C-47.1 - Municipal Powers Act

Full text
126.5. For the purposes of sections 126.2 to 126.4 and subject to Division IV.3 of the Act respecting the Ministère des Affaires municipales, des Régions et de l’Occupation du territoire (chapter M-22.1), the following are considered regional county municipalities:
(1)  the James Bay Regional Administration; and
(2)  the Cree Nation Government established by the Act respecting the Cree Nation Government (chapter G-1.031), with respect to Category I lands, Category II lands and the persons residing on those lands, as defined in that Act, which exercises those powers taking into account the policy directions, strategies and objectives it determines in consultation with the Cree communities defined in the Act, is not subject to the limit imposed by the third paragraph of section 126.3 and may entrust the exercise of its powers under section 126.2 to a non-profit organization.
The Eeyou Istchee James Bay Regional Government, Ville de Chapais, Ville de Chibougamau, Ville de Lebel-sur-Quévillon and Ville de Matagami must contribute annually to support the exercise of the powers conferred by section 126.2 on the James Bay Regional Administration, by paying an amount determined by regulation of the Administration or in accordance with the rules prescribed by such a regulation.
The James Bay Regional Administration and the Cree Nation Government may collaborate to support entrepreneurs in carrying out projects on Category III lands within the meaning of the Act establishing the Eeyou Istchee James Bay Regional Government (chapter G-1.04), subject to approval of those projects by the Eeyou Istchee James Bay Regional Government.
2015, c. 8, s. 222.