R-15.1, r. 6.1.1 - Regulation concerning certain Papiers White Birch pension plans

Full text
chapter R-15.1, r. 6.1.1
Regulation concerning certain Papiers White Birch pension plans
SUPPLEMENTAL PENSION PLANS ACT — PAPIERS WHITE BIRCH
Supplemental Pension Plans Act
(chapter R-15.1, s. 2, 2nd and 3rd pars.).
R-15.1
November 7 2013
DIVISION I
COMPONENTS OF A PENSION PLAN
1. A pension plan referred to in Appendix A is comprised of 2 or 3 components, that is, a current component and 1 or 2 past components.
The liabilities of the current component of a pension plan correspond to the portion of the liabilities of the plan related to obligations arising from services rendered as of the date of coming into force of the plan.
The past component of a pension plan means a component whose liabilities are related to credited service under a pension plan which has been terminated. The pension plans that have been terminated are referred to in Appendix B.
The pension plan designated by number 32198 has only one past component.
The pension plans designated by numbers 32197 and 32199 have 2 past components. The liabilities of the past component referred to as the “past component for the retirees” is the portion of the liabilities of the plan related to the members and beneficiaries of that plan to whom a pension was being paid prior to 13 September 2012 by a terminated pension plan. The liabilities of the past component referred to as the “past component of the other members” correspond to the balance of the liabilities of the plan related to credited service under a terminated pension plan.
The pension fund of a pension plan is divided into as many distinct accounts as the number of components in the plan.
O.C. 1025-2013, s. 1.
2. At the effective date of a pension plan referred to in Appendix A, the assets of a past component of a plan correspond, for the purpose of determining its solvency and funding, to the value of the amounts to be transferred to the component further to the termination of a pension plan referred to in Appendix B.
O.C. 1025-2013, s. 2.
3. For the purposes of section 39, Chapters X (Solvency and funding), X.1 (Appropriation of surplus assets) and XII (Division and merger), Division II of Chapter XI (Investments) and Chapter XIII (Rights of members and beneficiaries on winding-up) of the Supplemental Pension Plans Act (chapter R-15.1), the liabilities of a component and the corresponding account of the pension fund are considered to be separate from the liabilities and corresponding account of any other component.
However, where a pension plan has only one past component, the surplus assets of that component may be appropriated to the payment of employer contributions of the current component of the plan.
O.C. 1025-2013, s. 3.
DIVISION II
SPECIAL MEASURES FOR THE PAST COMPONENTS OF PLANS 32197 AND 32199
4. Is exempt from the application of paragraph 2 of section 130 and sections 132 and 216 of the Act, the amendment of a pension plan that grants benefits referred to as “additional benefits related to early retirement” to the member of a past component of the other members of a pension plan designated by number 32197 or 32199, where the following conditions are met:
(1)  the member is at least age 55 but under age 65 at the time his period of continuous services ends;
(2)  his period of continuous service ends during the calendar year in which the amendment is made or during the preceding calendar year;
(3)  his period of continuous service ends prior to the date on which the plan is terminated;
(4)  during the existence of the plan, the plan text provides for the funding by the employer of additional liabilities whose value is established on a solvency basis in any actuarial valuation on the assumption that the additional benefits related to early retirement are allocated to any member of a past component of the other members who is at least age 55 but under age 65;
(5)  the additional benefits related to early retirement are described in detail in the copy of the plan text that accompanies the application for registration of the pension plan submitted to the Régie des rentes du Québec.
