T-16, r. 6 - Supplementary benefits plan for judges covered by the pension plan provided for in Part V.1 of the Courts of Justice Act

Table of contents
Full text
chapter T-16, r. 6
Supplementary benefits plan for judges covered by the pension plan provided for in Part V.1 of the Courts of Justice Act
COURTS OF JUSTICE - SUPPLEMENTARY BENEFITS PLAN FOR JUDGES
Courts of Justice Act
(chapter T-16, ss. 122 and 122.1).
T-16
September 1 2012
In this Regulation, "judge" and "judges" also mean presiding justices of the peace, unless the context indicates otherwise. (S.Q. 2017, c. 30, s. 35)
DIVISION I
SCOPE
1. A plan providing for supplementary benefits payable from the date on which benefits become payable under the pension plan is hereby established for judges covered by the pension plan provided for in Part V.1 of the Courts of Justice Act (chapter T-16).
O.C. 695-2001, s. 1.
DIVISION II
COMPUTATION AND PAYMENT OF SUPPLEMENTARY BENEFITS
2. The annual supplementary benefits payable to a judge are equal to the amount obtained:
(1)  by multiplying the average salary by 3% per year of service used to compute the pension payable under the pension plan; and
(2)  by subtracting the pension amount from the amount obtained under subparagraph 1.
If the judge’s pension is reduced pursuant to the second paragraph of section 224.10 or section 224.16 of the Act, the amount obtained under subparagraph 1 of the first paragraph is reduced in the same way as the pension.
The first paragraph does not apply to the years of service credited pursuant to section 224.30 of the Act.
O.C. 695-2001, s. 2; O.C. 865-2010, s. 1; S.Q. 2017, c. 30, s. 26.
3. Special supplementary benefits shall be paid to a judge where the pension granted under the pension plan starts being paid after 30 December of the year in which he reached age 69. The benefits shall be equal to the amount obtained by multiplying the average salary by 3% per year of service comprised between 30 December of that year and either of the following dates, whichever comes first:
(1)  the date on which his pension becomes payable under the second paragraph of section 224.11 of the Act;
(2)  the date he reaches age 71.
If the pension is reduced pursuant to section 224.16 of the Act, the supplementary benefits are reduced in the same way as the pension.
The first paragraph does not apply to the years of service credited pursuant to section 224.30 of the Act.
O.C. 695-2001, s. 3; O.C. 865-2010, s. 2; S.Q. 2017, c. 30, s. 26.
4. Where the pension granted under the pension plan becomes payable in accordance with paragraph 3 of section 224.3 of the Act, if the sum of that pension and the supplementary benefits granted under this Plan is, before any reduction in the pension and benefits under section 224.16 of the Act, less than 55% of the average salary, the amount of supplementary benefits is increased so as to reach that percentage.
The amount of that increase is attributed to the judge’s last year of service considered for the purposes of this Plan. If the pension is reduced pursuant to section 224.16 of the Act, the new amount of supplementary benefits is reduced in the same way as the pension.
O.C. 695-2001, s. 4; O.C. 865-2010, s. 3; S.Q. 2017, c. 30, s. 27.
5. The sum of the supplementary benefits granted under this Plan and the pension granted under the pension plan may not be greater than 65% of the judge’s average salary before any reduction in those benefits and pension under section 224.16 of the Act.
O.C. 695-2001, s. 5; O.C. 865-2010, s. 4.
6. For the purposes of this Division, the average salary shall be determined in accordance with section 224.9 of the Act.
Notwithstanding the foregoing, in the case of a judge referred to in section 3, the annual salary for each year of service included in the period determined by that section shall also be taken into consideration.
O.C. 695-2001, s. 6; O.C. 865-2010, s. 5.
7. (Revoked).
O.C. 695-2001, s. 7; O.C. 865-2010, s. 6.
8. A judge’s supplementary benefits are for life and they become payable on the same date as his pension becomes payable under the pension plan.
