E-2.2 - Act respecting elections and referendums in municipalities

Full text
453. The following are not election expenses:
(1)  the cost of publishing articles, editorials, news, reports or letters to the editor in a newspaper, periodical or other publication, provided that they are published in the same manner and under the same rules as outside the election period, without payment, reward or promise of payment or reward, that the newspaper, periodical or other publication is not established for the purposes or in view of the election and that the circulation and frequency of publication are as what obtains outside the election period;
(2)  the cost of broadcasting by a radio or television station of a public affairs, news or public opinion program, provided that the program is broadcast in the same manner and under the same rules as outside the election period, without payment, reward or promise of payment or reward;
(3)  the necessary costs of holding a convention for the selection of a candidate, including the cost of renting a hall, of convening the delegates and of the publicity made at the convention, but which cannot include the cost of any other form of publicity nor exceed $2,250 in the case of a candidate for the office of mayor or $750 in the case of a candidate for the office of councillor;
(4)  the transportation costs of any person other than a candidate, paid out of his own money, if the costs are not reimbursed to him;
(4.1)  the cost of the food and beverages served at a political activity where the cost is included in the entrance fee paid by participants ;
(5)  the reasonable costs incurred for the publication of explanatory commentaries on this Act, provided the commentaries are strictly objective and contain no publicity of such a nature as to favour or oppose a candidate or a party;
(6)  the reasonable ordinary costs incurred for the day-to-day operations of the permanent office of the party at the address entered, not less than three months before the publication of the notice of election, in the register of the chief electoral officer;
(7)  interest accrued from the beginning of the election period to the day occurring 90 days after polling day, on any loan lawfully granted to an official representative for election expenses, unless the official agent has paid the interest and declared it as an election expense in his return of election expenses;
(8)  the expenses incurred for the holding of meetings, the total of which does not exceed $200 for the entire election period, including the renting of halls and the convening of participants, provided the meetings are not directly or indirectly organized on behalf of a candidate or party;
(9)  the publicity expenses, the total of which does not exceed $300 for the entire election period, incurred by a private intervenor authorized in accordance with Division VIII.1, without directly promoting or opposing a candidate or party, to publicize or obtain support for the intervenor’s views on a matter of public interest or to advocate abstention or the spoiling of ballots.
1987, c. 57, s. 453; 1998, c. 52, s. 97; 1999, c. 25, s. 55; 2002, c. 37, s. 189.
453. The following are not election expenses:
(1)  the cost of publishing articles, editorials, news, reports or letters to the editor in a newspaper, periodical or other publication, provided that they are published in the same manner and under the same rules as outside the election period, without payment, reward or promise of payment or reward, that the newspaper, periodical or other publication is not established for the purposes or in view of the election and that the circulation and frequency of publication are as what obtains outside the election period;
(2)  the cost of broadcasting by a radio or television station of a program of news or commentary, provided that the program is broadcast in the same manner and under the same rules as outside the election period, without payment, reward or promise of payment or reward;
(3)  the necessary costs of holding a convention for the selection of a candidate, including the cost of renting a hall, of convening the delegates and of the publicity made at the convention, but which cannot include the cost of any other form of publicity nor exceed $2 250 in the case of a candidate for the office of mayor or $750 in the case of a candidate for the office of councillor;
(4)  the transportation costs of any person other than a candidate, paid out of his own money, if the costs are not reimbursed to him;
(4.1)  the cost of the food and beverages served at a political activity where the cost is included in the entrance fee paid by participants ;
(5)  the reasonable costs incurred for the publication of explanatory commentaries on this Act, provided the commentaries are strictly objective and contain no publicity of such a nature as to favour or oppose a candidate or a party;
(6)  the reasonable ordinary costs incurred for the day-to-day operations of the permanent office of the party at the address entered, not less than three months before the publication of the notice of election, in the register of the chief electoral officer;
(7)  interest accrued from the beginning of the election period to the day occurring 90 days after polling day, on any loan lawfully granted to an official representative for election expenses, unless the official agent has paid the interest and declared it as an election expense in his return of election expenses;
(8)  the expenses incurred for the holding of meetings, the total of which does not exceed $200 for the entire election period, including the renting of halls and the convening of participants, provided the meetings are not directly or indirectly organized on behalf of a candidate or party;
(9)  the publicity expenses, the total of which does not exceed $300 for the entire election period, incurred by a private intervenor authorized in accordance with Division VIII.1, without directly promoting or opposing a candidate or party, to publicize or obtain support for the intervenor’s views on a matter of public interest or to advocate abstention or the spoiling of ballots.