The additional benefits referred to in this section are not considered additional obligations within the meaning of section 128, paragraph 1 of section 130, sections 131 and 135 and the third paragraph of section 146.1 of the Act.
O.C. 1025-2013, s. 4.
5. Notwithstanding section 3, the surplus assets of the past component of the retirees may at any time be appropriated to the payment of either the deficit or employer contributions of the past component of the other members and vice versa.
Where both past components have surplus assets, the surplus assets of a past component can be allocated to the payment of the employer contributions to the current component of the pension plan.
O.C. 1025-2013, s. 5.
6. The assets and liabilities of the past component of the retirees and those of the past component of the other members can be merged into a single component only at the date of an actuarial valuation showing that a new component resulting from their merger is solvent and fully funded.
O.C. 1025-2013, s. 6.
DIVISION III
ACTUARIAL VALUATION REPORT
7. The actuarial valuation report for a pension plan shall present separately the information related to each component.
O.C. 1025-2013, s. 7.
8. With respect to a past component of a pension plan, the actuarial valuation report shall contain the information and statements of the actuary provided for in the Section of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries’ Standards of Practice to which section 4 of the Regulation respecting supplemental pension plans (chapter R-15.1, r. 6) refers, as well as the information required by paragraphs 1 to 5 of that section and sections 4.1 to 4.6 of that regulation.
For such purposes, it is understood that these provisions and standards apply to each past component of the pension plan as though it were a separate pension plan.
O.C. 1025-2013, s. 8.
DIVISION IV
COMMUNICATIONS
9. The second part of the statement provided for in section 108 of the Act shall mention that, for as long as the plan is comprised of separate components, the liabilities of each component and the corresponding account of the pension fund are considered to be separate from the liabilities and the account of any other component for the purposes of the payment of the share that goes to the spouse.
O.C. 1025-2013, s. 9.
10. The information that the statements provided for under sections 108, 112, 113 and 207.3 of the Act must contain is determined for each component as though they were separate plans. The information relating to each component shall be presented separately on the statements.
The statements shall also mention that for the purposes of the payment of the benefits of the members and beneficiaries of the plan, for as long as the plan is comprised of separate components, the liabilities of each component and the corresponding account of the pension fund are considered to be separate from the liabilities and the account of any other component.
O.C. 1025-2013, s. 10.
11. The Régie des rentes du Québec may require from a pension committee, a provisional administrator or an employer party to a pension plan, on the conditions and within the time limits established by the Régie, any document, information or report that it deems necessary for ascertaining that the requirements imposed by this Regulation are met, particularly concerning the amounts to be transferred to each of the past components further to the termination of a pension plan referred to in Appendix B.
O.C. 1025-2013, s. 11.
DIVISION V
MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS
12. This Regulation does not have the effect of creating, for the employer party to the pension plans referred to in Appendix A, any obligations in respect of the pension plans referred to in Appendix B.
O.C. 1025-2013, s. 12.
13. Notwithstanding the second paragraph of section 118 of the Act, any actuarial valuation provided for under the first paragraph of that section that concerns a past component must be complete.
O.C. 1025-2013, s. 13.
14. (Omitted).
O.C. 1025-2013, s. 14.
Appendix A
(ss. 1, 2, 12)
Pension plans


