C-11, r. 9 - Regulation respecting the language of commerce and business

Table of contents
Full text
chapter C-11, r. 9
Regulation respecting the language of commerce and business
CHARTER OF THE FRENCH LANGUAGE — LANGUAGE OF COMMERCE AND BUSINESS
Charter of the French language
(chapter C-11, ss. 54.1, 58 and 67)
C-11
September 1 2012
DIVISION I
EXCEPTIONS TO SECTION 51 OF THE CHARTER OF THE FRENCH LANGUAGE
1. For the purposes of this Division and unless the context indicates otherwise, any provision applicable to an inscription on a product also applies, with the necessary modifications, to an inscription on its container or wrapping or on a leaflet, brochure or card supplied with it, including the directions for use and the warranty certificates.
O.C. 1756-93, s. 1.
2. An inscription on a cultural or educational product such as a book, magazine, publication, disk, film or tape, or on a non-promotional greeting card, appointment book or calendar, may be exclusively in a language other than French if the content is in a language other than French or if the cultural or educational product, greeting card, appointment book or calendar has no language content.
O.C. 1756-93, s. 2.
3. An inscription on a product may be exclusively in a language other than French in the following cases:
(1)  the product is intended for a market outside Québec;
(2)  the inscription appears on a container used in interprovincial or international transportation of merchandise;
(3)  the product is from outside Québec, has not yet been marketed in Québec and is being exhibited at a convention, conference, fair or exhibition;
(4)  the product is from outside Québec, is intended for incorporation into a finished product or for use in a manufacturing, processing or repair operation and is not offered in Québec for retail sale;
(5)  the product is from outside Québec and is in limited use in Québec and no equivalent substitute presented in French is available in Québec; or
(6)  the product is from outside Québec and the inscription is engraved, baked or inlaid in the product itself, riveted or welded to it or embossed on it, in a permanent manner. However, inscriptions concerning safety must be written in French and appear on the product or accompany it in a permanent manner.
O.C. 1756-93, s. 3.
4. An inscription embossed on a tire may be exclusively in a language other than French.
O.C. 1756-93, s. 4.
5. An inscription on the original wrapping of perishable food from outside Québec may be exclusively in a language other than French provided that the food is not offered for retail sale in that wrapping.
O.C. 1756-93, s. 5.
6. An inscription on a product from outside Québec to be used for medical, pharmaceutical or scientific purposes or an inscription on the container of such a product may be exclusively in a language other than French provided that the French version of the inscription appears on the wrapping of the product or on a document supplied with the product and either of the following conditions is met:
(1)  the product is not offered in Québec for retail sale and no equivalent substitute presented in French is available in Québec; or
(2)  the product weighs 100 g or less or its container has a capacity of 10 cm3 or less or 10 ml or less.
O.C. 1756-93, s. 6.
7. The following inscriptions on a product may be exclusively in a language other than French:
(1)  the name of a firm established exclusively outside Québec;
(2)  a name of origin, the denomination of an exotic product or foreign specialty, a heraldic motto or any other non-commercial motto;
(3)  a place name designating a place situated outside Québec or a place name in such other language as officialized by the Commission de toponymie du Québec, a family name, a given name or the name of a personality or character or a distinctive name of a cultural nature; and
(4)  a recognized trade mark within the meaning of the Trade Marks Act (R.S.C. 1985, c. T-13), unless a French version has been registered.
O.C. 1756-93, s. 7.
8. A toy or game the operation of which requires the use of a non-French vocabulary may bear an inscription that is exclusively in a language other than French provided that a French version of the toy or game is available on no less favourable terms on the Québec market.
O.C. 1756-93, s. 8.
8.1. A list of the ingredients of a cosmetic may be written according to the conditions prescribed by the Cosmetic Regulations (C.R.C., c. 869).
O.C. 770-2006, s. 1.
9. Nothing in this Division precludes the inscription on a product of any artificial combination of letters, syllables or figures or of pictographs, figures or initials.
O.C. 1756-93, s. 9.
DIVISION II
EXCEPTIONS TO SECTION 52 OF THE CHARTER OF THE FRENCH LANGUAGE
10. Catalogues, brochures, folders, commercial directories and any similar publications may be in 2 separate versions, one exclusively in French, the other exclusively in another language, provided that the material presentation of the French version is available under no less favourable conditions of accessibility and quality than the version in the other language.