O.C. 695-2001, s. 8.
9. When a retired judge dies, his benefits shall continue to be paid to his spouse or, failing that, to his heirs until the first day of the month following his death.
O.C. 695-2001, s. 9.
DIVISION III
CONTRIBUTIONS
10. The judge must pay to this Plan a contribution equal to 9% of the judge’s annual salary, less the contribution paid to the pension plan. From the date on which the judge has accumulated 21.7 years of service in the pension plan, the judge must pay to this Plan a contribution equal to 1% of the judge’s annual salary, less the contribution paid to the pension plan.
The first paragraph also applies, with the necessary modifications, to a judge who continues to exercises his or her functions after 30 December of the year in which age 69 is reached if payment of the judge’s pension has not begun.
For the purposes of this section, the annual salary of a judge shall be determined in accordance with section 224.2 of the Act.
The provisions of the Act regarding the refund of contributions to a judge, his spouse or heirs apply to contributions paid under this section.
O.C. 695-2001, s. 10; O.C. 865-2010, s. 7; S.Q. 2015, c. 11, s. 2; S.Q. 2017, c. 30, s. 28.
DIVISION IV
JUDGE HOLDING AN OFFICE AFTER RETIREMENT
11. A retired judge who is authorized by the Government, under section 93 of the Act, to exercise judicial functions shall continue to receive his supplementary benefits. He may not however become entitled to any additional benefits.
A retired judge receiving a salary for holding any other office with the Gouvernement du Québec or, in the case of a municipal court judge, any other office within the municipality shall continue to receive his supplementary benefits and his salary shall be reduced in accordance with the second sentence of the second paragraph of section 224.25 of the Act.
O.C. 695-2001, s. 11; O.C. 865-2010, s. 8.
DIVISION V
COMPUTATION AND PAYMENT OF SUPPLEMENTARY BENEFITS TO SPOUSE AND CHILDREN
12. A judge’s spouse and children are entitled, where a pension is payable to them in that capacity under the pension plan provided for in Part V.1 of the Act, to supplementary benefits computed in relation to those that the judge received or would have received and in the same proportion as that applied to establish the pension payable to them under Chapter V of that Part, excluding a reduction resulting from the application of section 224.15 of the Act.
Any supplementary benefits thus granted shall be paid until the day the recipient is no longer entitled to his pension under the pension plan.
O.C. 695-2001, s. 12; O.C. 865-2010, s. 9.
DIVISION VI
MISCELLANEOUS
13. Supplementary benefits shall be indexed each year in the manner provided for in section 224.23 of the Act.
O.C. 695-2001, s. 13.
13.1. Where Retraite Québec and Ville de Montréal, Ville de Laval or Ville de Québec enter into a transfer agreement under section 246.24 of the Act, that agreement must also apply to the judge’s supplementary benefits plan.
O.C. 865-2010, s. 10.
14. Supplementary benefits shall be paid at the intervals and on the conditions determined by a regulation made under section 148 of the Act respecting the Government and Public Employees Retirement Plan (chapter R-10).
O.C. 695-2001, s. 14.
15. The rules for the partition and assignment of benefits between spouses provided for in Part VI.2 of the Act and those established by the Government under the provisions of that Part which are applicable to benefits accumulated by the judge under his pension plan apply, with the necessary modifications, to the benefits accumulated by the judge under this Plan.
O.C. 695-2001, s. 15.
16. (Revoked).
O.C. 695-2001, s. 16; O.C. 865-2010, s. 11.
17. Municipalities shall pay their contribution to Retraite Québec on the 15th day of each month, in respect of municipal court judges covered by the pension plan provided for in Part V.1 of the Act.
Any amount of a payment that a municipality fails to make to Retraite Québec on the 15th day of the month bears interest, compounded annually, at the rate provided for in Schedule VI to the Act respecting the Government and Public Employees Retirement Plan (chapter R-10) from that date. Despite the foregoing, if, for a period or part of a period indicated in that Schedule, the rate provided for therein is less than the rate provided for in Schedule VII to that Act, the rate in Schedule VII applies for that period or part of a period.