Number under which Probable name of the plan at the time
the plan is designated of registration
at the Régie des rentes
du Québec



32197 Régime complémentaire de retraite des
employés syndiqués de la Société en
Commandite de Papier Masson WB


32198 Régime complémentaire de retraite des
employés syndiqués de la Société en
Commandite Stadacona WB


32199 Régime complémentaire de retraite des
employés syndiqués de la Société en
Commandite FF Soucy WB

O.C. 1025-2013, Appendix A.
Appendix B
(ss. 1, 2, 11, 12)
Terminated pension plans


Number under which Name of the plan at the date
the plan is registered of its termination
with the Régie des
rentes du Québec



24480 Régime de retraite des employés
syndiqués de Stadacona


26552 Régime complémentaire de retraite
des employés syndiqués d’usine
de F.F. Soucy


30735 Régime complémentaire de retraite
des employés syndiqués de bureau
de F.F. Soucy


31765 Régime de retraite des employés
syndiqués de PML

O.C. 1025-2013, Appendix B.
REFERENCES
O.C. 1025-2013, 2013 G.O. 2, 3089

R-15.1, r. 6.1.1 - Règlement concernant certains régimes de retraite de Papiers White Birch

Texte complet
chapitre R-15.1, r. 6.1.1
Règlement concernant certains régimes de retraite de Papiers White Birch
RÉGIMES COMPLÉMENTAIRES DE RETRAITE — PAPIERS WHITE BIRCH
Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite
(chapitre R-15.1, a. 2, 2e et 3e al.).
R-15.1
7 novembre 2013
SECTION I
VOLETS D’UN RÉGIME DE RETRAITE
1. Un régime de retraite mentionné à l’annexe A est composé de 2 ou 3 volets, soit un volet courant et 1 ou 2 volets antérieurs.
Le passif du volet courant d’un régime de retraite correspond à la partie de son passif qui est relative aux engagements résultant de services effectués à compter de la date d’entrée en vigueur du régime.
Un volet antérieur d’un régime de retraite s’entend d’un volet dont le passif est relatif à des services reconnus par un régime de retraite terminé. Les régimes de retraite terminés sont mentionnés à l’annexe B.
Le régime de retraite auquel est attribué le numéro d’enregistrement 32198 comporte un seul volet antérieur.
Un régime de retraite auquel est attribué le numéro d’enregistrement 32197 ou 32199 comporte 2 volets antérieurs. Le passif du volet antérieur dit «volet antérieur des retraités» est la partie du passif du régime qui se rapporte aux participants et bénéficiaires du régime à qui une rente était servie avant le 13 septembre 2012 par un régime de retraite terminé. Le passif du volet antérieur dit «volet antérieur des autres participants» correspond au reste du passif du régime relatif à des services reconnus par un régime de retraite terminé.
La caisse de retraite d’un régime de retraite est répartie en autant de comptes distincts que le régime comporte de volets.
D. 1025-2013, a. 1.
2. À la date d’entrée en vigueur d’un régime de retraite mentionné à l’annexe A, l’actif d’un volet antérieur du régime correspond, pour la détermination de sa solvabilité et de sa capitalisation, à la valeur des sommes à être transférées à ce volet par suite de la terminaison d’un régime de retraite mentionné à l’annexe B.
D. 1025-2013, a. 2.
3. Pour l’application de l’article 39, des chapitres X (Financement), X.1 (Affectation de l’excédent d’actif) et XII (Scission et fusion), de la section II du chapitre XI (Placements) et du chapitre XIII (Liquidation des droits des participants et des bénéficiaires) de la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite (chapitre R-15.1), le passif d’un volet d’un régime de retraite et le compte correspondant de la caisse de retraite sont considérés distinctement du passif de tout autre volet et du compte correspondant.
Toutefois, si un régime de retraite comporte un seul volet antérieur, l’excédent d’actif de celui-ci peut être affecté à l’acquittement des cotisations patronales du volet courant du régime.
D. 1025-2013, a. 3.
SECTION II
MESURES PARTICULIÈRES AUX VOLETS ANTÉRIEURS DES RÉGIMES 32197 ET 32199
4. Est soustraite à l’application du paragraphe 2 de l’article 130 et des articles 132 et 216 de la Loi, la modification d’un régime de retraite octroyant des prestations dites «avantages supplémentaires liés à la retraite anticipée» à un participant d’un volet antérieur des autres participants d’un régime de retraite auquel est attribué le numéro d’enregistrement 32197 ou 32199, si les conditions suivantes sont satisfaites:
1°  au moment où sa période de travail continu se termine, le participant est âgé d’au moins 55 ans mais de moins de 65 ans;
2°  la période de travail continu du participant se termine au cours de l’année civile où la modification intervient ou au cours de l’année civile précédente;
3°  la période de travail continu du participant se termine avant la date de terminaison du régime;
4°  en cours d’existence du régime, il est prévu un financement par l’employeur d’un passif additionnel dont la valeur est établie sur base de solvabilité lors de toute évaluation actuarielle en posant l’hypothèse que les avantages supplémentaires liés à la retraite anticipée sont octroyés à tout participant d’un volet antérieur des autres participants qui est âgé d’au moins 55 ans mais de moins de 65 ans;