1987, c. 57, s. 453; 1998, c. 52, s. 97; 1999, c. 25, s. 55.
453. The following are not election expenses:
(1)  the cost of publishing articles, editorials, news, reports or letters to the editor in a newspaper, periodical or other publication, provided that they are published in the same manner and under the same rules as outside the election period, without payment, reward or promise of payment or reward, that the newspaper, periodical or other publication is not established for the purposes or in view of the election and that the circulation and frequency of publication are as what obtains outside the election period;
(2)  the cost of broadcasting by a radio or television station of a program of news or commentary, provided that the program is broadcast in the same manner and under the same rules as outside the election period, without payment, reward or promise of payment or reward;
(3)  the necessary costs of holding a convention for the selection of a candidate, including the cost of renting a hall, of convening the delegates and of the publicity made at the convention, but which cannot include the cost of any other form of publicity nor exceed $2 250 in the case of a candidate for the office of mayor or $750 in the case of a candidate for the office of councillor;
(4)  the transportation costs of any person other than a candidate, paid out of his own money, if the costs are not reimbursed to him;
(5)  the reasonable costs incurred for the publication of explanatory commentaries on this Act, provided the commentaries are strictly objective and contain no publicity of such a nature as to favour or oppose a candidate or a party;
(6)  the reasonable ordinary costs incurred for the day-to-day operations of the permanent office of the party at the address entered, not less than three months before the publication of the notice of election, in the register of the chief electoral officer;
(7)  interest accrued from the beginning of the election period to the day occurring 90 days after polling day, on any loan lawfully granted to an official representative for election expenses, unless the official agent has paid the interest and declared it as an election expense in his return of election expenses;
(8)  the expenses incurred for the holding of meetings, the total of which does not exceed $200 for the entire election period, including the renting of halls and the convening of participants, provided the meetings are not directly or indirectly organized on behalf of a candidate or party;
(9)  the publicity expenses, the total of which does not exceed $300 for the entire election period, incurred by a private intervenor authorized in accordance with Division VIII.1, without directly promoting or opposing a candidate or party, to publicize or obtain support for the intervenor’s views on a matter of public interest or to advocate abstention or the spoiling of ballots.
1987, c. 57, s. 453; 1998, c. 52, s. 97.
453. The following are not election expenses:
(1)  the cost of publishing articles, editorials, news, reports or letters to the editor in a newspaper, periodical or other publication, provided that they are published in the same manner and under the same rules as outside the election period, without payment, reward or promise of payment or reward, that the newspaper, periodical or other publication is not established for the purposes or in view of the election and that the circulation and frequency of publication are as what obtains outside the election period;
(2)  the cost of broadcasting by a radio or television station of a program of news or commentary, provided that the program is broadcast in the same manner and under the same rules as outside the election period, without payment, reward or promise of payment or reward;
(3)  the necessary costs of holding a convention for the selection of a candidate, including the cost of renting a hall, of convening the delegates and of the publicity made at the convention, but which cannot include the cost of any other form of publicity nor exceed $2 250 in the case of a candidate for the office of mayor or $750 in the case of a candidate for the office of councillor;
(4)  the transportation costs of any person other than a candidate, paid out of his own money, if the costs are not reimbursed to him;
(5)  the reasonable costs incurred for the publication of explanatory commentaries on this Act, provided the commentaries are strictly objective and contain no publicity of such a nature as to favour or oppose a candidate or a party;
(6)  the reasonable ordinary costs incurred for the day-to-day operations of the permanent office of the party at the address entered, not less than three months before the publication of the notice of election, in the register of the chief electoral officer;
(7)  interest accrued from the beginning of the election period to the day occurring 90 days after polling day, on any loan lawfully granted to an official representative for election expenses, unless the official agent has paid the interest and declared it as an election expense in his return of election expenses.
