R-15.1 - Supplemental Pension Plans Act

Full text
204. Except if termination is precluded by agreement or the pension plan is a plan rendered compulsory by an order or decree which does not authorize termination, an employer — or, in the case of a multi-employer pension plan, even not considered as such under section 11, the employers jointly, — may terminate the plan by means of a written notice of termination to the members and beneficiaries affected, to every certified association representing members, to the pension committee and, where applicable, to the insurer.
The notice shall indicate the date of termination. That date may in no case be subsequent to the day preceding the day on which the benefits of the last member or beneficiary under the plan have been paid in full. Moreover, unless every member whose active membership in the plan is to cease upon the termination of the plan consents thereto in writing, the date of termination may not precede the date on which member contributions cease to be collected or the date occurring 30 days before the date on which the notice of termination is given to the active members.
1989, c. 38, s. 204; 1992, c. 60, s. 20; 2000, c. 41, s. 114; 2018, c. 22018, c. 2, s. 120.
204. Except if termination is precluded by agreement or the pension plan is a plan rendered compulsory by an order or decree which does not authorize termination, an employer — or, in the case of a multi-employer pension plan, even not considered as such under section 11, the employers jointly, — may terminate the plan by means of a written notice of termination to the members and beneficiaries affected, to every certified association representing members, to the pension committee and, where applicable, to the insurer.
The notice shall indicate the date of termination and the names of the members and beneficiaries affected. The date of termination may in no case be subsequent to the day preceding the day on which the benefits of the last member or beneficiary under the plan have been paid in full. Moreover, unless every member whose active membership in the plan is to cease upon or after the termination of the plan consents thereto in writing, the date of termination may not precede the date on which member contributions cease to be collected or the date occurring 30 days before the date on which the notice of termination is given to the active members.
1989, c. 38, s. 204; 1992, c. 60, s. 20; 2000, c. 41, s. 114.
204. In the event of total termination of a pension plan, or partial termination affecting all members whose rights are governed by this Act, or if the Régie so orders, the pension committee shall also, within 30 days after transmission of the statements referred to in section 203, cause to be published in a newspaper circulated in the region in Québec where the greatest number of active members reside, a notice inviting any person who has not received the statement provided for in section 203 and who believes that he is entitled to benefits under the plan or under this Act, to assert his rights with the committee or the Régie within 30 days after the publication.
In the case of a multi-employer pension plan, even a plan not considered as such pursuant to section 11, the notice shall be published for each employer that is a party to the plan in the region in Québec where the greatest number of members employed by that employer reside.
1989, c. 38, s. 204; 1992, c. 60, s. 20.
204. In the event of total termination of a pension plan, or partial termination affecting all members whose rights are governed by this Act, or if the Régie so orders, the pension committee shall also, within 30 days after receiving the notice of conformity, cause to be published in a newspaper circulated in the region in Québec where the greatest number of active members reside, a notice inviting any person who has not received the statement provided for in section 203 and who believes that he is entitled to benefits under the plan or under this Act, to assert his rights with the committee or the Régie within 30 days after the publication.
In the case of a multi-employer pension plan, even a plan not considered as such pursuant to section 11, the notice shall be published for each employer that is a party to the plan in the region in Québec where the greatest number of members employed by that employer reside.
Subject to the provisions of section 238, failure by any person to assert any right he claims under the plan within the prescribed time shall deprive that person of the right to claim payment of the corresponding benefits out of the assets of the plan unless that person shows, before the payment of the benefits of the affected members or beneficiaries begins, that it was impossible for him to act sooner or that he did not receive the aforementioned statement for a reason outside his control.
1989, c. 38, s. 204.

