TRANSITIONAL AND FINAL PROVISIONS
194. For the first appointment of the members of the board of directors, section 19 is to read as follows:
19. Board members, other than the president and chief executive officer and the members mentioned in the second paragraph of section 14, receive a remuneration made up of a basic annual amount plus an allowance for each meeting of the board and of the various committees under the authority of the board they attend, as follows:
1° the chair of the board receives an annual remuneration of $17,064, plus a flat-rate attendance allowance of $800 per meeting of the board and of the various board committees;
2° the other board members receive an annual remuneration of $8,532, plus a flat-rate attendance allowance of $533 per meeting of the board and of the various board committees;
3° board members who chair one of the three committees established under the first paragraph of section 30 receive an additional $3,200 annually;
4° the attendance allowance per meeting of the board and of the various board committees is reduced by half for special brief meetings of the board or of a board committee held by telephone conference or some other means of distance communication;
5° the remuneration set under this section is increased, from the year 2011, by a percentage equal to the percentage of increase applicable to the salary scales for management personnel in the public service and on the same dates;
6° the remuneration of a retired public sector employee who is appointed to the board of directors is reduced by half of the amount of the pension received by the person from the public sector, which reduction applies to all remuneration, including attendance allowances;
7° the chair of the board is entitled, on presentation of vouchers, to reimbursement of entertainment expenses incurred in the exercise of his or her functions, up to the maximum amount to be set by the Agency and in accordance with the rules and scales adopted by the Agency;
8° board members are entitled to reimbursement of travel and living expenses incurred in the exercise of their functions, in accordance with the rules and scales adopted by the Agency.
The remuneration payable under this section may be modified by the Government.”.
2010, c. 31, s. 194.
Section 194 comes into force on 8 December 2010 where it applies to the chair of the board of directors; otherwise, it comes into force on 1 April 2011; see 2010, c. 31, s. 202.
202. (Omitted).
2010, c. 31, s. 202.

A-7.003 - Loi sur l’Agence du revenu du Québec

Texte complet
chapitre A-7.003
Loi sur l’Agence du revenu du Québec
AGENCE DU REVENU DU QUÉBEC8 décembre 20108 décembre 2010
CHAPITRE III
ORGANISATION ET FONCTIONNEMENT
SECTION II
CONSEIL D’ADMINISTRATION
10. Une personne ne peut être nommée membre du conseil d’administration ou le demeurer si:
1°  elle a été déclarée coupable d’une infraction à l’une des lois prévues à l’article 47 au cours des cinq années précédant sa nomination ou à tout moment durant l’exercice de ses fonctions d’administrateur, dans la mesure où cette infraction est incompatible avec la fonction d’administrateur, à moins qu’elle n’en ait obtenu pardon;
2°  elle n’a pas produit, pour une période, une déclaration ou un rapport qu’elle devait produire en vertu d’une loi fiscale au sens que donne à cette expression l’article 1 de la Loi sur l’administration fiscale (chapitre M-31) à la date fixée par cette loi fiscale, malgré qu’elle en soit tenue par l’article 39 de la Loi sur l’administration fiscale;
3°  elle est redevable d’un montant exigible en vertu d’une loi fiscale au sens que donne à cette expression l’article 1 de la Loi sur l’administration fiscale, à moins qu’elle n’ait conclu une entente de paiement qu’elle respecte ou que le recouvrement de ce montant ait été légalement suspendu.
2010, c. 31, a. 10.
L’article 10 entre en vigueur le 8 décembre 2010 lorsqu’il s’applique au président du conseil d’administration; à tout autre égard, il entre en vigueur le 1er avril 2011; voir 2010, c. 31, a. 202.
13. Au moins huit membres du conseil d’administration, dont le président, doivent, de l’avis du gouvernement, se qualifier comme administrateurs indépendants.
Un membre se qualifie comme tel s’il n’a pas, de manière directe ou indirecte, de relations ou d’intérêts, par exemple de nature financière, commerciale, professionnelle ou philanthropique, susceptibles de nuire à la qualité de ses décisions eu égard aux intérêts de l’Agence.