1987, c. 57, s. 453.

E-2.2 - Loi sur les élections et les référendums dans les municipalités

Texte complet
453. Ne sont pas des dépenses électorales:
1°  les frais de publication, dans un journal, un périodique ou un autre imprimé, d’articles, d’éditoriaux, de nouvelles, de chroniques ou de lettres de lecteurs, à la condition que cette publication soit faite de la même façon et d’après les mêmes règles qu’en dehors de la période électorale, sans paiement, récompense ou promesse de paiement ou de récompense, qu’il ne s’agisse pas d’un journal, d’un périodique ou d’un imprimé institué aux fins ou en vue de l’élection et que la distribution et la fréquence de publication soient établies de la même façon qu’en dehors de la période électorale;
2°  les frais de diffusion par une station de radio ou de télévision d’une émission d’affaires publiques, de nouvelles ou de commentaires, à la condition que cette émission soit faite de la même façon et d’après les mêmes règles qu’en dehors de la période électorale, sans paiement, récompense ou promesse de paiement ou de récompense;
3°  les frais indispensables pour tenir une convention pour le choix d’un candidat, qui comprennent le coût de la location d’une salle, de la convocation des délégués et de la publicité sur les lieux de la convention mais qui ne peuvent inclure le coût d’une autre forme de publicité ni excéder 2 250 $ dans le cas d’un candidat au poste de maire ou 750 $ dans le cas d’un candidat au poste de conseiller;
4°  les frais de transport d’une autre personne qu’un candidat qui sont payés sur ses propres deniers et qui ne lui sont pas remboursés;
4.1°  le coût des aliments et des boissons servis à l’occasion d’une activité à caractère politique lorsque ce coût est inclus dans le prix d’entrée déboursé par le participant ;
5°  les frais raisonnables engagés pour la publication de commentaires explicatifs de la présente loi, pourvu que ces commentaires soient strictement objectifs et ne contiennent aucune publicité de nature à favoriser ou à défavoriser un candidat ou un parti;
6°  les frais raisonnables ordinairement engagés pour l’administration courante du bureau permanent du parti dont l’adresse est inscrite au registre du directeur général des élections depuis au moins trois mois avant la publication de l’avis d’élection;
7°  les intérêts courus entre le début de la période électorale et le quatre-vingt-dixième jour qui suit celui fixé pour le scrutin sur tout prêt légalement consenti à un représentant officiel pour des dépenses électorales, à moins que l’agent officiel n’ait payé ces intérêts et ne les ait déclarés comme dépenses électorales dans son rapport de dépenses électorales;
8°  les dépenses, dont le total pour toute la période électorale n’excède pas 200 $, faites ou engagées pour la tenue de réunions, y compris la location de la salle et la convocation des participants, pourvu que ces réunions ne soient pas organisées directement ou indirectement pour le compte d’un candidat ou d’un parti;
9°  les dépenses de publicité, dont le total pour la période électorale n’excède pas 300 $, faites ou engagées par un intervenant particulier autorisé conformément à la section VIII.1 du présent chapitre pour, sans favoriser ni défavoriser directement un candidat ou un parti, soit faire connaître son opinion sur un sujet d’intérêt public ou obtenir un appui à une telle opinion, soit prôner l’abstention ou l’annulation du vote.
1987, c. 57, a. 453; 1998, c. 52, a. 97; 1999, c. 25, a. 55; 2002, c. 37, a. 189.