R-15.1 - Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite

Texte complet
204. À moins d’en être empêché par convention, ou à moins qu’il ne s’agisse d’un régime de retraite qui, rendu obligatoire par décret, ne comporte pas de disposition l’y autorisant, l’employeur — ou, dans le cas d’un régime interentreprises, même non considéré comme tel en vertu de l’article 11, l’ensemble des employeurs qui y sont parties — peut terminer le régime auquel il est partie au moyen d’un avis écrit de terminaison transmis aux participants et bénéficiaires visés, à chaque association accréditée qui représente des participants, au comité de retraite et, le cas échéant, à l’assureur.
Cet avis indique la date de la terminaison. Cette date ne peut en aucun cas être postérieure au jour qui précède celui où les droits du dernier participant ou bénéficiaire que compte le régime sont acquittés. De plus, à moins que chacun des participants dont la participation active prend fin à l’occasion de la terminaison n’y consente par écrit, cette date ne peut être antérieure ni à celle de la cessation de la perception des cotisations salariales ni à celle qui précède de 30 jours la transmission de l’avis de terminaison aux participants actifs.
1989, c. 38, a. 204; 1992, c. 60, a. 20; 2000, c. 41, a. 114; 2018, c. 22018, c. 2, a. 120.
204. À moins d’en être empêché par convention, ou à moins qu’il ne s’agisse d’un régime de retraite qui, rendu obligatoire par décret, ne comporte pas de disposition l’y autorisant, l’employeur — ou, dans le cas d’un régime interentreprises, même non considéré comme tel en vertu de l’article 11, l’ensemble des employeurs qui y sont parties — peut terminer le régime auquel il est partie au moyen d’un avis écrit de terminaison transmis aux participants et bénéficiaires visés, à chaque association accréditée qui représente des participants, au comité de retraite et, le cas échéant, à l’assureur.
Cet avis indique la date de la terminaison ainsi que les participants et bénéficiaires visés. La date de la terminaison ne peut en aucun cas être postérieure au jour qui précède celui où les droits du dernier participant ou bénéficiaire que compte le régime sont acquittés. De plus, à moins que chacun des participants dont la participation active prend fin à l’occasion de la terminaison ou par la suite n’y consente par écrit, cette date ne peut être antérieure ni à celle de la cessation de la perception des cotisations salariales ni à celle qui précède de 30 jours la transmission de l’avis de terminaison aux participants actifs.
1989, c. 38, a. 204; 1992, c. 60, a. 20; 2000, c. 41, a. 114.
204. S’il y a terminaison totale du régime de retraite ou terminaison partielle visant tous les participants dont les droits sont régis par la présente loi, ou si la Régie l’ordonne, le comité de retraite doit en outre, dans les 30 jours de la transmission des relevés prévus à l’article 203, faire publier dans un journal distribué dans la région où résident, au Québec, le plus grand nombre de participants actifs, un avis invitant toute personne qui, sans avoir reçu le relevé prévu à l’article 203, croit avoir des droits au titre de ce régime ou de la présente loi à les faire valoir auprès du comité ou de la Régie dans les 30 jours de cette publication.
Dans le cas d’un régime interentreprises, même non considéré comme tel par application de l’article 11, la publication doit être faite pour chaque employeur partie au régime dans la région où résident, au Québec, le plus grand nombre de participants à son service.
1989, c. 38, a. 204; 1992, c. 60, a. 20.
204. S’il y a terminaison totale du régime de retraite ou terminaison partielle visant tous les participants dont les droits sont régis par la présente loi, ou si la Régie l’ordonne, le comité de retraite doit en outre, dans les 30 jours de la réception de l’avis de conformité, faire publier dans un journal distribué dans la région où résident, au Québec, le plus grand nombre de participants actifs, un avis invitant toute personne qui, sans avoir reçu le relevé prévu à l’article 203, croit avoir des droits au titre de ce régime ou de la présente loi à les faire valoir auprès du comité ou de la Régie dans les 30 jours de cette publication.
Dans le cas d’un régime interentreprises, même non considéré comme tel par application de l’article 11, la publication doit être faite pour chaque employeur partie au régime dans la région où résident, au Québec, le plus grand nombre de participants à son service.
Sous réserve des dispositions de l’article 238, le défaut de faire valoir des droits dans le délai prescrit prive leur titulaire du droit d’en réclamer l’acquittement sur l’actif du régime, à moins que ce dernier ne démontre, avant le début de l’acquittement des droits des participants ou bénéficiaires visés, qu’il a été dans l’impossibilité d’agir plus tôt ou qu’il n’a pas reçu le relevé susvisé pour une cause étrangère à son fait.
1989, c. 38, a. 204.