O.C. 695-2001, s. 17; O.C. 865-2010, s. 12.
18. Within 30 days of the date of the statement of account sent by Retraite Québec, the municipalities shall pay their contributions and the interest payable on such contributions.
Any amount not paid within 30 days bears interest, compounded annually, from the date of the statement of account, at the rate provided for in Schedule VII to the Act respecting the Government and Public Employees Retirement Plan (chapter R-10) and applicable on that date.
O.C. 695-2001, s. 18; O.C. 865-2010, s. 13.
19. (Omitted).
O.C. 695-2001, s. 19.
REFERENCES
O.C. 695-2001, 2001 G.O. 2, 2804
O.C. 865-2010, 2010 G.O. 2, 2899
S.Q. 2015, c. 11, s. 2
S.Q. 2015, c. 20, s. 61
S.Q. 2017, c. 30, ss. 26, 27 and 28

T-16, r. 6 - Régime de prestations supplémentaires des juges auxquels s’applique le régime de retraite prévu à la Partie V.1 de la Loi sur les tribunaux judiciaires

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre T-16, r. 6
Régime de prestations supplémentaires des juges auxquels s’applique le régime de retraite prévu à la Partie V.1 de la Loi sur les tribunaux judiciaires
TRIBUNAUX JUDICIAIRES - RÉGIME DE PRESTATIONS SUPPLÉMENTAIRES DES JUGES
Loi sur les tribunaux judiciaires
(chapitre T-16, a. 122 et 122.1).
T-16
1er septembre 2012
SECTION I
CHAMP D’APPLICATION DU RÉGIME
1. Est établi à l’égard des juges auxquels s’applique le régime de retraite prévu à la Partie V.1 de la Loi sur les tribunaux judiciaires (chapitre T-16), un régime de prestations supplémentaires payables à compter de la date à laquelle des prestations deviennent payables en vertu du régime de retraite.
D. 695-2001, a. 1.
SECTION II
CALCUL ET PAIEMENT DES PRESTATIONS SUPPLÉMENTAIRES
2. La prestation annuelle supplémentaire payable au juge est égale au montant obtenu par le calcul suivant:
1°  en multipliant le traitement moyen par 3% par année de service servant au calcul de la pension payable en vertu du régime de retraite;
2°  en soustrayant le montant de la pension du montant obtenu au paragraphe 1.
Si la pension du juge est réduite en application du deuxième alinéa de l’article 224.10 ou de l’article 224.16 de la Loi, le montant obtenu au paragraphe 1 du premier alinéa est réduit de la même manière que la pension.
Le premier alinéa ne s’applique pas aux années de service créditées en application de l’article 224.30 de la Loi.
D. 695-2001, a. 2; D. 865-2010, a. 1; L.Q. 2017, c. 30, a. 26.
3. Une prestation supplémentaire spéciale est versée au juge lorsque le service de la pension qui lui est accordée en vertu du régime de retraite a débuté après le 30 décembre de l’année au cours de laquelle il a atteint l’âge de 69 ans. Cette prestation est égale au montant obtenu en multipliant le traitement moyen par 3% par année de service comprise entre le 30 décembre de cette année et la première des dates suivantes:
1°  la date à laquelle sa pension devient payable en vertu du deuxième alinéa de l’article 224.11 de la Loi;
2°  la date de son 71e anniversaire.
Si la pension est réduite en application de l’article 224.16 de la Loi, la prestation supplémentaire est réduite de la même manière que la pension.
Le premier alinéa ne s’applique pas aux années de service créditées en application de l’article 224.30 de la Loi.