Un administrateur est réputé ne pas être indépendant:
1°  s’il est ou a été, au cours des trois années précédant la date de sa nomination, à l’emploi de l’Agence;
2°  s’il est à l’emploi du gouvernement, d’un organisme ou d’une entreprise du gouvernement au sens des articles 4 et 5 de la Loi sur le vérificateur général (chapitre V-5.01);
3°  si un membre de sa famille immédiate fait partie de la haute direction de l’Agence.
Le gouvernement peut adopter une politique concernant des situations qu’il entend examiner pour déterminer si un membre du conseil d’administration se qualifie comme administrateur indépendant. Il peut y préciser le sens qu’il entend donner à l’expression «membre de sa famille immédiate».
Un membre du conseil d’administration nommé à titre d’administrateur indépendant doit dénoncer par écrit au conseil d’administration et au ministre toute situation susceptible d’affecter son statut.
2010, c. 31, a. 13.
L’article 13 entre en vigueur le 8 décembre 2010 lorsqu’il s’applique au président du conseil d’administration; à tout autre égard, il entre en vigueur le 1er avril 2011; voir 2010, c. 31, a. 202.
14. Au moins huit membres du conseil d’administration, dont le président du conseil et le président-directeur général, doivent posséder une expérience suffisante, de l’avis du gouvernement, acquise à titre de haut fonctionnaire ou de haut dirigeant d’un ministère, d’un organisme ou d’une entreprise d’un gouvernement.
Au moins quatre des membres visés au premier alinéa, autre que le président-directeur général, doivent être à l’emploi d’un ministère, d’un organisme ou d’une entreprise du gouvernement, au sens des articles 4 et 5 de la Loi sur le vérificateur général (chapitre V-5.01), à qui des services de perception sont fournis par l’Agence, ou du ministère des Finances, et y occuper un poste de sous-ministre, de sous-ministre adjoint, de sous-ministre associé, de président ou de vice-président. Le cas échéant, tout membre additionnel occupant un tel emploi doit également être d’un ministère, d’un organisme ou d’une entreprise du gouvernement à qui des services de perception sont fournis par l’Agence et y occuper un tel poste.
Le conseil d’administration doit compter deux membres, dont l’un provient des ordres professionnels de comptables mentionnés au Code des professions (chapitre C-26) et l’autre du Barreau du Québec ou de la Chambre des notaires du Québec, qui sont nommés après consultation de ces ordres professionnels.
2010, c. 31, a. 14.
L’article 14 entre en vigueur le 8 décembre 2010 lorsqu’il s’applique au président du conseil d’administration; à tout autre égard, il entre en vigueur le 1er avril 2011; voir 2010, c. 31, a. 202.
15. Le gouvernement nomme le président du conseil pour un mandat d’au plus cinq ans pouvant être renouvelé deux fois à ce titre.
2010, c. 31, a. 15.
CHAPITRE IV
DISPOSITIONS FINANCIÈRES
56. Est institué au ministère des Finances le «fonds relatif à l’administration fiscale» dont l’objet est de rétribuer, sauf dans les cas où une rétribution est autrement prévue, les services visés à l’article 4 que l’Agence rend au ministre.
2010, c. 31, a. 56.
57. L’Agence verse au fonds, à même les sommes qu’elle perçoit pour le ministre en application de la Loi sur les impôts (chapitre I-3), les sommes que fixe le gouvernement sur recommandation conjointe du ministre des Finances et du ministre, aux dates et selon les modalités déterminées par le gouvernement.
2010, c. 31, a. 57.
L’article 57 entre en vigueur le 8 décembre 2010 lorsqu’il concerne la prise d’un décret par le gouvernement; à tout autre égard, il entre en vigueur le 1er avril 2011; voir 2010, c. 31, a. 202.
58. Le gouvernement détermine, sur recommandation conjointe du ministre des Finances et du ministre, les modalités et les conditions des versements du fonds destinés à l’Agence.
2010, c. 31, a. 58.
L’article 58 entre en vigueur le 8 décembre 2010 lorsqu’il concerne la prise d’un décret par le gouvernement; à tout autre égard, il entre en vigueur le 1er avril 2011; voir 2010, c. 31, a. 202.
