I-17 - University Investments Act

Table of contents
Full text
chapter I-17
University Investments Act
UNIVERSITY INVESTMENTSDecember 31 1977
1. In this Act, the following expressions and words mean:
(a)  university establishment :
(1)  any of the educational institutions at the university level contemplated in paragraphs 1 to 11 of section 1 of the Act respecting educational institutions at the university level (chapter E-14.1);
(2)  (subparagraph repealed);
(3)  (subparagraph repealed);
(4)  any legal person whose object is to build and administer residences for students at the university level;
(b)  investment : any capital expenditure or expenditure for equipment, including the purchase price of furniture, fittings and tools or a library collection;
(c)  Minister : the Minister of Higher Education, Research, Science and Technology.
1968, c. 65, s. 1; 1985, c. 21, s. 96; 1988, c. 41, s. 88; 1989, c. 18, s. 7; 1993, c. 51, s. 72; 1994, c. 16, s. 50; 1999, c. 40, s. 162; 2005, c. 28, s. 195; 2013, c. 28, s. 201.
2. The Minister is authorized to prepare each year with any university establishment of Québec any university investment plan for the five ensuing years, divided into annual portions.
1968, c. 65, s. 2; 1993, c. 26, s. 41.
3. In order to benefit by this Act, the university establishments must forward to the Minister each year, before the date that he indicates to them, their quinquennial investment plans.
1968, c. 65, s. 3.
4. Any plan prepared under section 2 shall indicate in detail the purpose and amount of the investments for the first year, and contain a statement of the investments estimated for subsequent years.
The plan shall be submitted to the Government for approval and shall come into force on the date of its approval.
The plan shall be tabled in the National Assembly within 15 days of its approval by the Government if the Assembly is in session or, if it is not sitting, within 15 days of the opening of the next session or resumption.
1968, c. 65, s. 4; 1968, c. 9, s. 90; 1986, c. 75, s. 1.
5. The Government may undertake to make grants payable under this Act for the purposes of investments approved under section 4 and at the same time to assume the obligation to repay out of such grants the whole or part of the principal and interest of any bonded debt contracted or to be contracted by any establishment to which such a grant is payable.
This section does not apply in respect of any loan contracted or issue of debentures made on or after 18 March 1987.
1968, c. 65, s. 5; 1982, c. 58, s. 41.
6. The Minister is authorized to pay to the university establishments the grants made under this Act in accordance with the terms agreed upon with them, and to pay each year all or part of the principal of and interest on any loan contracted by such an establishment and contemplated in section 5 up to the amount authorized for the current year.
This section does not apply in respect of any loan contracted or issue of debentures made on or after 18 March 1987.
1968, c. 65, s. 6; 1982, c. 58, s. 42.
6.1. The Minister may, under such terms and conditions as he may determine, grant, on behalf of the Government, a subsidy for the purposes of investments approved under section 4 to any university establishment in order to provide, in whole or in part, out of the funds voted annually for such purposes by Parliament, for the payment in principal and interest of any loan contracted or to be contracted by the university establishment and for the payment of any costs or expenses relating to any such loan.
He may entrust to the Minister of Finance the management of all amounts intended for the payment in principal and interest of the debentures issued by the university establishment, in order to constitute a sinking fund for the purposes of paying, out of such amounts, at the maturities under the terms of the loan, the principal of the debentures, and, out of the proceeds or revenue of the fund, the loans of any university establishment.
The second paragraph applies only to loans contracted before 1 April 1991.
1982, c. 58, s. 43; 1985, c. 21, s. 96; 1986, c. 75, s. 2; 1988, c. 41, s. 88; 1990, c. 66, s. 10; 1993, c. 51, s. 72; 1994, c. 16, s. 50; 2005, c. 28, s. 195; 2013, c. 28, s. 201; 2016, c. 72016, c. 7, s. 183.
6.2. The Minister may entrust to the Minister of Finance the management of sums intended for the repayment of the principal of a loan in respect of which a subsidy has been granted under section 6.1, in order to constitute a sinking fund for the purpose of repaying, out of such sums, the principal of the loan, on the maturity dates under the terms of the loan.
The income of the sinking fund shall be used for the repayment of any duly authorized loan of any university establishment, or allocated for the repayment of any loan for which a sinking fund is constituted, in replacement of the sums that would otherwise be deposited under the first paragraph.
This section applies only to loans contracted on or after 1 April 1991.
1990, c. 66, s. 11; 2016, c. 72016, c. 7, s. 183.
7. No grant shall be paid under this Act for investments begun after 5 July 1968, unless they have been approved in accordance with this Act.
1968, c. 65, s. 7.
8. The Government may make any regulations for the carrying out of this Act; such regulations shall be published in the Gazette officielle du Québec.
1968, c. 65, s. 8.
9. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 65 of the statutes of 1968, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed, except sections 9 to 11, effective from the coming into force of chapter I-17 of the Revised Statutes.

