C-11, r. 3 - Regulation of the Office québécois de la langue française respecting the definition of the term “head office” and the recognition of head offices eligible for special agreements with the Office

Table of contents
Full text
chapter C-11, r. 3
Regulation of the Office québécois de la langue française respecting the definition of the term “head office” and the recognition of head offices eligible for special agreements with the Office
CHARTER OF THE FRENCH LANGUAGE — DEFINITION OF HEAD OFFICE
Charter of the French language
(chapter C-11, s. 144)
C-11
September 1 2012
1. In this Regulation, unless the context indicates otherwise,
(a)  “agreement” means a special agreement within the meaning of section 144 of the Act;
(b)  “Act” means the Charter of the French language;
(c)  “Office” means the Office québécois de la langue française.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-11, r. 3, s. 1.
2. In accordance with the terms of the Act and this Regulation, “head office” means the positions held by natural persons responsible on a pan-Canadian or international scale for the activities of overall management, of management of staff departments or of service departments for the whole business firm or for its main office if the head office is located outside Canada.
Members of the board of directors as well as executives, their assistants and the support staff assigned to the activities of overall management, of management of staff departments or of service departments for the whole business firm or for its main office are also included as head office personnel.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-11, r. 3, s. 2.
3. Within the meaning of the Act and this Regulation, positions held by researchers, as well as by natural persons assigned to the management, conception and implementation of research and development activity in a business firm or a group of business firms are also included as head office personnel.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-11, r. 3, s. 3.
4. Every head office established in Québec by a business firm whose activity extends beyond Québec and more than 50 % of whose average gross income during the 3 years prior to the request accrues directly or indirectly from outside Québec is entitled, upon written request of the firm, to be recognized as eligible for an agreement.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-11, r. 3, s. 4.
5. Every business firm whose activities extend beyond Québec and less than 50 % of whose average gross income during the 3 years prior to the request accrues from outside Québec may request the Office in writing that its head office established in Québec be recognized as eligible for an agreement if the firm is unable to comply, in implementing its francization program within its head office, with one of the program elements outlined in section 141 of the Act, having taken into account sections 142 and 143 of the Act, for one of the following reasons:
(a)  its frequent business contacts outside Québec;
(b)  the complexity of the techniques used;
(c)  its requirements for specially-trained staff;
(d)  the effects that implementation of its francization program within the head office may have on its competitive position.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-11, r. 3, s. 5.
6. For the purposes of sections 4 and 5, where a head office of a business firm whose activity extends beyond Québec, has been established in Québec for less than 3 years, the average gross income is calculated for the period prior to the request.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-11, r. 3, s. 6.
7. For the purposes of sections 4 and 5, the business firm must, prior to its request, have completed the analysis of its language situation.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-11, r. 3, s. 7.
REFERENCES
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-11, r. 3
S.Q. 2002, c. 28, s. 42

C-11, r. 3 - Règlement de l’Office québécois de la langue française sur la définition de «siège» et sur la reconnaissance des sièges pouvant faire l’objet d’ententes particulières avec l’Office

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre C-11, r. 3
Règlement de l’Office québécois de la langue française sur la définition de «siège» et sur la reconnaissance des sièges pouvant faire l’objet d’ententes particulières avec l’Office
CHARTE DE LA LANGUE FRANÇAISE — DÉFINITION DE SIÈGE SOCIAL
Charte de la langue française
(chapitre C-11, a. 144)
C-11
1er septembre 2012
1. Dans ce règlement, à moins que le contexte n’indique un sens différent, on entend par:
a)  «entente»: une entente particulière au sens de l’article 144 de la Loi;
b)  «Loi»: la Charte de la langue française;
c)  «Office»: l’Office québécois de la langue française.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-11, r. 3, a. 1.
2. Suivant les termes de la Loi et du présent règlement, on entend par «siège» les postes qu’occupent les personnes physiques chargées, à l’échelle pancanadienne ou internationale, des activités de la direction générale, des directions fonctionnelles ou des directions de service de l’ensemble d’une entreprise, ou de son bureau principal lorsque le siège de l’entreprise se trouve à l’extérieur du Canada.
Les membres du conseil d’administration ainsi que les cadres, leurs adjoints et le personnel affectés aux activités de la direction générale, des directions fonctionnelles ou des directions de service de l’ensemble de l’entreprise ou de son bureau principal font également partie du siège.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-11, r. 3, a. 2.
3. Au sens de la Loi et du présent règlement, les postes qu’occupent les chercheurs ainsi que les personnes physiques affectées à la direction, à la conception et à l’exécution des activités de recherche et de développement d’une entreprise ou d’un groupe d’entreprises font également partie du siège.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-11, r. 3, a. 3.
4. Tout siège établi au Québec par une entreprise dont l’activité s’étend hors du Québec et dont la moyenne des revenus bruts, au cours des 3 années précédant la demande, provient directement ou indirectement pour plus de 50% de l’extérieur du Québec a droit, sur demande écrite de l’entreprise, d’être reconnu comme pouvant faire l’objet d’une entente.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-11, r. 3, a. 4.
5. Toute entreprise dont l’activité s’étend hors du Québec et dont la moyenne des revenus bruts, au cours des 3 années précédant la demande, provient pour moins de 50% de l’extérieur du Québec peut demander par écrit à l’Office que son siège établi au Québec soit reconnu comme pouvant faire l’objet d’une entente si l’entreprise ne peut se conformer, dans l’exécution de son programme de francisation à l’intérieur de son siège, à l’un des éléments de programme énoncés à l’article 141 de la Loi, malgré qu’il soit tenu compte des articles 142 et 143 de la Loi, à cause de l’une des raisons suivantes:
a)  la fréquence de ses relations avec l’étranger;
b)  la complexité des techniques qu’elle utilise;
c)  ses besoins en personnel spécialisé;
d)  les incidences que l’application de son programme de francisation à l’intérieur de son siège peut avoir sur sa position concurrentielle.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-11, r. 3, a. 5.
6. Aux fins des articles 4 et 5, lorsqu’un siège est établi au Québec depuis moins de 3 ans par une entreprise dont l’activité s’étend hors du Québec, la moyenne des revenus bruts est calculée pour la période précédant la demande.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-11, r. 3, a. 6.
7. Aux fins des articles 4 et 5, l’entreprise doit, préalablement à sa demande, avoir complété l’analyse de sa situation linguistique.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-11, r. 3, a. 7.
RÉFÉRENCES
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-11, r. 3
L.Q. 2002, c. 28, a. 42