R-15.1, r. 6.1.01 - Regulation respecting target-benefit pension plans in certain pulp and paper sector enterprises

Full text
chapter R-15.1, r. 6.1.01
Regulation respecting target-benefit pension plans in certain pulp and paper sector enterprises
SUPPLEMENTAL PENSION PLANS ACT — TARGET-BENEFIT PENSION PLANS — PULP AND PAPER
Supplemental Pension Plans Act
(chapter R-15.1, s. 2, 2nd and 3rd pars.).
R-15.1
Act to provide for the establishment of target-benefit pension plans in certain pulp and paper sector enterprises
(2012, chapter 32).
November 6 2013
DIVISION 1
AFFECTED ENTERPRISES
1. A target-benefit pension plan can be established in an enterprise covered by the Act to provide for the establishment of target-benefit pension plans in certain pulp and paper sector enterprises (2012, chapter 32) where the conditions referred to in paragraphs 2 and 3 of section 1 of that Act are met between 30 December 2010 and 1 January 2014.
O.C. 1052-2013, s. 1.
DIVISION 2
ESTABLISHMENT AND EFFECTIVE DATE OF THE PLAN
2. A target-benefit pension plan may be established with regard to service affected by a component of a pension plan established in application of a regulation made pursuant to section 2 of the Supplemental Pension Plans Act (chapter R-15.1). It may be established as part of that pension plan or as a separate pension plan.
The target-benefit pension plan is effective as of the date on which the component is established.
O.C. 1052-2013, s. 2.
3. A pension plan established under this Regulation is said to be a “target-benefit pension plan”.
The provisions of the Supplemental Pension Plans Act (chapter R-15.1) apply to the target-benefit pension plan, except to the extent provided for under this Regulation. Moreover, in the case of a discrepancy, the provisions of this Regulation prevail over those of the Act.
O.C. 1052-2013, s. 3.
4. Where the target-benefit pension plan is established as a component of a pension plan, the provisions of this Regulation apply solely to the component, unless otherwise indicated, as though it were a separate pension plan. The provisions of a regulation referred to in the first paragraph of section 2, under which section the component is constituted, continue to apply thereto.
O.C. 1052-2013, s. 4.
DIVISION 3
CHARACTERISTICS
5. A target-benefit pension plan established under this Regulation must include the following characteristics:
(1)  the employer and member contributions as well as the method used for calculating those contributions are determined in advance;
(2)  the plan text determines the benefits target, including any ancillary benefit, on the basis of which the current service contribution is established;
(3)  the normal pension may vary according to the financial situation of the pension plan, as can any ancillary benefit provided for under the plan; the same variation being described in the actuarial valuation report for the plan;
(4)  notwithstanding section 39 of the Act, the employer contribution to the plan is limited to the one set out in the plan text;
(5)  the cost of the plan’s obligations, after deducting the employer contribution set out in the plan text, is charged solely to the members and beneficiaries of the plan, under the conditions provided for in section 27;
(6)  only the members and beneficiaries are entitled to surplus assets during the existence of the plan, as in the case of its termination;
(7)  the plan has no defined contribution provision nor provisions that, under a defined benefit plan, are identical to those of a defined contribution plan.
O.C. 1052-2013, s. 5.
6. A target-benefit plan constitutes, for the purposes of the Act, a defined benefit plan.
O.C. 1052-2013, s. 6.
DIVISION 4
FUNDING
§ 1.  — General
7. Notwithstanding section 42.1 of the Act, the employer may not exempt itself from the contributions it must pay by means of letter of credit nor may it exempt itself by the allocation of the surplus assets in whole or in part.
O.C. 1052-2013, s. 7.
8. The cost of the plan’s obligations as at the date of an actuarial valuation is equal to the sum of the following:
(1)  the current service contribution determined in accordance with section 138 of the Act;
(2)  the greater of the following amounts: the amortization payment determined in respect of the funding actuarial deficiency or the amortization payment determined in respect of the technical actuarial deficiency.
O.C. 1052-2013, s. 8.
9. At the date of an actuarial valuation of a target-benefit pension plan, the amortization payments related to any technical actuarial deficiency determined on the date of a previous actuarial valuation, where applicable, are eliminated.
The amortization period for such a technical actuarial deficiency ends, notwithstanding paragraph 1 of section 142 of the Act, no later than 10 years after the date of the actuarial valuation that determines the deficiency.
