M-9, r. 4 - Regulation respecting the professional activities that may be engaged in by members of the Ordre professionnel de la physiothérapie du Québec

Table of contents
Full text
chapter M-9, r. 4
Regulation respecting the professional activities that may be engaged in by members of the Ordre professionnel de la physiothérapie du Québec
PHYSIOTHERAPISTS — PROFESSIONAL CODE — PROFESSIONAL ACTIVITIES ENGAGED BY MEMBERS OF THE ORDER
Medical Act
(chapter M-9, s. 3).
M-9
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 94, par. h).
C-26
September 1 2012
DIVISION I
PURPOSE
473-2020O.C. 473-2020, s. 1.
1. The purpose of this Regulation is to determine, among the professional activities that may be engaged in by physicians, those that, pursuant to the terms and conditions set out in the Regulation, may be engaged in by the members of the Ordre professionnel de la physiothérapie du Québec, subject to their permit category, and by other persons.
O.C. 421-2008, s. 1; 473-2020O.C. 473-2020, s. 1.
DIVISION II
TREATMENT
473-2020O.C. 473-2020, s. 1.
1.1. The activities referred to in this Division are engaged in according to a prescription.
473-2020O.C. 473-2020, s. 1.
2. A physiotherapist or physiotherapy technologist may administer topical medications for the purpose of using invasive forms of energy and when providing treatment for wounds.
O.C. 421-2008, s. 2.
3. A physiotherapist may administer topical medications when introducing an instrument or a finger in the human body beyond the labia majora or anal margin.
O.C. 421-2008, s. 3.
4. A physiotherapist may introduce an instrument into an artificial opening in the human body when providing care to a person having a physical function limitation or disability related to the cardiopulmonary system.
O.C. 421-2008, s. 4.
4.1. A physiotherapist may administer and adjust oxygen when proceeding to an assessment or applying treatment to a person needing supplementary oxygen except if that person is receiving invasive ventilation or non-invasive positive pressure ventilation.
845-2017O.C. 845-2017, s. 1.
DIVISION III
PRESCRIPTION FOR X-RAYS
473-2020O.C. 473-2020, s. 2.
4.2. A physiotherapist may prescribe x-rays in accordance with the ACR Appropriateness Criteria® standards of the American College of Radiology when providing care to a person having a physical function limitation or disability related to the musculoskeletal system further to acute trauma.
On receipt of the radiologist’s report, the physiotherapist must provide the follow-up required by the patient’s condition. The physiotherapist must, where applicable, refer the patient to a physician with whom the physiotherapist has established a service corridor.
The reference to the standards prescribed in the first paragraph includes any subsequent amendment made to it.
473-2020O.C. 473-2020, s. 2.
4.3. In order to engage in the activity referred to in section 4.2, a physiotherapist must
(1)  hold a training certificate issued by the Ordre professionnel de la physiothérapie du Québec according to which the physiotherapist has successfully completed 15 hours of training covering
(a)  the professional practice specific to the prescription for x-rays;
(b)  the guidelines on the instructions on the use of x-rays;
(c)  contraindications and safety related to x-rays;
(d)  patient record documentation;
(2)  have established service corridors to ensure the medical follow-up required by the patient’s condition.
473-2020O.C. 473-2020, s. 2.
4.4. A physiotherapist who holds a training certificate issued under section 4.3 must devote at least 3 hours, per reference period of 3 years, to continuing education activities related to the prescription for x-rays.
473-2020O.C. 473-2020, s. 2.
4.5. A physiotherapist engages in the activity referred to in section 4.2 in accordance with the provisions applicable to individual prescriptions provided for in the Règlement sur les normes relatives aux ordonnances faites par un médecin (chapter M-9, r. 25.1).
473-2020O.C. 473-2020, s. 2.
DIVISION IV
OTHER AUTHORIZED PERSONS
473-2020O.C. 473-2020, s. 2.