However, the version exclusively in another language may be inserted in a news publication published exclusively in that language; it may also be sent to any natural person having made a written request to receive such documents in that other language.
In addition, catalogues, brochures, folders, commercial directories and any similar publications intended for persons belonging to the same ethnical group may be written only in the language of such group.
O.C. 1756-93, s. 10.
11. Catalogues, brochures, folders, commercial directories and any similar publications concerning a cultural or educational product within the meaning of section 2, concerning a cultural or educational activity such as a show, recital, speech, lecture, course, seminar or radio or television program or promoting a news medium may be exclusively in a language other than French provided that the content of the cultural or educational product is in that other language, the activity is held in that other language or the news medium publishes or broadcasts in that other language, as the case may be.
O.C. 1756-93, s. 11.
12. Catalogues, brochures, folders, commercial directories and any similar publications relating to a convention, conference, fair or exhibition, intended solely for a specialized or limited public, may be exclusively in a language other than French.
O.C. 1756-93, s. 12.
13. In catalogues, brochures, folders, commercial directories and any similar publications, the following may appear exclusively in a language other than French:
(1)  the name of a firm established exclusively outside Québec;
(2)  a name of origin, the denomination of an exotic product or foreign specialty, a heraldic motto or any other non-commercial motto;
(3)  a place name designating a place situated outside Québec or a place name in such other language as officialized by the Commission de toponymie du Québec, a family name, a given name or the name of a personality or character or a distinctive name of a cultural nature; and
(4)  a recognized trade mark within the meaning of the Trade Marks Act (R.S.C. 1985, c. T-13), unless a French version has been registered.
O.C. 1756-93, s. 13.
14. Nothing in this Division precludes the use of any artificial combination of letters, syllables or figures or the use of pictographs, figures or initials in catalogues, brochures, folders, commercial directories and any similar publications.
O.C. 1756-93, s. 14.
DIVISION III
PUBLIC SIGNS AND POSTERS AND COMMERCIAL ADVERTISING
15. A firm’s commercial advertising, displayed on billboards, on signs or posters or on any other medium having an area of 16 m2 or more and visible from any public highway within the meaning of section 4 of the Highway Safety Code (chapter C-24.2), must be exclusively in French unless the advertising is displayed on the very premises of an establishment of the firm.
O.C. 1756-93, s. 15.
16. A firm’s commercial advertising on or in any public means of transportation and on or in the accesses thereto, including bus shelters, must be exclusively in French.
O.C. 1756-93, s. 16.
17. Public signs and posters displayed on or in a vehicle regularly used to transport passengers or merchandise, both in Québec and outside Québec, may be both in French and in another language provided that French appears at least as prominently.
O.C. 1756-93, s. 17.
18. Public signs and posters concerning health or public safety may be both in French and in another language provided that French appears at least as prominently.
O.C. 1756-93, s. 18.
19. Public signs and posters of a museum, botanical garden, zoo or cultural or scientific exhibition may, on the premises thereof, be both in French and in another language provided that French appears at least as prominently.
O.C. 1756-93, s. 19.
20. Public signs and posters and commercial advertising concerning an event intended for an international public or an event in which the majority of participants come from outside Québec, where directly related to the nature and recognized purpose of the event, may be both in French and in another language provided that French appears at least as prominently.
O.C. 1756-93, s. 20.
21. A public sign or poster bearing directions for the use of a device permanently installed in a public place may be both in French and in another language provided that French appears at least as prominently.
O.C. 1756-93, s. 21.
22. Unless the vehicle used is a news medium which publishes or broadcasts in French, public signs and posters and commercial advertising concerning a cultural or educational product within the meaning of section 2, a cultural or educational activity within the meaning of section 11 or a news medium may be exclusively in a language other than French provided that the content of the cultural or educational product is in that other language, the activity is held in that other language or the news medium publishes or broadcasts in that other language, as the case may be.
O.C. 1756-93, s. 22.
23. Public signs and posters displayed by a natural person for non-professional and non-commercial purposes may be in the language of the person’s choice.
