R-17.0.1 - Voluntary Retirement Savings Plans Act

Full text
chapter R-17.0.1
Voluntary Retirement Savings Plans Act
VOLUNTARY RETIREMENT SAVINGS PLANSDecember 4 2013April 16 2014
CHAPTER III
ADMINISTRATION OF THE PLAN
DIVISION I
ADMINISTRATOR
§ 1.  — Obligations
14. A legal person must hold an authorization granted by the Autorité des marchés financiers to act as administrator of a voluntary retirement savings plan.
Only the following legal persons may act as administrator of a voluntary retirement savings plan:
(1)  insurers holding a life insurance class licence issued under the Act respecting insurance (chapter A-32) in conformity with the Regulation under the Act respecting insurance (chapter A-32, r. 1);
(2)  trust companies holding a licence issued under the Act respecting trust companies and savings companies (chapter S-29.01); and
(3)  investment fund managers registered in accordance with Title V of the Securities Act (chapter V-1.1).
2013, c. 26, s. 14.
§ 2.  — Authorization
28. A legal person referred to in section 14 applying for authorization must forward the application to the Autorité des marchés financiers in the form it prescribes.
The application must be accompanied by the fees determined by regulation and the following documents:
(1)  a five-year business plan dealing with the proposed development of activities related to the voluntary retirement savings plan and showing how the legal person intends to comply with the conditions and obligations applicable under this subdivision;
(2)  a document attesting that the amount by which the assets of the legal person exceed the liabilities is at least equal to the amount determined by regulation, or an irrevocable letter of credit or a suretyship, which letter or suretyship is in an amount determined by regulation and is issued by a financial institution licensed as an insurer, trust company or deposit institution under an Act of Canada or of a Canadian province or territory;
(3)  a certificate confirming that the legal person holds liability insurance in accordance with the requirements determined by regulation; and
(4)  any other document determined by regulation.
2013, c. 26, s. 28.
29. The Autorité des marchés financiers grants an authorization to legal persons who
(1)  provide all the documents and information required under this Act and pay the fees due; and
(2)  in the opinion of the Autorité des marchés financiers, are able to comply with the conditions and obligations applicable under this subdivision.
2013, c. 26, s. 29.
31. In order to maintain its authorization, an administrator must at all times,
(1)  maintain its liability insurance in accordance with the requirements determined by regulation;
(2)  maintain its operational capability and the expertise required to properly administer a voluntary retirement savings plan;
(3)  in respect of its activities as insurer, trust company or investment fund manager, comply with the Acts and the regulations and any orders, written instructions or undertakings made under any Act governing those activities; and
(4)  have a satisfactory financial situation.
2013, c. 26, s. 31.
39. An administrator’s authorization is revoked of right the moment the administrator no longer holds an insurer’s licence under the Act respecting insurance (chapter A-32), no longer holds a trust company licence under the Act respecting trust companies and savings companies (chapter S-29.01), or is no longer registered as an investment fund manager in accordance with Title V of the Securities Act (chapter V-1.1).
2013, c. 26, s. 39.
40. Any decision by the Autorité des marchés financiers with respect to an authorization under this Act is published in its bulletin.
2013, c. 26, s. 40.
§ 3.  — Register of authorized administrators
41. The Autorité des marchés financiers keeps a register of administrators authorized under this Act, in which the name of the administrators, the address of their head office and main place of business and all other useful information must be recorded.
The register is public and the Autorité des marchés financiers must make it accessible to the public.
2013, c. 26, s. 41.
CHAPTER X
FUNCTIONS AND POWERS OF THE AUTORITÉ DES MARCHÉS FINANCIERS
107. The functions and powers conferred on the Autorité des marchés financiers under the Acts it administers in compliance with section 7 of the Act respecting the Autorité des marchés financiers (chapter A-33.2), with respect to insurers, trust companies and investment fund managers, apply to administrators who have obtained authorization under this Act, with the necessary modifications.