60. Le ministre des Finances peut, à titre de gestionnaire du fonds, emprunter des sommes prises sur le Fonds de financement institué en vertu de la Loi sur le ministère des Finances (chapitre M-24.01).
2010, c. 31, a. 60.
61. Le ministre des Finances peut avancer au fonds, sur autorisation du gouvernement et aux conditions que celui-ci détermine, des sommes prélevées sur le fonds consolidé du revenu.
Il peut, inversement, avancer à court terme au fonds consolidé du revenu, aux conditions qu’il détermine, toute partie des sommes constituant le fonds qui n’est pas requise pour son fonctionnement.
Une avance versée à un fonds est remboursable sur ce fonds.
2010, c. 31, a. 61.
65. Le ministre et le ministre des Finances concluent une entente concernant la gestion des sommes constituant les revenus de l’Agence.
2010, c. 31, a. 65.
67. Le gouvernement peut, aux conditions qu’il détermine:
1°  garantir le paiement en capital et intérêts de tout emprunt contracté par l’Agence ainsi que toute obligation de celle-ci;
2°  autoriser le ministre des Finances à avancer à l’Agence tout montant jugé nécessaire pour permettre à l’Agence de remplir ses obligations ou pour réaliser sa mission.
Les sommes requises pour l’application du présent article sont prises sur le fonds consolidé du revenu.
2010, c. 31, a. 67.
CHAPITRE IX
DISPOSITIONS DIVERSES, TRANSITOIRES ET FINALES
194. Pour la première nomination des membres du conseil d’administration, l’article 19 doit se lire comme suit:
«19. Les membres du conseil d’administration, autres que le président-directeur général et ceux visés au deuxième alinéa de l’article 14, reçoivent une rémunération composée d’un montant annuel de base auquel s’ajoutent des montants alloués par présence aux séances du conseil d’administration et des divers comités relevant du conseil d’administration selon les conditions déterminées aux paragraphes suivants:
1° le président du conseil d’administration reçoit une rémunération annuelle de 17 064 $ à laquelle s’ajoute un montant forfaitaire de 800 $ par présence aux séances du conseil d’administration et des divers comités dudit conseil;
2° les autres membres du conseil d’administration reçoivent une rémunération annuelle de 8 532 $ à laquelle s’ajoute un montant forfaitaire de 533 $ par présence aux séances du conseil d’administration et des divers comités relevant dudit conseil;
3° les membres du conseil d’administration qui assument la présidence d’un des trois comités visés au premier alinéa de l’article 30 reçoivent une somme additionnelle annuelle de 3 200 $;
4° le montant forfaitaire fixé par présence aux séances du conseil d’administration et des divers comités relevant dudit conseil est réduit de moitié pour les séances exceptionnelles et de courte durée du conseil d’administration ou d’un de ces comités qui se tiennent par téléphone ou par tout autre moyen de communication à distance;
5° la rémunération fixée en vertu du présent article est majorée, à compter de l’année 2011, d’un pourcentage équivalant au pourcentage de majoration des échelles de traitement des cadres de la fonction publique, aux mêmes dates;
6° la rémunération d’un retraité du secteur public nommé membre du conseil d’administration est réduite d’un montant équivalant à la moitié de la rente de retraite qu’il reçoit de ce secteur, cette déduction s’applique sur toute rémunération y compris celle fixée par séance;
7° le président du conseil d’administration est remboursé, sur présentation de pièces justificatives, des frais de représentation occasionnés par l’exercice de ses fonctions jusqu’à concurrence d’un montant maximal à être établi par l’Agence et selon les règles et barèmes adoptés par l’Agence;
8° les membres du conseil d’administration sont remboursés des frais de voyage et de séjour occasionnés par l’exercice de leurs fonctions conformément aux règles et barèmes adoptés par l’Agence.
La rémunération fixée au présent article peut être modifiée par le gouvernement.».
2010, c. 31, a. 194.
L’article 194 entre en vigueur le 8 décembre 2010 lorsqu’il s’applique au président du conseil d’administration; à tout autre égard, il entre en vigueur le 1er avril 2011; voir 2010, c. 31, a. 202.
202. (Omis).
2010, c. 31, a. 202.