O.C. 1756-93, s. 23.
24. Public signs and posters and commercial advertising concerning a convention, conference, fair or exhibition intended solely for a specialized or limited public may, during the event, be exclusively in a language other than French.
O.C. 1756-93, s. 24.
25. On public signs and posters and in commercial advertising, the following may appear exclusively in a language other than French:
(1)  the firm name of a firm established exclusively outside Québec;
(2)  a name of origin, the denomination of an exotic product or foreign specialty, a heraldic motto or any other non-commercial motto;
(3)  a place name designating a place situated outside Québec or a place name in such other language as officialized by the Commission de toponymie du Québec, a family name, a given name or the name of a personality or character or a distinctive name of a cultural nature; and
(4)  a recognized trade mark within the meaning of the Trade Marks Act (R.S.C. 1985, c. T-13), unless a French version has been registered.
O.C. 1756-93, s. 25.
25.1. Where a trade mark is displayed outside an immovable only in a language other than French under paragraph 4 of section 25, a sufficient presence of French must also be ensured on the site, in accordance with this Regulation.
For the purposes of the first paragraph, the presence of French refers to a sign or poster with
(1)  a generic term or a description of the products or services concerned;
(2)  a slogan;
(3)  any other term or indication, favouring the display of information pertaining to the products or services to the benefit of consumers or persons frequenting the site.
25.2. For the purposes of sections 25.1 to 25.5,
(1)  trade mark signs or posters outside an immovable means the signs or posters related or attached to an immovable, including its roof, regardless of the materials or method of attachment used; the signs or posters include, in particular, projecting or perpendicular signs, and signs or posters on a bollard or other independent structure.
The following signs and posters are considered to be outside an immovable:
(a)  signs or posters outside premises situated in an immovable or a larger property complex. Signs or posters outside premises situated in a mall or a shopping centre, underground or not, are included;
(b)  signs or posters inside an immovable or premises, if their installation or characteristics are intended to be seen from the outside.
Trade mark signs or posters appearing on a bollard or other independent structure, including a totem type structure, near an immovable or premises are concerned only if there is no other outside sign or poster on which the trade mark appears.
In the case of a totem type structure, signs or posters on the structure are also excluded if more than 2 trade marks appear on the structure;
(2)  immovable : means a building and any structure intended to receive at least 1 person for the carrying on of activities, regardless of the materials used, excluding a temporary or seasonal facility;
(3)  premises : means a space, closed or not, devoted to an activity, in particular a stand or counter intended for the sale of products in a mall, excluding a temporary or seasonal facility.
25.3. Within the meaning of section 25.1, the sufficient presence of French means signs or posters whose qualities
(1)  give French permanent visibility, similar to that of the trade mark displayed; and
(2)  ensure its legibility in the same visual field as that mainly covered by the trade mark signs or posters.
Signs or posters in French that, in relation to the trade mark signs or posters, are designed, lighted and situated so as to make them easy to read, both at the same time, at all times when the trade mark is legible, without the signs or posters being necessarily present in the same place, in the same number, in the same materials or in the same size are considered to meet those requirements.
25.4. Despite subparagraph 2 of the first paragraph of section 25.3, legibility of a sign or poster in French must be evaluated,
(1)  in the case of a sign or poster outside an immovable situated on a street bordered by a sidewalk, from the sidewalk along the façade on which the trade mark sign or poster appears;
(2)  in the case of a sign or poster outside premises situated in an immovable or a larger property complex such as a mall, from the centre of the corridor or space facing the premises;
(3)  in the case of a trade mark sign or poster visible from a highway, from the highway.
25.5. For the purposes of sections 25.1 to 25.4,
(1)  the following signs or posters in French are not taken into account:
(a)  business hours, telephone numbers and addresses;
(b)  numbers and percentages;
(c)  definite, indefinite and partitive articles;
(d)  a term requiring for its legibility to be within a radius of less than 1 metre, except if the legibility of the trade mark also requires it;
(2)  signs or posters that are of a precarious nature— through their materials or the manner in which the sign or poster is attached—, in particular signs or posters in French likely to be easily removed or tore off, are not considered to ensure permanent visibility of French, unless the display system is the subject of measures for guaranteeing the presence or replacement of the sign or poster, the proof of which lies with the person who wishes to claim the benefit of the sign or poster.
