R-15.1 - Supplemental Pension Plans Act

Full text
86. Where a member dies without having received payment of a retirement or disability pension, a pension that replaces it or a bridging benefit, the member’s spouse or, if there is no spouse, the member’s successors shall be entitled to a lump sum benefit equal to or greater than
(1)  the value of any retirement or disability pension to which the member was entitled prior to death; or
(2)  if the member was not entitled to a retirement or disability pension prior to death, the value of the deferred pension to which the member would have been entitled had the member ceased to be an active member on that day and not died.
The value of the benefit provided for in the first paragraph shall be determined without reference to the assumptions as to survival or mortality for the period prior to the first payment of the pension. Moreover, the following shall be added, where applicable, to the value of the benefit:
(1)  any voluntary additional contribution credited to the account of the member and any member contribution paid in excess of the limit set in section 60, with accrued interest, as well as any amounts previously transferred, even otherwise than under section 98, with accrued interest, or the value of the pension purchased with those amounts without reference to the death of the member; and
(2)  any interest accrued between the date of death and the date of payment of the lump sum benefit, at the rate used for determining the value thereof.
This section does not apply if the surviving spouse of the member is entitled, upon the member’s death, to a pension equal to or greater than the benefit provided for in this section.
1989, c. 38, s. 86; 1997, c. 19, s. 8; 1999, c. 40, s. 254; 2000, c. 41, s. 49; 2008, c. 21, s. 11; 2015, c. 29, s. 17.
86. Where a member dies without having received payment of a retirement or disability pension, a pension that replaces it or a bridging benefit, the member’s spouse or, if there is no spouse, the member’s successors shall be entitled to a lump sum benefit equal to or greater than
(1)  the value of any retirement or disability pension to which the member was entitled prior to death; or
(2)  if the member was not entitled to a retirement or disability pension prior to death, the value of the deferred pension to which the member would have been entitled had the member ceased to be an active member on that day and not died.
The value of the benefit provided for in the first paragraph shall be determined without reference to the assumptions as to survival or mortality for the period prior to the first payment of the pension. Moreover, the following shall be added, where applicable, to the value of the benefit:
(1)  any voluntary additional contribution credited to the account of the member and any member contribution paid in excess of the limit set in section 60 as well as the value of the additional pension under section 60.1, with accrued interest, as well as any amounts previously transferred, even otherwise than under section 98, with accrued interest, or the value of the pension purchased with those amounts without reference to the death of the member; and
(2)  any interest accrued between the date of death and the date of payment of the lump sum benefit, at the rate used for determining the value thereof.
This section does not apply if the surviving spouse of the member is entitled, upon the member’s death, to a pension equal to or greater than the benefit provided for in this section.
1989, c. 38, s. 86; 1997, c. 19, s. 8; 1999, c. 40, s. 254; 2000, c. 41, s. 49; 2008, c. 21, s. 11.
86. Where a member dies without having received any refund or pension benefit under the pension plan other than the benefit provided for in section 69.1, the member’s spouse or, if there is no spouse, the member’s successors shall be entitled to a lump sum benefit equal to or greater than
(1)  the value of any pension to which the member was entitled prior to death; or
(2)  if the member was not entitled to a pension prior to death, the value of the deferred pension to which the member would have been entitled had the member ceased to be an active member on that day and not died.
The value of the benefit provided for in the first paragraph shall be determined without reference to the assumptions as to survival or mortality for the period prior to the first payment of the pension. Moreover, the following shall be added, where applicable, to the value of the benefit:
(1)  any voluntary additional contribution credited to the account of the member and any member contribution paid in excess of the limit set in section 60 as well as the value of the additional pension under section 60.1, with accrued interest, as well as any amounts previously transferred, even otherwise than under section 98, with accrued interest, or the value of the pension purchased with those amounts; and
(2)  any interest accrued between the date of death and the date of payment of the lump sum benefit, at the rate used for determining the value thereof.
This section does not apply if the surviving spouse of the member is entitled, upon the member’s death, to a pension equal to or greater than the benefit provided for in this section.
1989, c. 38, s. 86; 1997, c. 19, s. 8; 1999, c. 40, s. 254; 2000, c. 41, s. 49.