I-17 - Loi sur les investissements universitaires

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre I-17
Loi sur les investissements universitaires
INVESTISSEMENTS UNIVERSITAIRES31 décembre 1977
1. Dans la présente loi, les expressions et mots suivants signifient:
a)  «établissement universitaire» :
1°  les établissements d’enseignement de niveau universitaire visés aux paragraphes 1° à 11° de l’article 1 de la Loi sur les établissements d’enseignement de niveau universitaire (chapitre E‐14.1);
2°  (sous-paragraphe abrogé);
3°  (sous-paragraphe abrogé);
4°  toute personne morale dont l’objet est de construire et administrer des résidences d’étudiants de niveau universitaire;
b)  «investissement» : toute dépense en immobilisations ou d’équipement, y compris le coût d’acquisition de mobilier, d’appareillage et d’outillage ou d’un fonds de bibliothèque;
c)  «ministre» : le ministre de l’Enseignement supérieur, de la Recherche, de la Science et de la Technologie.
1968, c. 65, a. 1; 1985, c. 21, a. 96; 1988, c. 41, a. 88; 1989, c. 18, a. 7; 1993, c. 51, a. 72; 1994, c. 16, a. 50; 1999, c. 40, a. 162; 2005, c. 28, a. 195; 2013, c. 28, a. 201.
2. Le ministre est autorisé à préparer chaque année avec tout établissement universitaire du Québec tout plan d’investissements universitaires pour les cinq années suivantes, divisé en tranches annuelles.
1968, c. 65, a. 2; 1993, c. 26, a. 41.
3. Les établissements universitaires doivent, pour bénéficier des dispositions de la présente loi, transmettre chaque année au ministre leurs projets quinquennaux d’investissements avant la date qu’il leur indique.
1968, c. 65, a. 3.
4. Tout plan préparé en vertu de l’article 2 doit indiquer en détail l’objet et le montant des investissements pour la première année et contenir un état des investissements prévus pour les années subséquentes.
Un tel plan est soumis à l’approbation du gouvernement et entre en vigueur à la date de cette approbation.
Le plan est déposé à l’Assemblée nationale dans les 15 jours de son approbation par le gouvernement si elle est en session ou, si elle ne siège pas, dans les 15 jours de l’ouverture de la session suivante ou de la reprise de ses travaux.
1968, c. 65, a. 4; 1968, c. 9, a. 90; 1986, c. 75, a. 1.
5. Le gouvernement est autorisé à s’engager à accorder des subventions payables en vertu de la présente loi pour les fins des investissements approuvés en vertu de l’article 4 et à assumer en même temps l’obligation d’acquitter à même de telles subventions la totalité ou une partie du principal et de l’intérêt d’un emprunt obligataire contracté ou devant être contracté par un établissement créancier d’une telle subvention.
Le présent article ne s’applique pas à l’égard d’un emprunt contracté ou d’une émission d’obligations effectuée à compter du 18 mars 1987.
1968, c. 65, a. 5; 1982, c. 58, a. 41.
6. Le ministre est autorisé à verser aux établissements universitaires les subventions accordées en vertu de la présente loi suivant les modalités convenues avec eux et à payer chaque année la totalité ou une partie du principal et de l’intérêt de tout emprunt contracté par un tel établissement et visé à l’article 5, jusqu’à concurrence du montant autorisé pour l’année en cours.
Le présent article ne s’applique pas à l’égard d’un emprunt contracté ou d’une émission d’obligations effectuée à compter du 18 mars 1987.
1968, c. 65, a. 6; 1982, c. 58, a. 42.
6.1. Le ministre peut, aux termes et conditions qu’il détermine, accorder, au nom du gouvernement, une subvention aux fins d’investissements approuvés en vertu de l’article 4 à tout établissement universitaire pour pourvoir en totalité ou en partie, à même les fonds votés annuellement à cette fin par le Parlement, au paiement en principal et intérêts de tout emprunt contracté ou à contracter par l’établissement universitaire ainsi qu’au paiement des frais et dépenses afférents à cet emprunt.
Il peut confier au ministre des Finances la gestion de tous montants destinés au paiement du principal des obligations émises par cet établissement universitaire pour former un fonds d’amortissement aux fins d’acquitter à même ces montants, aux échéances prévues à l’emprunt, le principal de ces obligations, et à même les produits ou revenus de ce fonds, les emprunts de tout établissement universitaire.
Le deuxième alinéa ne s’applique qu’aux emprunts contractés avant le 1er avril 1991.
1982, c. 58, a. 43; 1985, c. 21, a. 96; 1986, c. 75, a. 2; 1988, c. 41, a. 88; 1990, c. 66, a. 10; 1993, c. 51, a. 72; 1994, c. 16, a. 50; 2005, c. 28, a. 195; 2013, c. 28, a. 201; 2016, c. 72016, c. 7, a. 183.
6.2. Le ministre peut confier au ministre des Finances la gestion des sommes destinées au paiement du principal de l’emprunt qui fait l’objet d’une subvention visée dans l’article 6.1, pour former un fonds d’amortissement aux fins d’acquitter à même ces sommes, aux échéances prévues à l’emprunt, le principal de cet emprunt.
Les revenus de ce fonds d’amortissement sont utilisés aux fins d’acquitter tout emprunt de tout établissement universitaire, ou sont affectés à tout emprunt pour lequel un fonds d’amortissement est constitué, en substitution des sommes qui auraient autrement été déposées conformément au premier alinéa.
Le présent article ne s’applique qu’aux emprunts contractés depuis le 1er avril 1991.
1990, c. 66, a. 11; 2016, c. 72016, c. 7, a. 183.
7. Aucune subvention ne peut être versée en vertu de la présente loi pour des investissements commencés après le 5 juillet 1968, à moins qu’ils n’aient été approuvés conformément aux dispositions de la présente loi.
1968, c. 65, a. 7.
8. Le gouvernement peut adopter tous règlements pour l’application de la présente loi; ces règlements sont publiés à la Gazette officielle du Québec.
1968, c. 65, a. 8; 1968, c. 23, a. 8.
9. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 65 des lois de 1968, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, à l’exception des articles 9 à 11, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre I-17 des Lois refondues.