26. Nothing in this Division precludes the use of any artificial combination of letters, syllables or figures or the use of pictographs, figures or initials on public signs and posters and in commercial advertising.
O.C. 1756-93, s. 26.
DIVISION IV
EXPRESSION THAT MAY SPECIFY FIRM NAME
27. An expression taken from a language other than French may appear in a firm name to specify it provided that the expression is used with a generic term in the French language.
O.C. 1756-93, s. 27.
DIVISION V
FINAL PROVISIONS
28. (Omitted).
O.C. 1756-93, s. 28.
29. (Omitted).
O.C. 1756-93, s. 29.
TRANSITIONAL
2016
(O.C. 887-2016) SECTION 2. The Regulation applies in particular as of that date to the installation of new trade mark signs or posters and to the replacement of existing signs or posters.
Signs or posters existing on 24 november 2016 must, not later than 3 years after that date, be brought into conformity with its provisions.
The 3-year period provided for in the third paragraph also applies in the following situations, the proof of which lies with the person wishing to benefit from it:
(1) the same trade mark is already used on signs or posters elsewhere in Québec, as Part of a franchise system or otherwise;
(2) the new installation or the replacement of the sign or poster concerned has been the subject, in the 6 months preceding 9 november 2016, of the issue of or an application for a municipal permit or other form of government authorization.
REFERENCES
O.C. 1756-93, 1993 G.O. 2, 6914
O.C. 770-2006, 2006 G.O. 2, 2992
O.C. 887-2016, 2016 G.O. 2, 3849

C-11, r. 9 - Règlement sur la langue du commerce et des affaires

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre C-11, r. 9
Règlement sur la langue du commerce et des affaires
CHARTE DE LA LANGUE FRANÇAISE — LANGUE DU COMMERCE ET DES AFFAIRES
Charte de la langue française
(chapitre C-11, a. 54.1, 58 et 67)
C-11
1er septembre 2012
SECTION I
DÉROGATIONS À L’ARTICLE 51 DE LA CHARTE DE LA LANGUE FRANÇAISE
1. Pour l’application de la présente section et à moins que le contexte n’indique un sens différent, une disposition applicable à une inscription sur un produit s’applique également, compte tenu des adaptations nécessaires, à une inscription sur son contenant ou sur son emballage, sur un document ou un objet qui l’accompagne, y compris le mode d’emploi et les certificats de garantie.
D. 1756-93, a. 1.
2. Une inscription sur un produit culturel ou éducatif tels un livre, une revue, une publication, un disque, un film ou une bande magnétique, ainsi qu’une inscription sur une carte de voeux, un agenda ou un calendrier non publicitaires peuvent être rédigées uniquement dans une autre langue que le français si leur contenu est dans une autre langue que le français ou si le produit culturel ou éducatif, la carte de voeux, l’agenda ou le calendrier ne comportent aucun contenu linguistique.
D. 1756-93, a. 2.
3. Une inscription sur un produit peut être rédigée uniquement dans une autre langue que le français dans les cas suivants:
1°  le produit est destiné à un marché extérieur au Québec;
2°  l’inscription figure sur un contenant servant au transport interprovincial ou international de marchandises;
3°  le produit provient de l’extérieur du Québec, n’est pas encore commercialisé au Québec et est exposé à l’occasion d’un congrès, d’un colloque, d’une foire ou d’une exposition;
4°  le produit provient de l’extérieur du Québec, est destiné à être incorporé à un produit fini ou à être utilisé dans un procédé de fabrication, de transformation ou de réparation et n’est pas offert au Québec dans le commerce de détail;
5°  le produit provient de l’extérieur du Québec, son utilisation est peu répandue au Québec et il n’existe pas de produit de remplacement équivalent présenté en français au Québec;
6°  le produit provient de l’extérieur du Québec et l’inscription est gravée, cuite ou incrustée dans le produit lui-même, y est rivetée ou soudée, ou encore y figure en relief, de façon permanente. Cependant, les inscriptions concernant la sécurité doivent être rédigées en français et apparaître sur le produit ou l’accompagner de façon permanente.