D. 695-2001, a. 3; D. 865-2010, a. 2; L.Q. 2017, c. 30, a. 26.
4. Dans le cas où la pension accordée en vertu du régime de retraite devient payable conformément au paragraphe 3 de l’article 224.3 de la Loi, si le total du montant de cette pension et du montant des prestations supplémentaires accordées en vertu du présent régime est, avant que cette pension et ces prestations ne soient, le cas échéant, réduites conformément à l’article 224.16 de la Loi, inférieur à 55% du traitement moyen, le montant des prestations supplémentaires est augmenté de façon à ce que ce pourcentage soit atteint.
Le montant de cette augmentation est attribué à la dernière année de service du juge qui est considérée aux fins du présent régime. Si la pension est réduite en application de l’article 224.16 de la Loi, le nouveau montant des prestations supplémentaires est réduit de la même manière que la pension.
D. 695-2001, a. 4; D. 865-2010, a. 3; L.Q. 2017, c. 30, a. 27.
5. Le total du montant des prestations supplémentaires accordées au juge en vertu du présent régime et du montant de la pension accordée en vertu du régime de retraite ne peut être supérieur à 65% de son traitement moyen avant que ces prestations et cette pension ne soient, le cas échéant, réduites conformément à l’article 224.16 de la Loi.
D. 695-2001, a. 5; D. 865-2010, a. 4.
6. Pour l’application de la présente section, le traitement moyen est déterminé conformément à l’article 224.9 de la Loi.
Toutefois, dans le cas du juge visé à l’article 3, le traitement annuel de chaque année de service comprise dans la période déterminée par cet article doit être également pris en considération.
D. 695-2001, a. 6; D. 865-2010, a. 5.
7. (Abrogé).
D. 695-2001, a. 7; D. 865-2010, a. 6.
8. Les prestations supplémentaires du juge sont viagères et elles sont payables à compter de la date à laquelle sa pension devient payable en vertu du régime de retraite.
D. 695-2001, a. 8.
9. Au décès du juge à la retraite, ses prestations continuent d’être versées à son conjoint ou, à défaut, à ses héritiers jusqu’au premier jour du mois suivant le décès.
D. 695-2001, a. 9.
SECTION III
COTISATIONS
10. Le juge doit verser au présent régime une cotisation égale à 9% de son traitement annuel, moins celle versée au régime de retraite. À compter de la date à laquelle le juge a accumulé 21,7 années de service au régime de retraite, il doit verser au présent régime une cotisation égale à 1% de son traitement annuel, moins celle versée au régime de retraite.
Le premier alinéa s’applique également, compte tenu des adaptations nécessaires, au juge qui continue d’exercer sa charge après le 30 décembre de l’année au cours de laquelle il a atteint l’âge de 69 ans si le service de sa pension n’a pas débuté.
Aux fins du présent article, le traitement annuel du juge est déterminé conformément à l’article 224.2 de la Loi.
Les dispositions de la Loi relatives au remboursement de cotisations à un juge, à son conjoint ou à ses héritiers s’appliquent aux cotisations versées en vertu du présent article.
D. 695-2001, a. 10; D. 865-2010, a. 7; L.Q. 2015, c. 11, a. 2; L.Q. 2017, c. 30, a. 28.
SECTION IV
EXERCICE D’UNE CHARGE PAR UN JUGE À LA RETRAITE
11. Le juge à la retraite qui est autorisé par le gouvernement, en vertu de l’article 93 de la Loi, à exercer des fonctions judiciaires continue de recevoir ses prestations supplémentaires. Il ne peut cependant acquérir aucun droit à un montant supplémentaire de prestation.
Le juge à la retraite qui reçoit un traitement pour l’exercice de quelque autre charge sous le gouvernement du Québec ou, dans le cas d’un juge d’une cour municipale, de quelque autre charge au sein de la municipalité, continue de recevoir ses prestations supplémentaires et son traitement est réduit conformément à la deuxième phrase du deuxième alinéa de l’article 224.25 de la Loi.