Furthermore, sections 329 to 336 of the Act respecting trust companies and savings companies (chapter S-29.01) apply to any administrator referred to in subparagraph 1 of the second paragraph of section 14.
2013, c. 26, s. 107.
108. The Autorité des marchés financiers may prescribe the forms required for the purpose of exercising its functions and powers under this Act.
2013, c. 26, s. 108.
109. The Autorité des marchés financiers is responsible for the administration of sections 14, 28 to 44, 107, 108, 114, 115, subparagraph 6 of the first paragraph of section 117 in respect of information provided to the Autorité des marchés financiers, subparagraph 8 of the first paragraph of section 117 and sections 122, 139 and 143.
2013, c. 26, s. 109.
CHAPTER XIII
REGULATIONS
114. The Autorité des marchés financiers may, by regulation,
(1)  for the purposes of section 28, determine
(a)  the fees that must accompany the application for authorization to act as administrator of a voluntary retirement savings plan;
(b)  the amounts referred to in subparagraph 2 of the second paragraph of that section;
(c)  the requirements for the liability insurance a plan administrator must hold; and
(d)  the other documents that must accompany the application for authorization to act as administrator; and
(2)  for the purposes of section 31, determine the requirements for the maintenance by a plan administrator of its liability insurance.
2013, c. 26, s. 114.
115. A regulation of the Autorité des marchés financiers under subparagraphs b to d of paragraph 1 or paragraph 2 of section 114 must be submitted for approval to the Minister of Finance and the Economy, who may approve it with or without amendment.
However, a regulation of the Autorité des marchés financiers under subparagraph a of paragraph 1 of section 114 must be submitted for approval to the Government, which may approve it with or without amendment.
A draft of a regulation referred to in the first paragraph may not be submitted for approval and the regulation may not be made before 30 days have elapsed since the publication of the draft in the bulletin of the Autorité des marchés financiers. The regulation comes into force on the date of its publication in the Gazette officielle du Québec or on any later date specified in the regulation. Sections 4 to 8, 11 and 17 to 19 of the Regulations Act (chapter R-18.1) do not apply to the regulation.
The Minister may make a regulation referred to in the first paragraph if the Autorité des marchés financiers fails to make such a regulation within the time determined by the Minister.
The Government may make a regulation referred to in the second paragraph if the Autorité des marchés financiers fails to make such a regulation within the time determined by the Government.
2013, c. 26, s. 115.
CHAPTER XVII
TRANSITIONAL AND FINAL PROVISIONS
143. The first regulation made by the Autorité des marchés financiers under subparagraph a of paragraph 1 of section 114 may come into force on the date of its publication in the Gazette officielle du Québec or on any later date specified in it. Sections 4 to 8, 11 and 17 to 19 of the Regulations Act (chapter R-18.1) do not apply to that regulation.
The first regulation made by the Autorité des marchés financiers under subparagraphs b to d of paragraph 1 or paragraph 2 of section 114 may come into force despite not being published in the bulletin of the Autorité des marchés financiers.
2013, c. 26, s. 143.
146. (Omitted).
2013, c. 26, s. 146.

R-17.0.1 - Loi sur les régimes volontaires d’épargne-retraite

Texte complet
chapitre R-17.0.1
Loi sur les régimes volontaires d’épargne-retraite
RÉGIMES VOLONTAIRES D’ÉPARGNE-RETRAITE4 décembre 201316 avril 2014
CHAPITRE III
ADMINISTRATION DU RÉGIME
SECTION I
ADMINISTRATEUR
§ 1.  — Obligations
14. Une personne morale doit être titulaire d’une autorisation de l’Autorité des marchés financiers pour agir comme administrateur d’un régime volontaire d’épargne-retraite.
Seules les personnes morales suivantes peuvent agir comme administrateur d’un régime volontaire d’épargne-retraite:
1°  un assureur titulaire d’un permis délivré en vertu de la Loi sur les assurances (chapitre A-32) portant mention de la catégorie assurance sur la vie conformément au Règlement d’application de la Loi sur les assurances (chapitre A-32, r. 1);
2°  une société de fiducie titulaire d’un permis délivré en vertu de la Loi sur les sociétés de fiducie et les sociétés d’épargne (chapitre S-29.01);
3°  un gestionnaire de fonds d’investissement inscrit conformément au titre V de la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières (chapitre V-1.1).