D. 1756-93, a. 3.
4. Une inscription qui figure en relief sur un pneu peut être rédigée uniquement dans une autre langue que le français.
D. 1756-93, a. 4.
5. Une inscription sur l’emballage d’origine d’un produit alimentaire périssable provenant de l’extérieur du Québec peut être rédigée uniquement dans une autre langue que le français pourvu que ce produit ne soit pas offert au détail dans cet emballage.
D. 1756-93, a. 5.
6. Une inscription sur un produit provenant de l’extérieur du Québec et devant être utilisé à des fins médicales, pharmaceutiques ou scientifiques, ou une inscription sur son contenant peuvent être rédigées uniquement dans une autre langue que le français, à la condition que la version française de cette inscription figure sur l’emballage du produit ou sur un document qui l’accompagne et que l’une ou l’autre des conditions suivantes soit réalisée:
1°  que le produit ne soit pas offert au Québec dans le commerce de détail et qu’il n’existe pas de produit de remplacement équivalent présenté en français au Québec;
2°  que le produit ait un poids de 100 gr ou moins, ou que son contenant ait une capacité de 10 cm3 ou moins, ou de 10 ml ou moins.
D. 1756-93, a. 6.
7. Sur un produit, peuvent être rédigées uniquement dans une autre langue que le français, les inscriptions suivantes:
1°  le nom d’une entreprise établie exclusivement hors du Québec;
2°  une appellation d’origine, la dénomination d’un produit exotique ou d’une spécialité étrangère, une devise héraldique ou toute autre devise non commerciale;
3°  un toponyme désignant un lieu situé hors du Québec ou un toponyme dans cette autre langue officialisé par la Commission de toponymie du Québec, un patronyme, un prénom ou un nom de personnage, de même qu’un nom distinctif à caractère culturel;
4°  une marque de commerce reconnue au sens de la Loi sur les marques de commerce (L.R.C. 1985, c. T-13), sauf si une version française en a été déposée.
D. 1756-93, a. 7.
8. Un jouet ou un jeu dont le fonctionnement exige l’emploi d’un vocabulaire autre que français peut comporter une inscription rédigée uniquement dans une autre langue que le français, si ce jouet ou ce jeu est également disponible en français sur le marché québécois dans des conditions au moins aussi favorables.
D. 1756-93, a. 8.
8.1. Une liste des ingrédients d’un cosmétique peut être rédigée dans les conditions prescrites par le Règlement sur les cosmétiques (C.R.C., c. 869).
D. 770-2006, a. 1.
9. La présente section n’a pas pour effet d’empêcher la présentation d’une inscription sur un produit au moyen de toute combinaison artificielle de lettres, de syllabes ou de chiffres, ou au moyen de pictogrammes, de chiffres, ou encore de sigles.
D. 1756-93, a. 9.
SECTION II
DÉROGATIONS À L’ARTICLE 52 DE LA CHARTE DE LA LANGUE FRANÇAISE
10. Les catalogues, les brochures, les dépliants, les annuaires commerciaux et toute autre publication de même nature peuvent être rédigés en 2 versions distinctes, l’une uniquement en français, l’autre uniquement dans une autre langue, à la condition que la présentation matérielle de la version française soit disponible dans des conditions d’accessibilité et de qualité au moins égales à celle rédigée dans une autre langue.
Toutefois, la version qui est rédigée uniquement dans une autre langue peut être insérée dans un organe d’information publiant uniquement dans cette langue; elle peut également être envoyée à une personne physique qui a demandé, par écrit, de recevoir de tels documents dans cette autre langue.
En outre, les catalogues, les brochures, les dépliants, les annuaires commerciaux et toute autre publication de même nature destinés à des personnes appartenant à un même groupe ethnique peuvent être rédigés uniquement dans la langue de ce groupe.
D. 1756-93, a. 10.
11. Les catalogues, les brochures, les dépliants, les annuaires commerciaux et toute autre publication de même nature concernant un produit culturel ou éducatif au sens de l’article 2, concernant une activité culturelle ou éducative tels un spectacle, un récital, un discours, une conférence, un cours, un séminaire ou une émission de radio ou de télévision ou faisant la promotion d’un organe d’information, peuvent être rédigés uniquement dans une autre langue que le français si, selon le cas, le contenu du produit culturel ou éducatif est dans cette autre langue, l’activité se déroule dans cette autre langue ou l’organe d’information diffuse dans cette autre langue.