O.C. 1052-2013, s. 9.
10. No improvement unfunded actuarial liability may be determined with respect to a target-benefit pension plan.
O.C. 1052-2013, s. 10.
11. The value of the obligations arising from a target-benefit pension plan for credited service completed during the current fiscal year of the plan is determined based on the benefits target provided for under the plan.
O.C. 1052-2013, s. 11.
12. A portion of the contributions made to the plan may be allocated to establishing the reserve referred to in section 128 of the Act.
O.C. 1052-2013, s. 12.
13. The target-benefit pension plan may not provide for the payment of additional voluntary contributions nor may it allow any sums to be transferred to its fund from any other pension plan, even one not referred to in the Act.
O.C. 1052-2013, s. 13.
14. The maximum set in section 60 of the Act does not apply to member contributions to a target-benefit plan.
The provisions of section 60.1 of the Act do not apply to a target-benefit pension plan.
O.C. 1052-2013, s. 14.
15. The provision for adverse deviations, notwithstanding the regulatory provisions made under section 128 of the Act, is the one provided for under the target-benefit pension plan. It may not be less than 20% of the liabilities of the plan determined on a solvency basis.
Despite the foregoing, to determine the maximum amount of surplus assets that may be allocated, in application of the second paragraph of section 30, to the restoration of benefits that were reduced, the provision for adverse deviations provided for under the plan is reduced by 50%.
O.C. 1052-2013, s. 15.
§ 2.  — Conditions for payment of benefits
16. Notwithstanding the second paragraph of section 118 of the Act, any actuarial valuation of a target-benefit pension plan must be complete.
O.C. 1052-2013, s. 16.

R-15.1, r. 6.1.01 - Règlement concernant les régimes de retraite à prestations cibles de certaines entreprises du secteur des pâtes et papiers

Texte complet
chapitre R-15.1, r. 6.1.01
Règlement concernant les régimes de retraite à prestations cibles de certaines entreprises du secteur des pâtes et papiers
RÉGIMES COMPLÉMENTAIRES DE RETRAITE — PRESTATIONS CIBLES — PÂTES ET PAPIERS
Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite
(chapitre R-15.1, a. 2, 2e et 3e al.).
R-15.1
Loi permettant l’établissement de régimes de retraite à prestations cibles dans certaines entreprises du secteur des pâtes et papiers
(2012, chapitre 32).
6 novembre 2013
SECTION 1
ENTREPRISES VISÉES
1. Un régime de retraite à prestations cibles peut être établi dans une entreprise visée par la Loi permettant l’établissement de régimes de retraite à prestations cibles dans certaines entreprises du secteur des pâtes et papiers (2012, chapitre 32) si les circonstances mentionnées aux paragraphes 2 et 3 de l’article 1 de cette loi sont rencontrées entre le 30 décembre 2010 et le 1er janvier 2014.
D. 1052-2013, a. 1.
SECTION 2
ÉTABLISSEMENT ET ENTRÉE EN VIGUEUR DU RÈGIME
2. Un régime de retraite à prestations cibles peut être établi relativement aux services visés par un volet d’un régime de retraite constitué en application d’un règlement pris en vertu de l’article 2 de la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite (chapitre R-15.1). Il peut être établi soit dans ce régime de retraite, soit dans un régime distinct.
Le régime de retraite à prestations cibles doit avoir effet à compter de la date de la constitution du volet.
D. 1052-2013, a. 2.
3. Un régime de retraite établi selon le présent règlement est dit «régime à prestations cibles».
Les dispositions de la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite (chapitre R-15.1) s’appliquent au régime à prestations cibles sauf dans la mesure prévue par le présent règlement. En outre, en cas d’incompatibilité, les dispositions du présent règlement prévalent sur celles de la Loi.
D. 1052-2013, a. 3.
4. Si le régime à prestations cibles est établi en tant que volet d’un régime, les dispositions du présent règlement visent uniquement ce volet du régime, à moins d’indication contraire, comme s’il s’agissait d’un régime distinct. Les dispositions du règlement visé au premier alinéa de l’article 2, en application duquel est constitué ce volet, continuent par ailleurs de s’y appliquer.
