S-13.1, r. 2 - By-law respecting forecast contests and numbers games

Full text
chapter S-13.1, r. 2
By-law respecting forecast contests and numbers games
LOTO-QUÉBEC — FORECAST CONTESTS AND NUMBERS GAMES
Act respecting the Société des loteries du Québec
(chapter S-13.1, s. 13).
S-13.1
September 1 2012
DIVISION I
GENERAL PROVISIONS AND DEFINITIONS
1. Definitions: In this By-law, unless the context indicates otherwise,
(a)  “lottery ticket” means a ticket issued by a computer terminal confirming participation in a lottery scheme;
(b)  “retailer” means a person who is in charge of a computer terminal and who holds a retailer’s number issued by the Company;
(c)  “wager” means the sum of money staked by a participant;
(d)  “prize” means the sum of money or the goods owing to a participant holding a winning ticket;
(e)  “participant” means a person who takes part in a lottery scheme and who pays the wager;
(f)  “selection” means the choice on which a participant stakes a wager;
(g)  “Company” means the Société des loteries du Québec created by the Act respecting the Société des loteries du Québec (chapter S-13.1);
(h)  “lottery scheme” means one of the lottery schemes referred to in section 2;
(i)  “terminal” means a computer terminal owed by the Company that issues lottery tickets.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, s. 1.
2. Lottery scheme: The lottery schemes referred to in this By-law are forecast contests and numbers games whose names and duration may vary.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, s. 2.
3. Advertising: No person shall advertise the Company or its lottery schemes or use its trade marks or other intellectual property without prior written authorization from the Company.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, s. 3.
DIVISION II
LOTTERY TICKETS
4. Content: The conditions regarding the appropriate lottery scheme must appear on the ticket together with:
(a)  the name of the lottery scheme;
(b)  the date of the awarding of prizes;
(c)  the selection and wager of the participant;
(d)  a verification number; and
(e)  the period during which holders of winning tickets must claim their prizes.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, s. 4.
5. Equivalent certificate: For postal or subscription sales orders, the Company may replace a lottery ticket by a certificate specifying the name of the lottery scheme, the selection of the participant, and his wager. The participant in whose name the certificate is registered is presumed to hold that lottery ticket.
In the case of telephone sales orders or interactive television sales orders received by one of the Company’s computers from a participant identified by his personal identification code and having to his credit with the Company sufficient sums to cover the amounts he bets at the time of the sale, the participant is presumed to hold a ticket bearing the data pertaining to the sale and generated by the Company’s computer.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, s. 5; O.C. 269-92, s. 1.
6. Maximum price: A lottery ticket may not be sold at a price exceeding the value of the wager.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, s. 6.
7. Invalid lottery tickets: The following are not valid:
(a)  any lottery ticket not paid for before the awarding or prizes;
(b)  except if the Company can determine by means of a verification number that the ticket is really the winning ticket for the prize claimed, any ticket that is illegible, mutilated, altered, counterfeited, improperly cut, not clearly printed, incomplete, erroneously printed or otherwise defective; and
(c)  any ticket cancelled by the retailer.
A holder of an invalid lottery ticket is not entitled to a prize or reimbursement, except in the case of paragraph c of the first paragraph.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, s. 7.
8. Discrepancy: If there is any discrepancy between a lottery ticket and the data pertaining to that ticket given by the computer of the Company, the latter prevails.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, s. 8.
9. Refusal of wager: The Company may, at its discretion, refuse to accept wagers and to issue tickets for any selection it determines at any time.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, s. 9.
DIVISION III
PRIZES
10. Value of prizes: The annual value of the prizes offered may not be less than 35% or more than 75% of the aggregate amount of the wagers staked for each lottery scheme.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, s. 10; O.C. 269-92, s. 2.
11. Pooling of wagers: The Company may decide, for purposes of establishing the prizes, to pool the wagers of one or several of its lottery schemes with the wagers of one or several similar lottery schemes of any other organization in Canada.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, s. 11.
DIVISION IV
RETAILERS
12. Retailer’s number: A person may not act as a retailer unless he holds a retailer’s number issued by the Company. The number may be withdrawn at any time at the discretion of the Company.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, s. 12.