2013, c. 26, a. 14.
§ 2.  — Autorisation
28. La personne morale visée à l’article 14 qui demande une autorisation doit transmettre sa demande à l’Autorité des marchés financiers dans la forme prescrite par celle-ci.
Sont joints à la demande les droits et les frais fixés par règlement et les documents suivants:
1°  un plan d’affaires couvrant une période de cinq ans, concernant le développement envisagé des activités relatives au régime volontaire d’épargne-retraite et démontrant de quelle façon la personne morale entend se conformer aux conditions et obligations applicables en vertu de la présente sous-section;
2°  une attestation que l’excédent de son actif sur son passif est au moins égal au montant fixé par règlement, ou une lettre de crédit bancaire irrévocable ou un cautionnement, cette lettre ou ce cautionnement étant d’un montant fixé par règlement et émis par une institution financière qui détient un permis d’assureur, de société de fiducie ou d’institution de dépôts délivré en vertu d’une loi du Canada, d’une province ou d’un territoire canadien;
3°  un certificat confirmant qu’elle a souscrit un contrat d’assurance pour couvrir sa responsabilité conformément aux exigences déterminées par règlement;
4°  tout autre document déterminé par règlement.
2013, c. 26, a. 28.
29. L’Autorité accorde une autorisation à la personne morale qui remplit les conditions suivantes:
1°  elle a fourni tous les documents et renseignements requis en vertu de la présente loi et acquitté les droits et les frais payables;
2°  de l’avis de l’Autorité, elle est en mesure de respecter les conditions et obligations applicables en vertu de la présente sous-section.
2013, c. 26, a. 29.
31. Un administrateur doit en tout temps, pour maintenir son autorisation, respecter les obligations suivantes:
1°  maintenir sa couverture d’assurance responsabilité conformément aux exigences déterminées par règlement;
2°  maintenir sa capacité opérationnelle et l’expertise nécessaire pour administrer adéquatement un régime volontaire d’épargne-retraite;
3°  à l’égard de ses activités d’assureur, de société de fiducie ou de gestionnaire de fonds d’investissement, se conformer aux dispositions des lois, règlements et, le cas échéant, des ordonnances, instructions écrites et engagements pris en vertu des lois régissant ces activités;
4°  être dans une situation financière satisfaisante.
2013, c. 26, a. 31.
39. L’autorisation d’un administrateur est révoquée de plein droit dès qu’il n’est plus titulaire du permis d’assureur conformément à la Loi sur les assurances (chapitre A-32) ou du permis de société de fiducie conformément à la Loi sur les sociétés de fiducie et les sociétés d’épargne (chapitre S-29.01) ou n’est plus inscrit comme gestionnaire de fonds d’investissement conformément au titre V de la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières (chapitre V-1.1).
2013, c. 26, a. 39.
40. Toute décision de l’Autorité relative à une autorisation visée par la présente loi est publiée à son Bulletin.
2013, c. 26, a. 40.
§ 3.  — Registre des administrateurs autorisés
41. L’Autorité tient un registre des administrateurs qu’elle autorise en vertu de la présente loi, dans lequel doivent être consignés le nom de ces derniers, l’adresse de leur siège et du principal établissement d’affaires et tous autres renseignements utiles.
Ce registre a un caractère public et l’Autorité doit le rendre accessible aux citoyens.
2013, c. 26, a. 41.
CHAPITRE X
FONCTIONS ET POUVOIRS DE L’AUTORITÉ DES MARCHÉS FINANCIERS
107. Les fonctions et pouvoirs conférés à l’Autorité des marchés financiers en vertu des lois qu’elle administre conformément à l’article 7 de la Loi sur l’Autorité des marchés financiers (chapitre A-33.2) à l’égard d’un assureur, d’une société de fiducie ou d’un gestionnaire de fonds d’investissement, sont applicables à l’administrateur qui a obtenu une autorisation en vertu de la présente loi, avec les adaptations nécessaires.
