D-11 - Territorial Division Act

Full text
15. The Government may, by commission, appoint one or more persons, resident in any of the said three territories, as justices of the peace, with jurisdiction over all such territories or over that one or those which it shall be pleased to indicate.
The persons so appointed shall be Canadian citizens or citizens of the Commonwealth of the full age of twenty-one years but need not possess any of the other qualifications required of justices of the peace.
Section 163 of the Courts of Justice Act (chapter T-16) shall apply to such justices of the peace.
R. S. 1964, c. 5, s. 16; S. C. 1974-75-76, c. 108, s. 31; 1992, c. 61, s. 266.