13. Retailer’s prize: For each winning lottery ticket whose prize is equal to or more than $1,000, the Company gives the retailer who sold the winning ticket a prize equal to 1% of the prize awarded for the lottery ticket if the prize is actually paid to the winner and the retailer’s number is on the lottery ticket.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, s. 13.
DIVISION V
AWARDING OF PRIZES
14. Procedure for choice: The Company determines the winning numbers by using one or several tumblers that choose numbers at random or a computer that generates random numbers produces numbers at random. Numbers may also be chosen according to the results of sports or other events.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, s. 14.
15. Date of draw: Where the prizes are awarded by means of a draw and where the draw cannot be held on the scheduled date, the Company may set another date as soon as possible thereafter.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, s. 15.
DIVISION VI
PAYMENT OF PRIZES
16. Winning lottery ticket: Where a valid winning ticket is filed with the Company, the prize is paid by a cheque issued in the name of the holder or his representatives assigns. The names originally entered on the lottery ticket are taken into consideration. In accordance with the inscriptions on the reverse side of the lottery ticket, certain prizes may be paid by retailers or banking establishments and, in such cases, are payable to the bearer of the winning ticket. A person may be required to provide proof that he has legal capability of receiving a prize before the latter is given to him.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, s. 16.
17. Winning equivalent certificate: Despite the provisions of this Division, the cheque for a prize won by the holder of an equivalent certificate is made out in the name of that participant and mailed to the address specified by the participant.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, s. 17.
18. Deadline for claim: Unless the Company receives a notice of claim before the deadline mentioned in this paragraph, it is discharged from any liability or obligation respecting prizes and from all operations respecting their awarding upon the expiry of one year following the date of awarding.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, s. 18.
19. Advertising: The Company may use the name, address and photograph of the winners, or any other information voluntarily provided by them whether for advertising purposes or not. The latter may not claim any royalties for the broadcasting, printing, or advertising.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, s. 19.
DIVISION VII
LIABILITY
20. Nature of mandate: By having a ticket issued to him by a retailer and by giving the retailer the wager, a participant appoints the retailer as his agent for the purpose of conveying his selection and wager to the Company, but the risks inherent in the sending of the selection and wager are borne solely by the participant.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, s. 20.
21. Liability of mandataries: To rule out any possibility of fraudulent claim, a retailer is not liable toward the participant in the case of superior force. A retailer’s liability in all other cases, whether contractual or ex delicto, including negligence on his part or that of an employee, is limited for each participant or other person to the amount wagered.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, s. 21.
22. Liability of the Company: The Company is not liable toward any person in the case of superior force. In all other cases, whether the liability is contractual or ex delicto, including negligence on its part or that of its employees, the Company is not liable toward any person unless the participant’s selection and wager were forwarded to it before the awarding of prizes. In the latter case, if the claim is based on a valid winning lottery ticket, the Company’s liability is limited to the value of the prize won with the lottery ticket. Otherwise it is limited to the amount of the claimant’s wager.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, s. 22.
REFERENCES
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1
S.Q. 1990, c. 46, ss. 42 and 46
O.C. 269-92, 1992 G.O. 2, 1059

S-13.1, r. 2 - Règlement sur les concours de pronostics et les jeux sur numéros

Texte complet
chapitre S-13.1, r. 2
Règlement sur les concours de pronostics et les jeux sur numéros
LOTO-QUÉBEC — CONCOURS DE PRONOSTICS ET JEUX SUR NUMÉROS
Loi sur la Société des loteries du Québec
(chapitre S-13.1, a. 13)
S-13.1
1er septembre 2012
SECTION I
DISPOSITIONS GÉNÉRALES ET DÉFINITIONS
1. Définitions: Dans le présent règlement, à moins que le contexte n’indique un sens différent, l’on entend par:
a)  «billet»: titre émis par un terminal pour confirmer une participation à un système de loterie;
b)  «détaillant»: personne en charge d’un terminal et détenant un numéro de détaillant émis par la Société;
c)  «enjeu»: somme d’argent jouée par un participant;
d)  «lot»: somme d’argent ou bien qui revient à un participant qui détient un billet gagnant;
e)  «participant»: personne prenant part à un système de loterie en payant l’enjeu;
f)  «sélection»: choix sur lequel un participant engage un enjeu;
g)  «Société»: la Société des loteries du Québec instituée par la Loi sur la Société des loteries du Québec (chapitre S-13.1);
h)  «système de loterie»: l’un des systèmes de loterie visés à l’article 2;
i)  «terminal»: terminal d’ordinateur, appartenant à la Société, qui a pour objet d’émettre des billets.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, a. 1.