Au surplus, les dispositions des articles 329 à 336 de la Loi sur les sociétés de fiducie et les sociétés d’épargne (chapitre S-29.01) s’appliquent à l’administrateur visé au paragraphe 1° du deuxième alinéa de l’article 14.
2013, c. 26, a. 107.
108. L’Autorité peut prescrire les formulaires nécessaires à l’exercice de ses fonctions et pouvoirs en vertu de la présente loi.
2013, c. 26, a. 108.
109. L’Autorité est responsable de l’administration des articles 14, 28 à 44, 107, 108, 114, 115, du paragraphe 6° du premier alinéa de l’article 117, en ce qui concerne les renseignements fournis à l’Autorité des marchés financiers, du paragraphe 8° du premier alinéa de l’article 117 et des articles 122, 139 et 143.
2013, c. 26, a. 109.
CHAPITRE XIII
RÈGLEMENTS
114. L’Autorité des marchés financiers peut, par règlement:
1°  prévoir, pour l’application de l’article 28:
a)  les droits et les frais à joindre à la demande d’autorisation pour agir comme administrateur d’un régime volontaire d’épargne-retraite;
b)  les montants visés au paragraphe 2° du deuxième alinéa de cet article;
c)  les exigences auxquelles doit satisfaire le contrat d’assurance qui doit être souscrit par un administrateur de régime;
d)  les autres documents qui doivent être joints à la demande d’autorisation d’agir comme administrateur;
2°  prévoir, pour l’application de l’article 31, les exigences relatives au maintien, par l’administrateur d’un régime, de sa couverture d’assurance responsabilité.
2013, c. 26, a. 114.
115. Un règlement pris par l’Autorité en application des sous-paragraphes b à d du paragraphe 1° et du paragraphe 2° de l’article 114 est soumis à l’approbation du ministre des Finances et de l’Économie, qui peut l’approuver avec ou sans modification.
Toutefois, un règlement pris par l’Autorité en application du sous-paragraphe a du paragraphe 1° de l’article 114 est soumis à l’approbation du gouvernement, qui peut l’approuver avec ou sans modification.
Un projet de règlement visé au premier alinéa ne peut être soumis pour approbation ou être édicté avant l’expiration d’un délai de 30 jours à compter de sa publication au Bulletin de l’Autorité. Il entre en vigueur à la date de sa publication à la Gazette officielle du Québec ou à toute autre date ultérieure qui y est déterminée. Les articles 4 à 8, 11 et 17 à 19 de la Loi sur les règlements (chapitre R-18.1) ne s’appliquent pas à ce règlement.
Le ministre peut prendre un règlement visé au premier alinéa à défaut par l’Autorité de le prendre dans le délai qu’il indique.
Le gouvernement peut prendre un règlement visé au deuxième alinéa à défaut par l’Autorité de le prendre dans le délai qu’il indique.
2013, c. 26, a. 115.
CHAPITRE XVII
DISPOSITIONS TRANSITOIRES ET FINALES
143. Le premier règlement pris par l’Autorité des marchés financiers en application du sous-paragraphe a du paragraphe 1° de l’article 114 peut entrer en vigueur le jour de sa publication à la Gazette officielle du Québec ou à toute date ultérieure qu’il indique. Les articles 4 à 8, 11 et 17 à 19 de la Loi sur les règlements (chapitre R-18.1) ne s’appliquent pas à ce règlement.
Le premier règlement pris par l’Autorité en application des sous-paragraphes b à d du paragraphe 1° et du paragraphe 2° de l’article 114 peut entrer en vigueur même s’il n’a pas fait l’objet d’une publication au Bulletin de l’Autorité.
2013, c. 26, a. 143.
146. (Omis).
2013, c. 26, a. 146.