453. Ne sont pas des dépenses électorales:
1°  les frais de publication, dans un journal, un périodique ou un autre imprimé, d’articles, d’éditoriaux, de nouvelles, de chroniques ou de lettres de lecteurs, à la condition que cette publication soit faite de la même façon et d’après les mêmes règles qu’en dehors de la période électorale, sans paiement, récompense ou promesse de paiement ou de récompense, qu’il ne s’agisse pas d’un journal, d’un périodique ou d’un imprimé institué aux fins ou en vue de l’élection et que la distribution et la fréquence de publication soient établies de la même façon qu’en dehors de la période électorale;
2°  les frais de diffusion par une station de radio ou de télévision d’une émission de nouvelles ou de commentaires, à la condition que cette émission soit faite de la même façon et d’après les mêmes règles qu’en dehors de la période électorale, sans paiement, récompense ou promesse de paiement ou de récompense;
3°  les frais indispensables pour tenir une convention pour le choix d’un candidat, qui comprennent le coût de la location d’une salle, de la convocation des délégués et de la publicité sur les lieux de la convention mais qui ne peuvent inclure le coût d’une autre forme de publicité ni excéder 2 250 $ dans le cas d’un candidat au poste de maire ou 750 $ dans le cas d’un candidat au poste de conseiller;
4°  les frais de transport d’une autre personne qu’un candidat qui sont payés sur ses propres deniers et qui ne lui sont pas remboursés;
4.1°  le coût des aliments et des boissons servis à l’occasion d’une activité à caractère politique lorsque ce coût est inclus dans le prix d’entrée déboursé par le participant ;
5°  les frais raisonnables engagés pour la publication de commentaires explicatifs de la présente loi, pourvu que ces commentaires soient strictement objectifs et ne contiennent aucune publicité de nature à favoriser ou à défavoriser un candidat ou un parti;
6°  les frais raisonnables ordinairement engagés pour l’administration courante du bureau permanent du parti dont l’adresse est inscrite au registre du directeur général des élections depuis au moins trois mois avant la publication de l’avis d’élection;
7°  les intérêts courus entre le début de la période électorale et le quatre-vingt-dixième jour qui suit celui fixé pour le scrutin sur tout prêt légalement consenti à un représentant officiel pour des dépenses électorales, à moins que l’agent officiel n’ait payé ces intérêts et ne les ait déclarés comme dépenses électorales dans son rapport de dépenses électorales;
8°  les dépenses, dont le total pour toute la période électorale n’excède pas 200 $, faites ou engagées pour la tenue de réunions, y compris la location de la salle et la convocation des participants, pourvu que ces réunions ne soient pas organisées directement ou indirectement pour le compte d’un candidat ou d’un parti;
9°  les dépenses de publicité, dont le total pour la période électorale n’excède pas 300 $, faites ou engagées par un intervenant particulier autorisé conformément à la section VIII.1 du présent chapitre pour, sans favoriser ni défavoriser directement un candidat ou un parti, soit faire connaître son opinion sur un sujet d’intérêt public ou obtenir un appui à une telle opinion, soit prôner l’abstention ou l’annulation du vote.
1987, c. 57, a. 453; 1998, c. 52, a. 97; 1999, c. 25, a. 55.
453. Ne sont pas des dépenses électorales:
1°  les frais de publication, dans un journal, un périodique ou un autre imprimé, d’articles, d’éditoriaux, de nouvelles, de chroniques ou de lettres de lecteurs, à la condition que cette publication soit faite de la même façon et d’après les mêmes règles qu’en dehors de la période électorale, sans paiement, récompense ou promesse de paiement ou de récompense, qu’il ne s’agisse pas d’un journal, d’un périodique ou d’un imprimé institué aux fins ou en vue de l’élection et que la distribution et la fréquence de publication soient établies de la même façon qu’en dehors de la période électorale;
2°  les frais de diffusion par une station de radio ou de télévision d’une émission de nouvelles ou de commentaires, à la condition que cette émission soit faite de la même façon et d’après les mêmes règles qu’en dehors de la période électorale, sans paiement, récompense ou promesse de paiement ou de récompense;