D. 1756-93, a. 11.
12. Les catalogues, les brochures, les dépliants, les annuaires commerciaux et toute autre publication de même nature relatifs à un congrès, un colloque, une foire ou une exposition, destinés uniquement à un public spécialisé ou restreint, peuvent être rédigés uniquement dans une autre langue que le français.
D. 1756-93, a. 12.
13. Dans les catalogues, les brochures, les dépliants, les annuaires commerciaux et toute autre publication de même nature, peuvent être rédigés uniquement dans une autre langue que le français:
1°  le nom d’une entreprise établie exclusivement hors du Québec;
2°  une appellation d’origine, la dénomination d’un produit exotique ou d’une spécialité étrangère, une devise héraldique ou toute autre devise non commerciale;
3°  un toponyme désignant un lieu situé hors du Québec ou un toponyme dans cette autre langue officialisé par la Commission de toponymie du Québec, un patronyme, un prénom ou un nom de personnage, de même qu’un nom distinctif à caractère culturel;
4°  une marque de commerce reconnue au sens de la Loi sur les marques de commerce (L.R.C. 1985, c. T-13), sauf si une version française en a été déposée.
D. 1756-93, a. 13.
14. La présente section n’a pas pour effet d’empêcher l’utilisation, dans les catalogues, les brochures, les dépliants, les annuaires commerciaux et dans toute autre publication de même nature, de toute combinaison artificielle de lettres, de syllabes ou de chiffres, ou l’utilisation de pictogrammes, de chiffres, ou encore de sigles.
D. 1756-93, a. 14.
SECTION III
L’AFFICHAGE PUBLIC ET LA PUBLICITÉ COMMERCIALE
15. La publicité commerciale d’une entreprise, présentée sur des panneaux-réclame, sur des affiches ou sur tout autre support d’une superficie de 16 m2 ou plus et visible de tout chemin public, au sens de l’article 4 du Code de la sécurité routière (chapitre C-24.2), doit être faite uniquement en français à moins que cette publicité ne soit située sur les lieux mêmes des établissements de cette entreprise.
D. 1756-93, a. 15.
16. La publicité commerciale d’une entreprise doit être faite uniquement en français sur ou dans tout moyen de transport public et ses accès, y compris les abribus.
D. 1756-93, a. 16.
17. L’affichage public placé sur ou dans un véhicule servant régulièrement au transport de voyageurs ou de marchandises, à la fois au Québec et hors du Québec, peut être fait à la fois en français et dans une autre langue, pourvu que le français y figure de façon au moins aussi évidente.
D. 1756-93, a. 17.
18. L’affichage public relatif à la santé ou à la sécurité publique peut se faire à la fois en français et dans une autre langue, pourvu que le français y figure de façon au moins aussi évidente.
D. 1756-93, a. 18.
19. L’affichage public d’un musée, d’un jardin botanique ou zoologique ou d’une exposition culturelle ou scientifique peut, sur les lieux mêmes où ils sont situés, être fait à la fois en français et dans une autre langue, pourvu que le français y figure de façon au moins aussi évidente.
D. 1756-93, a. 19.
20. L’affichage public et la publicité commerciale relatifs à un événement destiné à un public international ou à un événement dont les participants viennent en majorité de l’extérieur du Québec peuvent se faire, lorsqu’ils sont reliés directement à la nature et au but manifeste de l’événement, à la fois en français et dans une autre langue, pourvu que le français y figure de façon au moins aussi évidente.
D. 1756-93, a. 20.
21. L’affichage public du mode d’utilisation d’un appareil installé en permanence dans un lieu public peut être fait à la fois en français et dans une autre langue, pourvu que le français y figure de façon au moins aussi évidente.