86. Where a member dies before receiving any refund or benefit, other than that provided for in section 69.1, his spouse or, if the member does not have a spouse, his successors shall be entitled to receive a lump sum payment equal to or greater than
(1)  the value of any pension to which the member was entitled before his death;
(2)  if the member was not entitled to a pension before his death, the value of the deferred pension to which he would have been entitled had he ceased to be an active member on the day of his death, for a reason other than his death;
(3)  if the member was not entitled to a pension before his death or if, under the circumstances described in subparagraph 2, he would not have been entitled to a pension, to the member contributions and additional voluntary contributions paid by the member, with accrued interest.
Any voluntary additional contribution credited to the account of the member and any member contribution paid in excess of the limit set by section 60, with accrued interest, shall be added to the values referred to in subparagraphs 1 and 2 of the first paragraph. The values shall, in addition, be established without reference to the assumptions as to survival or mortality for the period prior to the first payment of the pension.
This section does not apply if the member’s surviving spouse is, from the death of the member, entitled to a pension the value of which is equal to or greater than the value of the pension benefit provided in the said section.
1989, c. 38, s. 86; 1997, c. 19, s. 8; 1999, c. 40, s. 254.
86. Where a member dies before receiving any refund or benefit, other than that provided for in section 69.1, his spouse or, if the member does not have a spouse, his assigns shall be entitled to receive a lump sum payment equal to or greater than
(1)  the value of any pension to which the member was entitled before his death;
(2)  if the member was not entitled to a pension before his death, the value of the deferred pension to which he would have been entitled had he ceased to be an active member on the day of his death, for a reason other than his death;
(3)  if the member was not entitled to a pension before his death or if, under the circumstances described in subparagraph 2, he would not have been entitled to a pension, to the member contributions and additional voluntary contributions paid by the member, with accrued interest.
Any voluntary additional contribution credited to the account of the member and any member contribution paid in excess of the limit set by section 60, with accrued interest, shall be added to the values referred to in subparagraphs 1 and 2 of the first paragraph. The values shall, in addition, be established without reference to the assumptions as to survival or mortality for the period prior to the first payment of the pension.
This section does not apply if the member’s surviving spouse is, from the death of the member, entitled to a pension the value of which is equal to or greater than the value of the pension benefit provided in the said section.
1989, c. 38, s. 86; 1997, c. 19, s. 8.
86. Where a member dies before receiving any refund or pension benefit, his spouse or, if the member does not have a spouse, his assigns shall be entitled to receive a lump sum payment equal to or greater than
(1)  the value of any pension to which the member was entitled before his death;
(2)  if the member was not entitled to a pension before his death, the value of the deferred pension to which he would have been entitled had he ceased to be an active member on the day of his death, for a reason other than his death;
(3)  if the member was not entitled to a pension before his death or if, under the circumstances described in subparagraph 2, he would not have been entitled to a pension, to the member contributions and additional voluntary contributions paid by the member, with accrued interest.
Any voluntary additional contribution credited to the account of the member and any member contribution paid in excess of the limit set by section 60, with accrued interest, shall be added to the values referred to in subparagraphs 1 and 2 of the first paragraph. The values shall, in addition, be established without reference to the assumptions as to survival or mortality for the period prior to the first payment of the pension.
This section does not apply if the member’s surviving spouse is, from the death of the member, entitled to a pension the value of which is equal to or greater than the value of the pension benefit provided in the said section.
1989, c. 38, s. 86.

R-15.1 - Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite

Texte complet
86. Lorsqu’un participant décède sans qu’une rente de retraite ou d’invalidité, une rente la remplaçant ou une prestation de raccordement ne lui ait été servie, son conjoint ou, à défaut, ses ayants cause ont droit à une prestation, payable en un seul versement, dont la valeur doit être au moins égale:
1°  à la valeur de toute rente de retraite ou d’invalidité à laquelle le participant avait droit avant son décès;
2°  si le participant n’avait pas droit à une rente de retraite ou d’invalidité avant son décès, à la valeur de la rente différée à laquelle il aurait eu droit s’il avait cessé d’être actif le jour du décès pour une raison autre que ce décès.