5. A student duly enrolled in a program of studies leading to a diploma giving access to a permit issued by the Ordre professionnel de la physiothérapie du Québec may, in the presence of a physiotherapist, engage in the activities contemplated in sections 2, 3, 4 and 4.1 or, in the presence of a physiotherapy technologist, engage in the activities contemplated in section 2, insofar as such activities are required for the completion of this program.
O.C. 421-2008, s. 5; 473-2020O.C. 473-2020, s. 3.
6. A candidate for the practice of the profession affected by a decision made in application of paragraph 2 of section 11 of the Regulation respecting the standards for equivalence of diplomas and training for the issue of a physiotherapist’s permit or a physiotherapy technologist's permit (chapter C-26, r. 203) may, in the presence of a physiotherapist, perform the activities contemplated by sections 2, 3, 4 and 4.1 or, in the presence of a physiotherapy technologist, the activities contemplated by section 2, to the extent they are required in order to satisfy the conditions there stipulated.
O.C. 421-2008, s. 6; 473-2020O.C. 473-2020, s. 3.
7. (Omitted).
O.C. 421-2008, s. 7.
TRANSITIONAL
2020
(O.C. 473-2020) SECTION 4. Despite section 4.4, introduced by section 2 of this Regulation, the first reference period ends on 31 March 2022.
REFERENCES
O.C. 421-2008, 2008 G.O. 2, 1323
O.C. 845-2017, 2017 G.O. 2, 2629
473-2020, 2020 G.O. 2, 1337O.C. 473-2020, 2020 G.O. 2, 1337
S.Q. 2020, c. 15, s. 74

M-9, r. 4 - Règlement sur les activités professionnelles pouvant être exercées par les membres de l’Ordre professionnel de la physiothérapie du Québec

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre M-9, r. 4
Règlement sur les activités professionnelles pouvant être exercées par les membres de l’Ordre professionnel de la physiothérapie du Québec
PHYSIOTHÉRAPEUTES — CODE DES PROFESSIONS — ACTIVITÉS PROFESSIONNELLES EXERCÉES PAR LES MEMBRES DE L’ORDRE
Loi médicale
(chapitre M-9, a. 3).
M-9
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 94, par. h).
C-26
1er septembre 2012
SECTION I
OBJET
473-2020D. 473-2020, a. 1.
1. Le présent règlement a pour objet de déterminer, parmi les activités professionnelles que peuvent exercer les médecins, celles qui, suivant les conditions et les modalités qui y sont déterminées, peuvent l’être par les membres de l’Ordre professionnel de la physiothérapie du Québec, sous réserve de leur catégorie de permis, et par d’autres personnes.
D. 421-2008, a. 1; 473-2020D. 473-2020, a. 1.
SECTION II
TRAITEMENTS
473-2020D. 473-2020, a. 1.
1.1. Les activités visées à la présente section sont exercées selon une ordonnance.
473-2020D. 473-2020, a. 1.
2. Le physiothérapeute et le thérapeute en réadaptation physique peuvent administrer des médicaments topiques dans le cadre de l’utilisation des formes d’énergie invasives ainsi que lors des traitements reliés aux plaies.
D. 421-2008, a. 2.
3. Le physiothérapeute peut administrer des médicaments topiques lors de l’introduction d’un instrument ou d’un doigt dans le corps humain, au-delà des grandes lèvres ou de la marge de l’anus.
D. 421-2008, a. 3.
4. Le physiothérapeute peut introduire un instrument dans une ouverture artificielle du corps humain lorsqu’il prodigue des soins à une personne présentant des déficiences et des incapacités de sa fonction physique reliées au système cardiorespiratoire.
D. 421-2008, a. 4.
4.1. Le physiothérapeute peut administrer et ajuster l’oxygène lorsqu’il procède à une évaluation ou réalise une intervention auprès d’une personne ayant besoin d’un apport en oxygène, sauf si cette personne est sous ventilation effractive ou sous ventilation à pression positive non effractive.