D. 1756-93, a. 21.
22. Sauf s’ils sont véhiculés dans un organe d’information diffusant en français, l’affichage public et la publicité commerciale d’un produit culturel ou éducatif au sens de l’article 2, d’une activité culturelle ou éducative au sens de l’article 11, ou d’un organe d’information peuvent être faits uniquement dans une autre langue que le français si, selon le cas, le contenu du produit culturel ou éducatif est dans cette autre langue, l’activité se déroule dans cette autre langue ou l’organe d’information diffuse dans cette autre langue.
D. 1756-93, a. 22.
23. L’affichage public par une personne physique, à des fins non professionnelles ou non commerciales, peut être fait dans la langue de son choix.
D. 1756-93, a. 23.
24. L’affichage public et la publicité commerciale relatifs à un congrès, un colloque, une foire ou une exposition destinés uniquement à un public spécialisé ou restreint, peuvent être faits, pendant la durée de ces événements, uniquement dans une autre langue que le français.
D. 1756-93, a. 24.
25. Dans l’affichage public et la publicité commerciale, peuvent être rédigés uniquement dans une autre langue que le français:
1°  le nom d’une entreprise établie exclusivement hors du Québec;
2°  une appellation d’origine, la dénomination d’un produit exotique ou d’une spécialité étrangère, une devise héraldique ou toute autre devise non commerciale;
3°  un toponyme désignant un lieu situé hors du Québec ou un toponyme dans cette autre langue officialisé par la Commission de toponymie du Québec, un patronyme, un prénom ou un nom de personnage, de même qu’un nom distinctif à caractère culturel;
4°  une marque de commerce reconnue au sens de la Loi sur les marques de commerce (L.R.C. 1985, c. T-13), sauf si une version française en a été déposée.
D. 1756-93, a. 25.
25.1. Lorsqu’une marque de commerce est affichée à l’extérieur d’un immeuble uniquement dans une autre langue que le français en application du paragraphe 4 de l’article 25, une présence suffisante du français doit aussi être assurée sur les lieux, en conformité avec les dispositions du présent règlement.
Aux fins du premier alinéa, la présence du français fait référence à l’affichage:
1°  d’un générique ou d’un descriptif des produits ou des services visés;
2°  d’un slogan;
3°  de tout autre terme ou mention, en privilégiant l’affichage d’information portant sur les produits ou les services au bénéfice des consommateurs ou des personnes qui fréquentent les lieux.
887-2016D. 887-2016, a. 1
25.2. Pour l’application des articles 25.1 à 25.5:
1°  l’affichage d’une marque de commerce à l’extérieur d’un immeuble s’entend de celui qui est en lien avec un immeuble ou qui lui est fixé, y compris sur son toit, peu importe les matériaux ou le mode de fixation utilisés; cet affichage comprend notamment les dispositifs d’enseigne en saillie ou perpendiculaire, ainsi que l’affichage sur une borne ou sur une autre structure indépendante.
Est considéré à l’extérieur d’un immeuble:
a)  l’affichage à l’extérieur d’un local lui-même situé dans un immeuble ou un plus grand ensemble immobilier. Est notamment ainsi visé l’affichage à l’extérieur d’un local situé dans un centre commercial ou dans une galerie marchande, souterraine ou non;
b)  l’affichage placé à l’intérieur d’un immeuble ou d’un local, si son installation ou ses caractéristiques le destinent à être vu de l’extérieur.
L’affichage d’une marque de commerce qui figure sur une borne ou sur une autre structure indépendante, y compris celle de type totem, à proximité d’un immeuble ou d’un local n’est visé que s’il n’y a pas d’autre affichage extérieur où figure la même marque.
Dans le cas d’une structure de type totem, l’affichage qui s’y trouve est aussi exclu si plus de 2 marques de commerce y figurent;
2°  «immeuble» : s’entend d’un bâtiment et de toute structure destinée à accueillir au moins une personne pour l’exercice d’activités, peu importe les matériaux utilisés, à l’exclusion d’installation à vocation temporaire ou saisonnière;
3°  «local» : s’entend d’un espace, fermé ou non, dédié à une activité, notamment un kiosque ou un comptoir destiné à la vente de produits dans un centre commercial, à l’exclusion d’installation à vocation temporaire ou saisonnière.