La valeur de la prestation prévue au premier alinéa est établie sans tenir compte des hypothèses de survie ou de mortalité pour la période qui précède le début du service de la rente. De plus, doivent être ajoutés, le cas échéant, à la valeur de cette prestation:
1°  les cotisations volontaires portées au compte du participant et les cotisations salariales qui excèdent le plafond fixé par l’article 60, avec les intérêts accumulés, ainsi que les sommes qui ont déjà fait l’objet d’un transfert, même non visé à l’article 98, avec les intérêts accumulés, ou le montant que représente la valeur de la rente constituée avec ces sommes sans tenir compte du décès du participant ;
2°  des intérêts calculés, entre la date du décès et la date du versement de la prestation, au taux utilisé pour la détermination de cette valeur.
Le présent article ne s’applique pas si le conjoint survivant du participant a droit, à compter du décès, à une rente dont la valeur est au moins égale à celle de la prestation prévue à cet article.
1989, c. 38, a. 86; 1997, c. 19, a. 8; 1999, c. 40, a. 254; 2000, c. 41, a. 49; 2008, c. 21, a. 11; 2015, c. 29, a. 17.
86. Lorsqu’un participant décède sans qu’une rente de retraite ou d’invalidité, une rente la remplaçant ou une prestation de raccordement ne lui ait été servie, son conjoint ou, à défaut, ses ayants cause ont droit à une prestation, payable en un seul versement, dont la valeur doit être au moins égale:
1°  à la valeur de toute rente de retraite ou d’invalidité à laquelle le participant avait droit avant son décès;
2°  si le participant n’avait pas droit à une rente de retraite ou d’invalidité avant son décès, à la valeur de la rente différée à laquelle il aurait eu droit s’il avait cessé d’être actif le jour du décès pour une raison autre que ce décès.
La valeur de la prestation prévue au premier alinéa est établie sans tenir compte des hypothèses de survie ou de mortalité pour la période qui précède le début du service de la rente. De plus, doivent être ajoutés, le cas échéant, à la valeur de cette prestation:
1°  les cotisations volontaires portées au compte du participant et les cotisations salariales qui excèdent le plafond fixé par l’article 60 de même que la valeur de la prestation additionnelle visée à l’article 60.1, avec les intérêts accumulés, ainsi que les sommes qui ont déjà fait l’objet d’un transfert, même non visé à l’article 98, avec les intérêts accumulés, ou le montant que représente la valeur de la rente constituée avec ces sommes sans tenir compte du décès du participant ;
2°  des intérêts calculés, entre la date du décès et la date du versement de la prestation, au taux utilisé pour la détermination de cette valeur.
Le présent article ne s’applique pas si le conjoint survivant du participant a droit, à compter du décès, à une rente dont la valeur est au moins égale à celle de la prestation prévue à cet article.
1989, c. 38, a. 86; 1997, c. 19, a. 8; 1999, c. 40, a. 254; 2000, c. 41, a. 49; 2008, c. 21, a. 11.
86. Lorsqu’un participant décède sans avoir reçu de remboursement ou de prestation au titre du régime de retraite autre que celle prévue à l’article 69.1, son conjoint ou, à défaut, ses ayants cause ont droit à une prestation, payable en un seul versement, dont la valeur doit être au moins égale:
1°  à la valeur de toute rente à laquelle le participant avait droit avant son décès;
2°  si le participant n’avait pas droit à une rente avant son décès, à la valeur de la rente différée à laquelle il aurait eu droit s’il avait cessé d’être actif le jour du décès pour une raison autre que ce décès.
La valeur de la prestation prévue au premier alinéa est établie sans tenir compte des hypothèses de survie ou de mortalité pour la période qui précède le début du service de la rente. De plus, doivent être ajoutés, le cas échéant, à la valeur de cette prestation:
1°  les cotisations volontaires portées au compte du participant et les cotisations salariales qui excèdent le plafond fixé par l’article 60 de même que la valeur de la prestation additionnelle visée à l’article 60.1, avec les intérêts accumulés, ainsi que les sommes qui ont déjà fait l’objet d’un transfert, même non visé à l’article 98, avec les intérêts accumulés, ou le montant que représente la valeur de la rente constituée avec ces sommes;
2°  des intérêts calculés, entre la date du décès et la date du versement de la prestation, au taux utilisé pour la détermination de cette valeur.
Le présent article ne s’applique pas si le conjoint survivant du participant a droit, à compter du décès, à une rente dont la valeur est au moins égale à celle de la prestation prévue à cet article.
1989, c. 38, a. 86; 1997, c. 19, a. 8; 1999, c. 40, a. 254; 2000, c. 41, a. 49.
