E-3.3, r. 9 - Regulation respecting the determination of the candidates entitled to recommend certain election officers

Table of contents
Full text
chapter E-3.3, r. 9
Regulation respecting the determination of the candidates entitled to recommend certain election officers
ELECTIONS — CERTAIN ELECTION OFFICERS
Election Act
(chapter E-3.3, ss. 311 and 550).
E-3.3
September 1 2012
Decision 89-03-23; Decision 2000-12-20, ss. 1 and 2; Decision 2001-06-15, s. 1; Decision 2004-03-31, s. 1.
DIVISION I
GENERAL
1. The Interpretation Act (chapter I-16) applies to this Regulation.
Decision 89-03-23, s. 1.
DIVISION II
NEW OR CHANGED ELECTORAL DIVISION
2. In a new electoral division or an electoral division whose boundaries have been changed since the last election, the Chief Electoral Officer shall reapportion the results of the last election to the electoral precincts and polling subdivisions included in the new electoral division by calculating the number of valid votes attributed to the candidates of authorized parties and to independent Members elected as such.
A deputy returning officer shall be recommended by the candidate of an authorized party or by the independent Member elected as such who received the greatest number of votes after a reapportionment made under the first paragraph.
A poll clerk shall be recommended by the candidate of an authorized party or by the independent Member elected as such who received the second greatest number of votes after reapportionment.
Decision 89-03-23, s. 2.
3. If the independent candidate who would have been entitled to recommend the deputy returning officer according to the criteria in section 2 is not a candidate or if the party whose candidate would have been entitled to make such a recommendation does not put up a candidate, the deputy returning officer shall be recommended by the candidate who would have been entitled to recommend the poll clerk.
The poll clerk shall then be recommended by the candidate of the authorized party that came next in order after reapportionment.
Decision 89-03-23, s. 3.
4. If the independent candidate who would have been entitled to recommend the poll clerk according to the criteria in section 2 is not a candidate or if the party whose candidate would have been entitled to make such a recommendation does not put up a candidate, the poll clerk shall be recommended by the candidate of the authorized party that came next in order after reapportionment.
Decision 89-03-23, s. 4.
5. If the independent candidate who would have been entitled to recommend the deputy returning officer according to the criteria in section 2 is not a candidate or if the party whose candidate would have been entitled to make such a recommendation does not put up a candidate, and if the party whose candidate would have been entitled to recommend the poll clerk under this section does not put up a candidate, the deputy returning officer and the poll clerk shall be recommended by the candidates of the authorized parties that came next in order after reapportionment.
Decision 89-03-23, s. 5.
DIVISION III
ELECTORAL DIVISION WHERE NO CANDIDATE OF AN AUTHORIZED PARTY CAME SECOND
6. In an electoral division where no candidate of an authorized party came second in the last election, the deputy returning officer shall be recommended by the candidate of the authorized party whose candidate came first in the last election or by the independent Member elected as such if he runs for re-election.
The poll clerk shall be recommended by the candidate of the authorized party whose candidate came next in order in the preceding election.
Decision 89-03-23, s. 6.
7. If the independent candidate who would have been entitled to recommend the deputy returning officer according to the criteria in section 6 is not a candidate or if the party whose candidate would have been entitled to make such a recommendation does not put up a candidate, the deputy returning officer shall be recommended by the candidate who would have been entitled to recommend the poll clerk.
The poll clerk shall then be recommended by the candidate of the authorized party whose candidate came next in order in the preceding election.
Decision 89-03-23, s. 7.
8. If the party whose candidate would have been entitled to recommend the poll clerk according to the criteria in section 6 does not put up a candidate, the poll clerk shall be recommended by the candidate of the authorized party whose candidate came next in order in the preceding election.
Decision 89-03-23, s. 8.
9. If the independent candidate who would have been entitled to recommend the deputy returning officer according to the criteria in section 6 is not a candidate or if the party whose candidate would have been entitled to make such a recommendation does not put up a candidate, and if the party whose candidate would have been entitled to recommend the poll clerk under this section does not put up a candidate, the deputy returning officer and the poll clerk shall be recommended by the candidates of the authorized parties whose candidates came next in order respectively in the preceding election.
Decision 89-03-23, s. 9.
DIVISION IV
SPECIAL CRITERIA
10. For the purposes of Divisions II and III:
(a)  if the results of a reapportionment or of the preceding election do not point to any candidate of an authorized party as entitled to make a recommendation, the recommendation shall be made by one of the following candidates, in the order indicated, provided that the candidate has not already been entitled to recommend a deputy returning officer or a poll clerk, as the case may be:
i.  the candidate of the authorized party forming the Government;
ii.  the candidate of the authorized party forming the Official Opposition;
iii.  the candidate of an authorized party represented in the National Assembly, beginning with the candidate whose party has the most Members;
iv.  the candidate of an authorized party not represented in the National Assembly;
v.  an independent candidate;
(b)  in the case of a tie, the returning officer shall draw lots in the presence of the candidates or their representatives or, failing them, 2 electors. The same procedure will be followed in the case of competition between candidates covered by subparagraphs iv or v of paragraph a.