887-2016D. 887-2016, a. 1
25.3. Au sens de l’article 25.1, la présence suffisante du français s’entend d’un affichage dont les qualités permettent à la fois:
1°  de conférer au français une visibilité permanente, similaire à celle de la marque de commerce affichée;
2°  d’assurer sa lisibilité dans le même champ visuel que celui qui est principalement visé par l’affichage de la marque de commerce.
Est considéré satisfaire à ces exigences, l’affichage en français qui, par rapport à l’affichage de la marque de commerce, est conçu, éclairé et situé de manière à permettre de les lire facilement, tous deux à la fois, à tout moment où la marque est lisible, sans que cet affichage ne soit nécessairement présenté au même emplacement, dans un même nombre, avec les mêmes matériaux ou ne soit d’une même dimension.
887-2016D. 887-2016, a. 1
25.4. Malgré le paragraphe 2 du premier alinéa de l’article 25.3, la lisibilité d’un affichage en français doit s’apprécier:
1°  s’il s’agit d’un affichage à l’extérieur d’un immeuble situé sur une rue longée de trottoir: du trottoir longeant la façade où figure l’affichage de la marque de commerce;
2°  s’il s’agit d’un affichage à l’extérieur d’un local situé dans un immeuble ou dans un plus grand ensemble immobilier, tel un centre commercial: du milieu de l’allée ou de l’espace faisant face au local;
3°  s’il s’agit de l’affichage d’une marque de commerce visible d’une autoroute: de cette autoroute.
887-2016D. 887-2016, a. 1
25.5. Pour l’application des articles 25.1 à 25.4:
1°  n’est pas pris en compte l’affichage en français:
a)  d’heures d’ouverture, de numéros de téléphone et d’adresses;
b)  de chiffres et de pourcentages;
c)  d’articles définis, indéfinis et partitifs;
d)  d’un terme requérant pour sa lisibilité de se rapprocher dans un rayon de moins d’un mètre, sauf si la lisibilité de la marque de commerce le requiert également;
2°  n’est pas considéré assurer une visibilité permanente du français l’affichage de nature précaire, par les matériaux ou les conditions suivant lesquelles il est fixé, notamment l’affichage en français susceptible d’être facilement enlevé ou arraché, à moins que le système d’affichage ne fasse l’objet de mesures propres à en garantir la présence ou le remplacement, dont la démonstration incombe à la personne qui souhaite en invoquer le bénéfice.
887-2016D. 887-2016, a. 1
26. La présente section n’a pas pour effet d’empêcher l’utilisation dans l’affichage public et la publicité commerciale de toute combinaison artificielle de lettres, de syllabes ou de chiffres, ou l’utilisation de pictogrammes, de chiffres, ou encore de sigles.
D. 1756-93, a. 26.
SECTION IV
EXPRESSION POUVANT FIGURER COMME SPÉCIFIQUE DANS UN NOM
27. Peut figurer comme spécifique dans un nom, une expression tirée d’une autre langue que le français, à la condition qu’elle soit accompagnée d’un générique en langue française.
D. 1756-93, a. 27.
SECTION V
DISPOSITIONS FINALES
28. (Omis).
D. 1756-93, a. 28.
29. (Omis).
D. 1756-93, a. 29.
DISPOSITIONS TRANSITOIRES
2016
(D. 887-2016) ARTICLE 2. Ses dispositions trouvent notamment application à compter de cette date à l’installation de tout nouvel affichage d’une marque de commerce et au remplacement d’un affichage existant.
Tout affichage existant le 24 novembre 2016 doit, au plus tard 3 ans après cette date, être rendu conforme à ses dispositions.
Le délai de 3 ans prévu au troisième alinéa trouve aussi application dans les situations suivantes, dont la démonstration incombe à la personne qui souhaite en tirer avantage:
1° la même marque de commerce fait déjà l’objet d’un affichage ailleurs au Québec, dans le cadre d’un système de franchise ou autrement;
2° la nouvelle installation ou le remplacement de l’affichage visé a fait l’objet, dans les 6 mois précédant le 9 novembre 2016, de la délivrance ou d’une demande d’un permis municipal ou d’une autre forme d’autorisation gouvernementale.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 1756-93, 1993 G.O. 2, 8890
D. 770-2006, 2006 G.O. 2, 4160
D. 887-2016, 2016 G.O. 2, 5800