3°  les frais indispensables pour tenir une convention pour le choix d’un candidat, qui comprennent le coût de la location d’une salle, de la convocation des délégués et de la publicité sur les lieux de la convention mais qui ne peuvent inclure le coût d’une autre forme de publicité ni excéder 2 250 $ dans le cas d’un candidat au poste de maire ou 750 $ dans le cas d’un candidat au poste de conseiller;
4°  les frais de transport d’une autre personne qu’un candidat qui sont payés sur ses propres deniers et qui ne lui sont pas remboursés;
5°  les frais raisonnables engagés pour la publication de commentaires explicatifs de la présente loi, pourvu que ces commentaires soient strictement objectifs et ne contiennent aucune publicité de nature à favoriser ou à défavoriser un candidat ou un parti;
6°  les frais raisonnables ordinairement engagés pour l’administration courante du bureau permanent du parti dont l’adresse est inscrite au registre du directeur général des élections depuis au moins trois mois avant la publication de l’avis d’élection;
7°  les intérêts courus entre le début de la période électorale et le quatre-vingt-dixième jour qui suit celui fixé pour le scrutin sur tout prêt légalement consenti à un représentant officiel pour des dépenses électorales, à moins que l’agent officiel n’ait payé ces intérêts et ne les ait déclarés comme dépenses électorales dans son rapport de dépenses électorales;
8°  les dépenses, dont le total pour toute la période électorale n’excède pas 200 $, faites ou engagées pour la tenue de réunions, y compris la location de la salle et la convocation des participants, pourvu que ces réunions ne soient pas organisées directement ou indirectement pour le compte d’un candidat ou d’un parti;
9°  les dépenses de publicité, dont le total pour la période électorale n’excède pas 300 $, faites ou engagées par un intervenant particulier autorisé conformément à la section VIII.1 du présent chapitre pour, sans favoriser ni défavoriser directement un candidat ou un parti, soit faire connaître son opinion sur un sujet d’intérêt public ou obtenir un appui à une telle opinion, soit prôner l’abstention ou l’annulation du vote.
1987, c. 57, a. 453; 1998, c. 52, a. 97.
453. Ne sont pas des dépenses électorales:
1°  les frais de publication, dans un journal, un périodique ou un autre imprimé, d’articles, d’éditoriaux, de nouvelles, de chroniques ou de lettres de lecteurs, à la condition que cette publication soit faite de la même façon et d’après les mêmes règles qu’en dehors de la période électorale, sans paiement, récompense ou promesse de paiement ou de récompense, qu’il ne s’agisse pas d’un journal, d’un périodique ou d’un imprimé institué aux fins ou en vue de l’élection et que la distribution et la fréquence de publication soient établies de la même façon qu’en dehors de la période électorale;
2°  les frais de diffusion par une station de radio ou de télévision d’une émission de nouvelles ou de commentaires, à la condition que cette émission soit faite de la même façon et d’après les mêmes règles qu’en dehors de la période électorale, sans paiement, récompense ou promesse de paiement ou de récompense;
3°  les frais indispensables pour tenir une convention pour le choix d’un candidat, qui comprennent le coût de la location d’une salle, de la convocation des délégués et de la publicité sur les lieux de la convention mais qui ne peuvent inclure le coût d’une autre forme de publicité ni excéder 2 250 $ dans le cas d’un candidat au poste de maire ou 750 $ dans le cas d’un candidat au poste de conseiller;
4°  les frais de transport d’une autre personne qu’un candidat qui sont payés sur ses propres deniers et qui ne lui sont pas remboursés;
5°  les frais raisonnables engagés pour la publication de commentaires explicatifs de la présente loi, pourvu que ces commentaires soient strictement objectifs et ne contiennent aucune publicité de nature à favoriser ou à défavoriser un candidat ou un parti;
6°  les frais raisonnables ordinairement engagés pour l’administration courante du bureau permanent du parti dont l’adresse est inscrite au registre du directeur général des élections depuis au moins trois mois avant la publication de l’avis d’élection;
7°  les intérêts courus entre le début de la période électorale et le quatre-vingt-dixième jour qui suit celui fixé pour le scrutin sur tout prêt légalement consenti à un représentant officiel pour des dépenses électorales, à moins que l’agent officiel n’ait payé ces intérêts et ne les ait déclarés comme dépenses électorales dans son rapport de dépenses électorales.
1987, c. 57, a. 453.