Decision 89-03-23, s. 10; Erratum, 1989 G.O. 2, 3727.
DIVISION IV.1
IDENTIFY VERIFICATION PANEL MEMBERS
Decision 2000-12-20, s. 3, Erratum, 2001 G.O. 2, 1829.
10.1. Divisions II, III and IV apply with the necessary modifications to the determination of the candidates entitled to recommend identity verification panel member appointments.
Decision 2000-12-20, s. 3.
DIVISION IV.2
OFFICERS ASSIGNED TO THE LIST OF ELECTORS
Decision 2001-06-15, s. 2.
10.2. Divisions II, III and IV apply with the necessary modifications to the determination of the candidates entitled to recommend officers assigned to the list of electors.
Decision 2001-06-15, s. 2.
DIVISION V
FINAL
11. (Omitted).
Decision 89-03-23, s. 11.
12. (Omitted).
Decision 89-03-23, s. 12.
REFERENCES
Decision 89-03-23, 1989 G.O. 2, 1577 and 3727
Decision 2000-12-20, 2001 G.O. 2, 1183 and 1829
Decision 2001-06-15, 2001 G.O. 2, 3562
Decision 2004-03-31, 2004 G.O. 2, 1286

E-3.3, r. 9 - Règlement sur l’identification des candidats ayant le droit de faire les recommandations pour certains membres du personnel électoral

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre E-3.3, r. 9
Règlement sur l’identification des candidats ayant le droit de faire les recommandations pour certains membres du personnel électoral
ÉLECTIONS — CERTAINS MEMBRES DU PERSONNEL ÉLECTORAL
Loi électorale
(chapitre E-3.3, a. 311 et 550).
E-3.3
1er septembre 2012
Décision 89-03-23; Décision 2000-12-20, a. 1 et 2; Décision 2001-06-15, a. 1; Décision 2004-03-31, a. 1.
SECTION I
DISPOSITION GÉNÉRALE
1. La Loi d’interprétation (chapitre I-16) s’applique au présent règlement.
Décision 89-03-23, a. 1.
SECTION II
CIRCONSCRIPTION ÉLECTORALE NOUVELLE OU MODIFIÉE
2. Dans une nouvelle circonscription électorale ou dans une circonscription électorale dont la délimitation a été changée depuis la dernière élection, le directeur général des élections transpose les résultats obtenus lors de la dernière élection dans les secteurs électoraux et les sections de vote compris dans la nouvelle circonscription électorale, en calculant le nombre de votes valides attribués aux candidats des partis autorisés et aux députés indépendants élus comme tels.
Le scrutateur est recommandé par le candidat du parti autorisé ou par le député indépendant élu comme tel qui a obtenu le plus grand nombre de votes d’après la transposition effectuée en vertu du premier alinéa.
Le secrétaire du bureau de vote est recommandé par le candidat du parti autorisé ou par le député indépendant élu comme tel qui a obtenu le deuxième plus grand nombre de votes d’après la transposition.
Décision 89-03-23, a. 2.
3. Si le candidat indépendant qui aurait eu le droit de recommander le scrutateur selon les critères de l’article 2 ne pose pas sa candidature ou, si le parti dont le candidat aurait eu le droit de faire une telle recommandation ne présente pas de candidat, le scrutateur est recommandé par le candidat qui aurait eu le droit de recommander le secrétaire du bureau de vote.
Le secrétaire du bureau de vote est alors recommandé par le candidat du parti autorisé qui, d’après la transposition, s’est le mieux classé par la suite.
Décision 89-03-23, a. 3.
4. Si le candidat indépendant qui aurait eu le droit de recommander le secrétaire du bureau de vote selon les critères de l’article 2 ne pose pas sa candidature ou, si le parti dont le candidat aurait eu le droit de faire une telle recommandation ne présente pas de candidat, le secrétaire du bureau de vote est recommandé par le candidat du parti autorisé qui, d’après la transposition, s’est le mieux classé par la suite.
Décision 89-03-23, a. 4.
5. Si le candidat indépendant qui aurait eu le droit de recommander le scrutateur selon les critères de l’article 2 ne pose pas sa candidature ou, si le parti dont le candidat aurait eu le droit de faire une telle recommandation ne présente pas de candidat et si le parti dont le candidat aurait eu le droit de recommander le secrétaire du bureau de vote en vertu de cet article ne présente pas de candidat, le scrutateur et le secrétaire du bureau de vote sont recommandés par les candidats des partis autorisés qui, d’après la transposition, se sont respectivement les mieux classés par la suite.