2. Systèmes de loterie: Les systèmes de loterie visés au présent règlement sont des concours de pronostics et des jeux sur numéros dont le nom et la durée peuvent varier.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, a. 2.
3. Publicité: Aucune publicité sur la Société ou ses systèmes de loterie et aucune utilisation de ses marques de commerce ou autres propriétés intellectuelles ne peuvent être faites sans l’autorisation écrite préalable de la Société.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, a. 3.
SECTION II
BILLETS
4. Contenu du billet: Tout billet doit contenir les conditions propres au système de loterie auquel il appartient et, en particulier, reproduire les renseignements suivants:
a)  le nom du système de loterie;
b)  la date de l’attribution des lots;
c)  la sélection du participant et l’enjeu;
d)  un numéro de contrôle;
e)  le délai au cours duquel les détenteurs de billets gagnants doivent réclamer leurs lots.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, a. 4.
5. Titre équivalent: Dans le cas de vente sur commande reçue par la poste ou sur abonnement, la Société peut substituer au billet vendu un titre indiquant le nom du système de loterie, la sélection du participant et l’enjeu, et le participant au nom de qui ce titre est immatriculé, est présumé détenir ce billet.
Dans le cas d’une vente sur commande téléphonique ou sur une commande télématique reçue par un ordinateur de la Société d’un participant identifié par son code d’identification personnel et qui a à son crédit auprès de la Société des sommes suffisantes pour couvrir les sommes misées lors de cette vente, ce participant est présumé détenir un billet portant les données relatives à cette vente qui sont relevées par l’ordinateur de la Société.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, a. 5; D. 269-92, a. 1.
6. Prix maximal: Aucun billet ne peut être vendu à un prix supérieur à la valeur de l’enjeu.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, a. 6.
7. Billets invalides: Est nul:
a)  tout billet dont le paiement n’a pas été acquitté avant l’attribution des lots;
b)  sauf si la Société peut déterminer au moyen d’un numéro de contrôle que le billet est réellement gagnant du lot réclamé, tout billet illisible, mutilé, modifié, contrefait, mal découpé, mal imprimé, incomplet, produit erronément ou autrement défectueux;
c)  tout billet annulé par le détaillant.
Le détenteur d’un billet nul n’a droit à aucun lot et n’a également droit à aucun remboursement, sauf dans le cas du paragraphe c du premier alinéa.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, a. 7.
8. Divergence: En cas de divergence entre un billet et les données relatives à ce billet relevées par l’ordinateur de la Société, ces dernières prévalent.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, a. 8.
9. Refus d’enjeu: La Société peut, à sa discrétion, refuser d’accepter des enjeux et d’émettre des billets portant sur toute sélection qu’elle détermine en tout temps.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, a. 9.
SECTION III
LOTS
10. Valeur des lots: La valeur annuelle des lots offerts ne peut être inférieure à 35% ni supérieure à 75% du montant total des enjeux pour chaque système de loterie.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, a. 10; D. 269-92, a. 2.
11. Mise en commun des enjeux: La Société peut décider, aux fins d’établir les lots, de mettre les enjeux d’un ou de plusieurs de ses systèmes de loterie en commun avec ceux d’un ou plusieurs systèmes de loterie semblables de tout autre organisme au Canada.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, a. 11.
SECTION IV
DÉTAILLANTS
12. Numéro de détaillant: Nul ne peut agir comme détaillant s’il ne détient un numéro de détaillant émis par la Société. Un tel numéro peut être retiré en tout temps à la discrétion de la Société.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, a. 12.