86. Lorsqu’un participant décède sans avoir reçu aucun remboursement ni prestation autre que celle prévue à l’article 69.1, son conjoint ou, à défaut, ses ayants cause ont droit à une prestation, payable en un seul versement, dont la valeur doit être au moins égale:
1°  à la valeur de toute rente à laquelle le participant avait droit avant son décès;
2°  si le participant n’avait pas droit à une rente avant son décès, à la valeur de la rente différée à laquelle il aurait eu droit s’il avait cessé d’être actif le jour du décès pour une raison autre que ce décès;
3°  si le participant n’avait pas droit à une rente avant son décès ou si, dans l’hypothèse prévue au paragraphe 2°, il n’aurait pas eu droit à une rente, aux cotisations salariales et volontaires versées par ce dernier, avec les intérêts accumulés.
Doivent être ajoutées, le cas échéant, aux valeurs visées aux paragraphes 1° et 2° du premier alinéa les cotisations volontaires portées au compte du participant et les cotisations salariales qui excèdent le plafond fixé par l’article 60, avec les intérêts accumulés. Ces valeurs sont en outre établies sans tenir compte des hypothèses de survie ou de mortalité pour la période qui précède le début du service de la rente.
Le présent article ne s’applique pas si le conjoint survivant du participant a droit, à compter du décès, à une rente dont la valeur est au moins égale à celle de la prestation prévue audit article.
1989, c. 38, a. 86; 1997, c. 19, a. 8; 1999, c. 40, a. 254.
86. Lorsqu’un participant décède sans avoir reçu aucun remboursement ni prestation autre que celle prévue à l’article 69.1, son conjoint ou, à défaut, ses ayants droit ont droit à une prestation, payable en un seul versement, dont la valeur doit être au moins égale:
1°  à la valeur de toute rente à laquelle le participant avait droit avant son décès;
2°  si le participant n’avait pas droit à une rente avant son décès, à la valeur de la rente différée à laquelle il aurait eu droit s’il avait cessé d’être actif le jour du décès pour une raison autre que ce décès;
3°  si le participant n’avait pas droit à une rente avant son décès ou si, dans l’hypothèse prévue au paragraphe 2°, il n’aurait pas eu droit à une rente, aux cotisations salariales et volontaires versées par ce dernier, avec les intérêts accumulés.
Doivent être ajoutées, le cas échéant, aux valeurs visées aux paragraphes 1° et 2° du premier alinéa les cotisations volontaires portées au compte du participant et les cotisations salariales qui excèdent le plafond fixé par l’article 60, avec les intérêts accumulés. Ces valeurs sont en outre établies sans tenir compte des hypothèses de survie ou de mortalité pour la période qui précède le début du service de la rente.
Le présent article ne s’applique pas si le conjoint survivant du participant a droit, à compter du décès, à une rente dont la valeur est au moins égale à celle de la prestation prévue audit article.
1989, c. 38, a. 86; 1997, c. 19, a. 8.
86. Lorsqu’un participant décède sans avoir reçu aucun remboursement ni prestation, son conjoint ou, à défaut, ses ayants droit ont droit à une prestation, payable en un seul versement, dont la valeur doit être au moins égale:
1°  à la valeur de toute rente à laquelle le participant avait droit avant son décès;
2°  si le participant n’avait pas droit à une rente avant son décès, à la valeur de la rente différée à laquelle il aurait eu droit s’il avait cessé d’être actif le jour du décès pour une raison autre que ce décès;
3°  si le participant n’avait pas droit à une rente avant son décès ou si, dans l’hypothèse prévue au paragraphe 2°, il n’aurait pas eu droit à une rente, aux cotisations salariales et volontaires versées par ce dernier, avec les intérêts accumulés.
Doivent être ajoutées, le cas échéant, aux valeurs visées aux paragraphes 1° et 2° du premier alinéa les cotisations volontaires portées au compte du participant et les cotisations salariales qui excèdent le plafond fixé par l’article 60, avec les intérêts accumulés. Ces valeurs sont en outre établies sans tenir compte des hypothèses de survie ou de mortalité pour la période qui précède le début du service de la rente.
Le présent article ne s’applique pas si le conjoint survivant du participant a droit, à compter du décès, à une rente dont la valeur est au moins égale à celle de la prestation prévue audit article.
1989, c. 38, a. 86.