Décision 89-03-23, a. 5.
SECTION III
CIRCONSCRIPTION ÉLECTORALE OÙ AUCUN CANDIDAT D’UN PARTI AUTORISÉ NE S’EST CLASSÉ DEUXIÈME
6. Dans une circonscription électorale où aucun candidat d’un parti autorisé ne s’est classé deuxième lors de la dernière élection, le scrutateur est recommandé par le candidat du parti autorisé dont le candidat s’est classé premier lors de la dernière élection ou par le député indépendant élu comme tel s’il se présente à nouveau.
Le secrétaire du bureau de vote est recommandé par le candidat du parti autorisé dont le candidat à l’élection précédente s’est le mieux classé par la suite.
Décision 89-03-23, a. 6.
7. Si le candidat indépendant qui aurait eu le droit de recommander le scrutateur selon les critères de l’article 6 ne pose pas sa candidature ou, si le parti dont le candidat aurait eu le droit de faire une telle recommandation ne présente pas de candidat, le scrutateur est recommandé par le candidat qui aurait eu le droit de recommander le secrétaire du bureau de vote.
Le secrétaire du bureau de vote est alors recommandé par le candidat du parti autorisé dont le candidat à l’élection précédente s’est le mieux classé par la suite.
Décision 89-03-23, a. 7.
8. Si le parti dont le candidat aurait eu le droit de recommander le secrétaire du bureau de vote selon les critères de l’article 6 ne présente pas de candidat, le secrétaire du bureau de vote est recommandé par le candidat du parti autorisé dont le candidat à l’élection précédente s’est le mieux classé par la suite.
Décision 89-03-23, a. 8.
9. Si le candidat indépendant qui aurait eu le droit de recommander le scrutateur selon les critères de l’article 6 ne pose pas sa candidature ou, si le parti dont le candidat aurait eu le droit de faire une telle recommandation ne présente pas de candidat, et si le parti dont le candidat aurait eu le droit de recommander le secrétaire du bureau de vote en vertu de cet article ne présente pas de candidat, le scrutateur et le secrétaire du bureau de vote sont recommandés par les candidats des partis autorisés dont les candidats à l’élection précédente se sont respectivement les mieux classés par la suite.
Décision 89-03-23, a. 9.
SECTION IV
CRITÈRES SUPPLÉTIFS
10. Pour les fins des sections II et III:
a)  si les résultats d’une transposition ou ceux de l’élection précédente ne permettent pas de trouver un candidat d’un parti autorisé qui a droit de faire la recommandation, celle-ci est faite par l’un des candidats suivants, dans l’ordre indiqué, pourvu que ce candidat n’ait pas déjà le droit de recommander le scrutateur ou le secrétaire du bureau de vote, selon le cas:
i.  le candidat du parti autorisé formant le gouvernement;
ii.  le candidat du parti autorisé formant l’opposition officielle;
iii.  le candidat d’un parti autorisé représenté à l’Assemblée nationale, en commençant par celui dont le parti a le plus de députés;
iv.  le candidat d’un parti autorisé non représenté à l’Assemblée nationale;
v.  le candidat indépendant;
b)  en cas d’inégalité, le directeur du scrutin procède au tirage au sort en présence des candidats ou de leur représentant ou, à défaut, de 2 électeurs. Il en est de même, en cas de concurrence entre candidats du sous-paragraphe iv ou du sous-paragraphe v du paragraphe a.
Décision 89-03-23, a. 10.
SECTION IV.1
MEMBRES DE LA TABLE DE VÉRIFICATION DE L’IDENTITÉ DES ÉLECTEURS
Décision 2000-12-20, a. 3.
10.1. Les sections II, III et IV s’appliquent à l’identification des candidats ayant le droit de faire les recommandations des membres de la table de vérification de l’identité des électeurs compte tenu des adaptations nécessaires.
Décision 2000-12-20, a. 3.
SECTION IV.2
PRÉPOSÉS À LA LISTE ÉLECTORALE
Décision 2001-06-15, a. 2.
10.2. Les sections II, III et IV s’appliquent à l’identification des candidats ayant le droit de faire les recommandations des préposés à la liste électorale compte tenu des adaptations nécessaires.
Décision 2001-06-15, a. 2.
SECTION V
DISPOSITIONS FINALES
11. (Omis).
Décision 89-03-23, a. 11.
12. (Omis).
Décision 89-03-23, a. 12.
RÉFÉRENCES
Décision 89-03-23, 1989 G.O. 2, 1972 et 4954
Décision 2000-12-20, 2001 G.O. 2, 1343
Décision 2001-06-15, 2001 G.O. 2, 4618
Décision 2004-03-31, 2004 G.O. 2, 1877