13. Lot au détaillant: Pour tout billet gagnant dont le lot est égal ou supérieur à 1 000 $, la Société verse au détaillant vendeur du billet gagnant, un lot égal à 1% du lot attribué à ce billet, si le lot est effectivement versé au gagnant et le numéro du détaillant a été inscrit sur le billet.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, a. 13.
SECTION V
ATTRIBUTION DES LOTS
14. Mode de détermination: La Société procède à la détermination des numéros gagnants au moyen d’un ou plusieurs bouliers choisissant les numéros au hasard ou d’un ordinateur pouvant générer des numéros aléatoires. Le choix des numéros peut également être effectué en fonction des résultats d’événements sportifs ou autres.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, a. 14.
15. Date du tirage: Dans les cas où les lots sont attribués par tirage et où le tirage ne peut avoir lieu à la date prévue, la Société peut fixer une autre date aussitôt que possible par la suite.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, a. 15.
SECTION VI
PAIEMENT DES LOTS
16. Billet gagnant: Lorsqu’un billet valide gagnant est présenté à la Société, le lot est payé par chèque émis au nom du détenteur ou de ses ayants droit. Il est tenu compte des noms originairement apposés au billet. Conformément aux inscriptions à l’endos du billet, certains lots peuvent être payés par les détaillants ou par une institution bancaire et, dans ces cas, ces lots sont payables au porteur du billet gagnant. Toute personne peut être tenue de fournir une preuve de sa capacité de recevoir un lot avant que celui-ci ne lui soit payé.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, a. 16.
17. Titre équivalent gagnant: Nonobstant les dispositions de la présente section, le chèque correspondant au lot gagné par le détenteur d’un titre équivalent est fait au nom de ce participant et ce chèque est expédié par la poste à l’adresse indiquée par le participant.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, a. 17.
18. Délai de réclamation: Sauf dans la mesure où elle a reçu un avis de réclamation avant l’expiration des délais mentionnés ci-après, la Société est libérée de toute responsabilité et de toute obligation relativement à des lots et à toutes les opérations menant à leur attribution à l’expiration de l’année qui suit la date d’attribution.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, a. 18.
19. Publicité: La Société peut utiliser les nom, adresse et photographie des gagnants ainsi que tout autre renseignement fourni volontairement par ces gagnants à des fins publicitaires ou autrement, et les gagnants ne peuvent réclamer aucun droit de diffusion, d’impression ou de publicité à cet égard.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, a. 19.
SECTION VII
RESPONSABILITÉ
20. Nature du mandat: En se faisant émettre un billet par un détaillant et en lui versant son enjeu, un participant constitue ce détaillant comme son mandataire aux fins de transmettre sa sélection et son enjeu à la Société, mais les risques résultant de l’acheminement de la sélection et de l’enjeu sont supportés exclusivement par le participant.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, a. 20.
21. Responsabilité des mandataires: Afin d’exclure toute possibilité de revendication frauduleuse, les détaillants n’encourent aucune responsabilité envers le participant dans les cas de force majeure, et leur responsabilité dans tous les autres cas, tant en matière contractuelle que délictuelle, y compris les cas de négligence de leur part ou de la part de leurs préposés, est limitée pour chaque participant ou autre personne au montant de l’enjeu.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, a. 21.
22. Responsabilité de la Société: La Société n’encourt aucune responsabilité envers qui que ce soit dans les cas de force majeure. Dans tous les autres cas, tant en matière contractuelle que délictuelle, y compris les cas de négligence de sa part ou de la part de ses préposés, la Société n’encourt aucune responsabilité envers qui que ce soit, à moins que la sélection et l’enjeu du participant ne lui aient bien été transmis avant l’attribution des lots et, dans ce dernier cas, sa responsabilité est limitée, si la réclamation est fondée sur un billet valide gagnant, au montant du lot gagné par ce billet et, autrement, au montant de l’enjeu payé par le réclamant.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1, a. 22.
RÉFÉRENCES
R.R.Q., 1981, c. S-13.1, r. 1
L.Q. 1990, c. 46, a. 42 et 46
D. 269-92, 1992 G.O. 2, 1501