5°  les avantages supplémentaires liés à la retraite anticipée sont décrits de façon détaillée dans le texte du régime de retraite qui accompagne la demande d’enregistrement du régime auprès de la Régie des rentes du Québec.
Les avantages supplémentaires prévus au présent article ne constituent pas des engagements supplémentaires au sens de l’article 128, du paragraphe 1 de l’article 130, des articles 131 et 135 et du troisième alinéa de l’article 146.1 de la Loi.
D. 1025-2013, a. 4.
5. Malgré l’article 3, l’excédent d’actif du volet antérieur des retraités peut être affecté en tout temps à l’acquittement des cotisations patronales ou du déficit du volet antérieur des autres participants, et réciproquement.
L’excédent d’actif d’un volet antérieur peut être affecté à l’acquittement des cotisations patronales du volet courant du régime lorsque les 2 volets antérieurs ont un excédent d’actif.
D. 1025-2013, a. 5.
6. L’actif et le passif du volet antérieur des retraités et ceux du volet antérieur des autres participants ne peuvent être fusionnés en un seul volet qu’à la date d’une évaluation actuarielle montrant qu’un nouveau volet résultant de leur fusion serait solvable et capitalisé.
D. 1025-2013, a. 6.
SECTION III
RAPPORT RELATIF À L’ÉVALUATION ACTUARIELLE
7. Le rapport relatif à l’évaluation actuarielle d’un régime de retraite doit présenter séparément les renseignements relatifs à chaque volet.
D. 1025-2013, a. 7.
8. En ce qui concerne un volet antérieur du régime de retraite, le rapport relatif à l’évaluation actuarielle doit contenir les renseignements et les déclarations de l’actuaire prévus à la section des normes de pratique de l’Institut canadien des actuaires à laquelle réfère l’article 4 du Règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite (chapitre R-15.1, r. 6), ainsi que les renseignements prévus aux paragraphes 1 à 5 de cet article et aux articles 4.1 à 4.6 de ce règlement.
Pour ces fins, il est entendu que ces dispositions et normes s’appliquent à chaque volet antérieur du régime comme s’il s’agissait d’un régime de retraite distinct.
D. 1025-2013, a. 8.
SECTION IV
COMMUNICATIONS
9. La deuxième partie du relevé prévu à l’article 108 de la Loi doit mentionner que, tant que le régime demeure composé de volets distincts, le passif de chaque volet et le compte correspondant de la caisse de retraite sont considérés distinctement du passif et du compte de tout autre volet aux fins de l’acquittement de la part qui revient au conjoint.
D. 1025-2013, a. 9.
10. Les renseignements que doivent contenir les relevés prévus aux articles 108, 112, 113 et 207.3 de la Loi sont établis pour chaque volet du régime de retraite comme s’il s’agissait de régimes de retraite distincts. Ces relevés doivent présenter séparément les renseignements relatifs à chacun de ces volets.
Ces relevés doivent également mentionner qu’aux fins de tout acquittement des droits des participants et des bénéficiaires du régime, tant que le régime demeure composé de volets distincts, le passif de chacun de ces volets et le compte correspondant de la caisse de retraite sont considérés distinctement du passif et du compte de tout autre volet.
D. 1025-2013, a. 10.
11. La Régie des rentes du Québec peut exiger d’un comité de retraite, d’un administrateur provisoire ou d’un employeur partie à un régime de retraite, aux conditions et dans les délais qu’elle fixe, tout document, renseignement ou rapport qu’elle estime nécessaire pour s’assurer du respect du présent règlement, notamment en ce qui a trait aux sommes à être transférées à chacun des volets antérieurs par suite de la terminaison d’un régime de retraite mentionné à l’annexe B.
D. 1025-2013, a. 11.
SECTION V
DISPOSITIONS DIVERSES
12. Le présent règlement n’a pas pour effet de créer, pour l’employeur partie aux régimes de retraite mentionnés à l’annexe A, des obligations à l’égard des régimes de retraite terminés mentionnés à l’annexe B.
D. 1025-2013, a. 12.
13. Malgré le deuxième alinéa de l’article 118 de la Loi, toute évaluation actuarielle prévue au premier alinéa de cet article et qui concerne le volet antérieur d’un régime de retraite doit être complète.
D. 1025-2013, a. 13.
14. (Omis).
D. 1025-2013, a. 14.
Annexe A
(a. 1, 2, 12)
Régimes de retraite


Numéro d’enregistrement Nom probable du régime au moment
attribué par la de son enregistrement
Régie des rentes du Québec


32197 Régime complémentaire de retraite des
employés syndiqués de la Société en
Commandite de Papier Masson WB


32198 Régime complémentaire de retraite des
employés syndiqués de la Société en
Commandite Stadacona WB


32199 Régime complémentaire de retraite des
employés syndiqués de la Société en
Commandite FF Soucy WB

D. 1025-2013, Ann. A.
Annexe B
(a. 1, 2, 11, 12)
Régimes de retraite terminés


Numéro d’enregistrement Nom du régime à la date de sa
auprès de la terminaison
Régie des rentes du Québec



24480 Régime de retraite des employés
syndiqués de Stadacona


26552 Régime complémentaire de retraite des
employés syndiqués d’usine
de F.F. Soucy


30735 Régime complémentaire de retraite des
employés syndiqués de bureau
de F.F. Soucy


31765 Régime de retraite des employés
syndiqués de PML

D. 1025-2013, Ann. B.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 1025-2013, 2013 G.O. 2, 4733