D. 1052-2013, a. 4.
SECTION 3
CARACTÉRISTIQUES
5. Un régime à prestations cibles établi en vertu du présent règlement doit comporter les caractéristiques suivantes:
1°  les cotisations patronales et les cotisations salariales ou la méthode pour les calculer sont déterminées à l’avance;
2°  le régime détermine la cible des prestations, incluant toute prestation accessoire, en fonction de laquelle est établie la cotisation d’exercice;
3°  la rente normale peut varier en fonction de la situation financière du régime, de même que toute prestation accessoire prévue par le régime; pareille variation étant décrite dans le rapport relatif à l’évaluation actuarielle du régime;
4°  malgré l’article 39 de la Loi, la cotisation patronale au régime se limite à celle fixée par le régime;
5°  le coût des engagements du régime, déduction faite de la cotisation patronale qui y est fixée, est à la seule charge des participants et bénéficiaires du régime, selon les conditions prévues par l’article 27;
6°  seuls les participants et bénéficiaires ont droit à l’excédent d’actif en cours d’existence du régime tout comme en cas de terminaison de celui-ci;
7°  le régime ne comporte aucune disposition à cotisation déterminée ni de dispositions qui, dans un régime de retraite à prestations déterminées, sont identiques à celles d’un régime à cotisation déterminée.
D. 1052-2013, a. 5.
6. Un régime à prestations cibles constitue, pour l’application de la Loi, un régime à prestations déterminées.
D. 1052-2013, a. 6.
SECTION 4
FINANCEMENT
§ 1.  — Dispositions générales
7. L’employeur ne peut, malgré l’article 42.1 de la Loi, se libérer du paiement de ses cotisations au moyen d’une lettre de crédit. Il ne peut non plus en être libéré par affectation de tout ou partie de l’excédent d’actif du régime.
D. 1052-2013, a. 7.
8. Le coût des engagements du régime à la date d’une évaluation actuarielle est égal à la somme des montants suivants:
1°  la cotisation d’exercice, établie conformément à l’article 138 de la Loi;
2°  le plus élevé des montants suivants: la cotisation d’équilibre déterminée relativement au déficit actuariel de capitalisation ou la cotisation d’équilibre déterminée relativement au déficit actuariel technique.
D. 1052-2013, a. 8.
9. À la date d’une évaluation actuarielle du régime à prestations cibles, les cotisations d’équilibre relatives à tout déficit actuariel technique déterminé à la date d’une évaluation actuarielle antérieure, le cas échéant, sont éliminées.
La période d’amortissement d’un tel déficit se termine, malgré le paragraphe 1 de l’article 142 de la Loi, au plus tard 10 ans après la date de l’évaluation actuarielle qui détermine le déficit.
D. 1052-2013, a. 9.
10. Aucun déficit actuariel de modification ne peut être déterminé relativement à un régime à prestations cibles.
D. 1052-2013, a. 10.
11. La valeur des engagements nés d’un régime à prestations cibles au titre des services reconnus qui sont effectués au cours de l’exercice courant du régime est établie en fonction de la cible des prestations prévue par le régime.
D. 1052-2013, a. 11.
12. Une part des cotisations versées au régime peut être affectée à la constitution de la réserve visée à l’article 128 de la Loi.
D. 1052-2013, a. 12.
13. Le régime à prestations cibles ne peut permettre le versement de cotisations volontaires. Il ne peut non plus permettre qu’y soient transférées des sommes provenant d’un autre régime de retraite, même non visé par la Loi.
D. 1052-2013, a. 13.
14. Le plafond fixé par l’article 60 de la Loi ne s’applique pas aux cotisations salariales à un régime à prestations cibles.
Les dispositions de l’article 60.1 de la Loi ne s’appliquent pas à un régime à prestations cibles.
D. 1052-2013, a. 14.
15. La provision pour écarts défavorables est, malgré les dispositions réglementaires prises en vertu de l’article 128 de la Loi, celle que prévoit le régime à prestations cibles. Elle ne peut être inférieure à 20% du passif du régime établi selon l’approche de solvabilité.
Toutefois, pour établir le montant maximum d’excédent d’actif qui peut être affecté, en application du deuxième alinéa de l’article 30, au rétablissement de droits qui ont été réduits, la provision pour écarts défavorables prévue par le régime est réduite de 50%.
D. 1052-2013, a. 15.
§ 2.  — Conditions d’acquittement des droits
16. Toute évaluation actuarielle d’un régime à prestations cibles doit, malgré le deuxième alinéa de l’article 118 de la Loi, être complète.
D. 1052-2013, a. 16.