C-37.01 - Act respecting the Communauté métropolitaine de Montréal

Full text
96.1. For the purposes of the payment, to the Autorité régionale de transport métropolitain, of the amount provided for in paragraph 6 of section 79 of the Act respecting the Autorité régionale de transport métropolitain (chapter A-33.3), the Communauté métropolitaine de Montréal may, by by-law, levy a tax on the registration of any passenger vehicle in the name of a person whose address in the register held by the Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec under section 10 of the Highway Safety Code (chapter C-24.2) corresponds to a place situated in its territory or in the territory of Ville de Saint-Jérôme. The by-law must set out the amount of the tax.
A tax under the first paragraph may apply only if an agreement for the collection of the tax has been entered into with the Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec. Under such an agreement, the tax is collected by the Société at the time the sums provided for in section 21 or 31.1 of the Highway Safety Code are paid, and the Société must state the origin of the tax in the notice of payment or transaction receipt issued to any person described in the first paragraph.
The rules and procedures applicable to those sums in accordance with that Code apply, with the necessary modifications, to the tax and failure to comply with those rules and procedures results in the sanctions prescribed by the Code. However, the tax is not refundable in the case of a change of address.
Passenger vehicle means any such vehicle within the meaning of the Regulation respecting road vehicle registration (chapter C-24.2, r. 29).
The by-law referred to in the first paragraph requires a 2/3 majority of the votes cast.
2016, c. 82016, c. 8, s. 59.

C-37.01 - Loi sur la Communauté métropolitaine de Montréal

Texte complet
96.1. Aux fins du versement, à l’Autorité régionale de transport métropolitain, du montant prévu au paragraphe 6° de l’article 79 de la Loi sur l’Autorité régionale de transport métropolitain (chapitre A-33.3), la Communauté métropolitaine de Montréal peut, par un règlement, imposer une taxe sur l’immatriculation de tout véhicule de promenade au nom d’une personne dont l’adresse inscrite dans le registre de la Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec tenu en vertu de l’article 10 du Code de la sécurité routière (chapitre C-24.2) correspond à un lieu situé dans son territoire ou celui de la Ville de Saint-Jérôme. Le règlement doit indiquer le montant de la taxe.
Une taxe visée au premier alinéa ne peut s’appliquer que si une entente aux fins de sa perception a été conclue avec la Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec. Cette taxe est alors perçue par la Société lors du paiement des sommes prévues à l’article 21 ou 31.1 du Code de la sécurité routière et elle doit indiquer à toute personne visée au premier alinéa, dans l’avis de paiement ou dans le reçu de transaction, l’origine de cette taxe.
Les règles et les modalités applicables à ces sommes, conformément à ce code, s’appliquent, compte tenu des adaptations nécessaires, à cette taxe et le défaut de les respecter entraîne les sanctions qui y sont prévues. Toutefois, cette taxe n’est pas remboursable en cas de changement d’adresse.
On entend par véhicule de promenade un tel véhicule au sens du Règlement sur l’immatriculation des véhicules routiers (chapitre C-24.2, r. 29).
Le règlement visé au premier alinéa est pris à la majorité des 2/3 des voix exprimées.
2016, c. 82016, c. 8, a. 59.