845-2017D. 845-2017, a. 1.
SECTION III
PRESCRIPTION DE RADIOGRAPHIES
473-2020D. 473-2020, a. 2.
4.2. Le physiothérapeute peut prescrire une radiographie conformément aux normes ACR Appropriateness Criteria® de l’American College of Radiology lorsqu’il prodigue des soins à une personne qui, à la suite d’un traumatisme aigu, présente une déficience ou une incapacité de sa fonction physique liée au système musculosquelettique.
À la réception du rapport du radiologiste, le physiothérapeute assure le suivi requis par l’état du patient. Il doit, le cas échéant, le diriger vers un médecin avec lequel il a établi un corridor de services.
Le renvoi aux normes prévues au premier alinéa comprend toute modification ultérieure qui leur est apportée.
473-2020D. 473-2020, a. 2.
4.3. En vue de l’exercice de l’activité visée à l’article 4.2, le physiothérapeute doit:
1°  être titulaire d’une attestation de formation délivrée par l’Ordre professionnel de la physiothérapie du Québec suivant laquelle il a réussi une formation d’une durée de 15 heures portant sur:
a)  la pratique professionnelle spécifique à la prescription de radiographies;
b)  les lignes directrices sur les indications pour l’utilisation de radiographies;
c)  les contre-indications et la sécurité relatives aux radiographies;
d)  la documentation du dossier du patient;
2°  avoir établi des corridors de services visant à assurer le suivi médical requis par l’état du patient.
473-2020D. 473-2020, a. 2.
4.4. Le physiothérapeute titulaire d’une attestation de formation délivrée en vertu de l’article 4.3 est tenu de consacrer 3 heures, par période de référence de 3 ans, à des activités de formation continue liées à la prescription de radiographies.
473-2020D. 473-2020, a. 2.
4.5. Le physiothérapeute exerce l’activité visée à l’article 4.2 conformément aux dispositions applicables aux ordonnances individuelles prévues au Règlement sur les normes relatives aux ordonnances faites par un médecin (chapitre M-9, r. 25.1).
473-2020D. 473-2020, a. 2.
SECTION IV
AUTRES PERSONNES AUTORISÉES
473-2020D. 473-2020, a. 2.
5. L’étudiant dûment inscrit à un programme de formation qui mène à un diplôme donnant ouverture à un permis délivré par l’Ordre professionnel de la physiothérapie du Québec peut, en présence d’un physiothérapeute, exercer les activités visées aux articles 2, 3, 4 et 4.1 ou, en présence d’un thérapeute en réadaptation physique, les activités visées à l’article 2, dans la mesure où elles sont requises aux fins de compléter ce programme.
D. 421-2008, a. 5; 473-2020D. 473-2020, a. 3.
6. Le candidat à l’exercice de la profession visé par une décision prise en application du paragraphe 2 de l’article 11 du Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence de diplôme et de formation aux fins de la délivrance d’un permis de physiothérapeute et de thérapeute en réadaptation physique (chapitre C-26, r. 203) peut, en présence d’un physiothérapeute, exercer les activités visées aux articles 2, 3, 4 et 4.1 ou, en présence d’un thérapeute en réadaptation physique, les activités visées à l’article 2, dans la mesure où elles sont requises aux fins de satisfaire aux conditions qui y sont déterminées.
D. 421-2008, a. 6; 473-2020D. 473-2020, a. 3.
7. (Omis).
D. 421-2008, a. 7.
DISPOSITIONS TRANSITOIRES
2020
(D. 473-2020) ARTICLE 4. Malgré l’article 4.4, introduit par l’article 2 du présent règlement, la première période de référence se termine le 31 mars 2022.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 421-2008, 2008 G.O. 2, 2089
D. 845-2017, 2017 G.O. 2, 4004
473-2020, 2020 G.O. 2, 2053D. 473-2020, 2020 G.O. 2, 2053