C-67, r. 1 - Regulation respecting eligibility for the benefits of the Agreement concerning James Bay and Northern Québec

Full text
1. In this Regulation, unless the context indicates otherwise, the following expressions mean:
(a)  “local enrollment committee”: a committee whose members are appointed in accordance with section 18;
(b)  “Enrollment Commission” or “Commission”: the Enrollment Commission established by this Regulation;
(c)  “Cree community”: a group consisting of all members of a Cree band, within the meaning of the Indian Act (R.S.C. 1985, c. I-5), in the Territory, as well as all other persons who are entitled to be enrolled as beneficiaries of the Agreement and who are recognized by the band as belonging to such group;
(d)  “Inuit community”: each of the existing Inuit communities at George River, Akulivik, Fort Chimo, Tasiujaq, Aupaluk, Payne Bay, Koartak, Wakeham Bay, Sugluk, Ivujivik, Inukjuak, Fort George, Povungnituk, Great Whale River, as well as any Inuit community recognized by Québec and, subject to section 2.3 of the Agreement, Killinek;
(e)  “Agreement”: the agreement tabled in the National Assembly on 9 June 1976, as Sessional Documents Nos. 101 and 102;
(f)  “Indian Act”: the Indian Act (R.S.C. 1985, c. I-5);
(g)  “minor”: an unmarried male or female person who has not yet attained the age of 18;
(h)  “recognition by a community”: in the case of the Crees, a resolution approved by a majority of the members of the band council, and in the case of the Inuit, a resolution approved by a majority of the board of directors of an Inuit community corporation as defined in Section 7 of the Agreement or, until such corporation is established, the majority of the members of an Inuit community council;
(i)  “adoption”: the adoption of a child who is a minor, effected pursuant to the laws relating to adoption in any of the provinces of Canada or pursuant to the customs of the Native people in the Territory;
(j)  “Secretary General”: the person responsible for the Registre de la population of the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux;
(k)  “Territory”: the Territory contemplated in the Agreement;
(l)  “local officer”: an agent appointed in accordance with subsection 2 of section 31 and subsection 8 of section 32.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-67, r. 1, s. 1.