D. 695-2001, a. 11; D. 865-2010, a. 8.
SECTION V
CALCUL ET PAIEMENT DES PRESTATIONS SUPPLÉMENTAIRES DU CONJOINT ET DES ENFANTS
12. Le conjoint et les enfants d’un juge ont droit, lorsqu’une pension leur est, à ce titre, payable en vertu du régime de retraite prévu à la Partie V.1 de la Loi, à une prestation supplémentaire calculée en fonction de celle que le juge recevait ou aurait reçue et dans la même proportion que celle appliquée pour l’établissement du montant de la pension qui leur est payable en vertu du chapitre V de cette Partie, à l’exclusion d’une diminution résultant de l’application de l’article 224.15 de la Loi.
Toute prestation supplémentaire ainsi accordée est versée jusqu’au jour où le bénéficiaire cesse d’avoir droit à sa pension en vertu du régime de retraite.
D. 695-2001, a. 12; D. 865-2010, a. 9.
SECTION VI
DISPOSITIONS DIVERSES
13. Toute prestation supplémentaire est indexée annuellement de la manière prévue à l’article 224.23 de la Loi.
D. 695-2001, a. 13.
13.1. Lorsque Retraite Québec et la Ville de Montréal, la Ville de Laval ou la Ville de Québec concluent une entente de transfert en vertu de l’article 246.24 de la Loi, cette entente doit également viser le régime de prestations supplémentaires du juge.
D. 865-2010, a. 10.
14. Toute prestation supplémentaire est payée aux époques et selon les conditions fixées par règlement édicté en application de l’article 148 de la Loi sur le régime de retraite des employés du gouvernement et des organismes publics (chapitre R-10).
D. 695-2001, a. 14.
15. Les règles de partage et de cession de droits entre conjoints prévues à la Partie VI.2 de la Loi et celles que le gouvernement a édictées en vertu des dispositions de cette Partie qui sont applicables aux droits accumulés par le juge au titre de son régime de retraite s’appliquent, compte tenu des adaptations nécessaires, aux droits accumulés par ce juge au titre du présent régime.
D. 695-2001, a. 15.
16. (Abrogé).
D. 695-2001, a. 16; D. 865-2010, a. 11.
17. Les municipalités doivent effectuer, à l’égard des juges des cours municipales auxquels s’applique le régime de retraite prévu à la Partie V.1 de la Loi, le versement de leur contribution à Retraite Québec, le 15e jour de chaque mois.
Tout montant de versement qu’une municipalité omet d’effectuer à Retraite Québec le 15e jour du mois, est augmenté d’un intérêt, composé annuellement, au taux prévu à l’annexe VI de la Loi sur le régime de retraite des employés du gouvernement et des organismes publics (chapitre R-10) à compter de cette date. Toutefois, pour une période ou une partie de période indiquée à cette annexe, si le taux qui y est prévu est inférieur à celui prévu à l’annexe VII de cette loi, ce dernier taux s’applique pour cette période ou partie de période.
D. 695-2001, a. 17; D. 865-2010, a. 12.
18. Les municipalités doivent, dans les 30 jours de la date de l’état de compte expédié par Retraite Québec, payer le montant de leur contribution et des intérêts payables sur ces contributions.
Toute somme non payée dans les 30 jours est augmentée d’un intérêt, composé annuellement, au taux prévu à l’annexe VII de la Loi sur le régime de retraite des employés du gouvernement et des organismes publics (chapitre R-10) applicable à la date de l’état de compte, et calculé à compter de cette date.
D. 695-2001, a. 18; D. 865-2010, a. 13.
19. (Omis).
D. 695-2001, a. 19.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 695-2001, 2001 G.O. 2, 3760
D. 865-2010, 2010 G.O. 2, 4309
L.Q. 2015, c. 11, a. 2
L.Q. 2015, c. 20, a. 61
L.Q. 2017, c. 30, a. 26, 27 et 28